OpenAIGPT-4.1

External Link

GPT-4.1 is OpenAI's non-reasoning model for instruction following and tool calling.

Token context
1,048K tokens
Inputs
Text, Image
Outputs
Text
Released
Not reported

Providers & Pricing

Estimate workload cost →
ProviderInput / 1MOutput / 1MCache read / 1MCache write / 1MObservedEvidence
$2.00$8.00$0.50Sep 3, 2026Provider-reported
$2.00$8.00$0.50Sep 4, 2026Provider-reported
$1.00$4.00$0.25Sep 3, 2026Provider-reported
Aider Polyglotpolyglot-225-5dc9490bb35f52.44percent225diff; aider 0.81.4.devunknownRecomputedwinner eligibleThird-party benchmark
ARC-AGI-1verified-v1-15fb467fd4fc5.50percentGPT-4.1unknownOriginal sourcewinner eligibleThird-party benchmark
ARC-AGI-2verified-v2-9a3db289984e0.42percentGPT-4.1unknownOriginal sourcewinner eligibleThird-party benchmark
Berkeley Function Calling Leaderboardv4-ede5081a24bc53.96percentGPT-4.1-2025-04-14 (FC)unknownRecomputedwinner eligibleThird-party benchmark
Berkeley Function Calling Leaderboardv4-ede5081a24bc39.38percentGPT-4.1-2025-04-14 (Prompt)unknownRecomputedwinner eligibleThird-party benchmark
LMArena Text Arenatext-2026-09-01-0115087206961,382.71rating49,913gpt-4.1-2025-04-14; 95% CI [1379.00467679, 1386.41941365]; votes 49913; rank 153unknownOriginal sourcewinner eligibleThird-party benchmark
LMArena Vision Arenavision-2026-08-27-0115087206961,210.32rating41,034gpt-4.1-2025-04-14; 95% CI [1203.63813827, 1217.00696914]; votes 41034; rank 70unknownOriginal sourcewinner eligibleThird-party benchmark

At a Glance

Model Facts

Identity

Status
active
Developer ID
gpt-4.1
Released
Not reported
Version
GPT-4.1
License
Unknown

Capacity

Token context
1,048K tokens
Maximum output
33K tokens
Total parameters
Unknown
Active parameters
Unknown
Knowledge cutoff
Jun 1, 2024

Interface and Access

Inputs
Text, Image
Outputs
Text
API available
Yes
Open weights
No
Self-hostable
No
Reasoning
No
Vision
Yes
Tool calling
Yes
Capabilities
chat, generation, tools

This page represents one developer model product. Dated API snapshots, serving endpoints, pricing, regions, quantizations, and service tiers attach as versioned aliases or provider details and never create duplicate public model records.

Version Lineage

PredecessorUnknown
SuccessorsUnknown
Aliasesgpt-4.1, gpt-4.1-2025-04-14

Explicit Unknowns

  • Release date
  • Architecture
  • Tokenizer

Primary Evidence

Sources and Observation Date

Comparable Peers

Related Model Comparisons

All comparisons →
APairBContext
vsfamily variantsimage, text
vscross-developer peersimage, text
vscross-developer peerstext
vscross-developer peerstext
vscross-developer peersimage, text
vscross-developer peersimage, text
vscross-developer peersimage, text
vscross-developer peersimage, text
vscross-developer peerstext
vscross-developer peerstext
vscross-developer peersimage, text
vscross-developer peersimage, text
vscross-developer peersimage, text
vscross-developer peersimage, text
vscross-developer peersimage, text
vscross-developer peerstext
vscross-developer peerstext
vscross-developer peerstext
vscross-developer peerstext
vscross-developer peerstext
vscross-developer peerstext
vscross-developer peersimage, text

Questions

GPT-4.1 FAQs

What is GPT-4.1?+

GPT-4.1 is OpenAI's non-reasoning model for instruction following and tool calling. It is developed by OpenAI and its current sourced lifecycle status is active.

What inputs and outputs does GPT-4.1 support?+

GPT-4.1's current record lists Text and Image as input and Text as output.

How much context does GPT-4.1 support?+

The current record lists a 1,048K-token context window and a maximum output of 33K tokens.

Is GPT-4.1 available through an API?+

GPT-4.1 is marked as API-available. The directly sourced provider records currently include Openai and Openrouter.

How much does GPT-4.1 cost through an API?+

The lowest directly sourced prices currently attached to GPT-4.1 are $1.00 per million input tokens through Openrouter and $4.00 per million output tokens through Openrouter. Prices are provider-specific and should be checked against each cited observation date.

What capabilities and tasks does GPT-4.1 support?+

GPT-4.1's recorded capabilities are chat, generation, and tools. Its supported tasks are image and text.

Can GPT-4.1 be self-hosted?+

GPT-4.1 is not marked as an open-weight model. Self-hosting is marked as unsupported, with no license recorded.

Does GPT-4.1 have related versions or aliases?+

No predecessor is recorded. No successor is recorded. Recorded aliases are gpt-4.1 and gpt-4.1-2025-04-14.

Which models can GPT-4.1 be compared with?+

The current compatible peer set includes GPT-6 Astra, Claude Fable 5.1, Gemini 3.1 Pro, DeepSeek V4 Pro, and Grok 4.6. Compatibility requires shared sourced modalities and tasks; it does not imply that one model is better. Browse model comparisons

How current is the Model Markets record for GPT-4.1?+

GPT-4.1 was last verified Aug 29, 2026 from OpenAI's primary source, “GPT-4.1 Model | OpenAI API.” The evidence is classified as official fact.

Send Feedback