PaddleOCR VL 1.5 vs Sonar Reasoning Pro
At a Glance
| Compare | PaddleOCR VL 1.5Baidu | Sonar Reasoning ProPerplexity |
|---|---|---|
| Pricing and Limits | ||
| Input priceFrom · USD / 1M tokens | Not reported | $2.00Openrouter ↗ · Sep 22, 2026 |
| Output priceFrom · USD / 1M tokens | Not reported | $8.00Openrouter ↗ · Sep 22, 2026 |
| Context windowMaximum documented tokens | 131K | 128K |
| Model facts checked | Aug 28, 2026View model evidence → | Aug 29, 2026View model evidence → |
Token prices are the lowest available sourced USD rates; input and output may use different providers. Cost ranking estimates output spend on LiveBench, not a full request bill. Ranking methodology →
Available Benchmarks
Side-by-Side Facts
| Field | PaddleOCR-VL-1.5 | Sonar Reasoning Pro |
|---|---|---|
| Developer | Baidu | Perplexity |
| Family | Paddleocr VL 1 5 | Sonar |
| Model | PaddleOCR-VL-1.5 | Sonar Reasoning Pro |
| Version | PaddleOCR-VL-1.5 | Sonar Reasoning Pro |
| Lifecycle | active | active |
| Released | 2026-01-29 | Unknown |
| Knowledge cutoff | Unknown | Unknown |
| Input modalities | Text, Image | Text |
| Output modalities | Text | Text |
| Context window | 131K | 128K |
| Total parameters | 958.6M | Unknown |
| Active parameters | Unknown | Unknown |
| License | apache-2.0 | Unknown |
| Open weights | Yes | No |
| API available | Unknown | Yes |
| Self-hostable | Yes | No |
| Provider access | Unknown | Openrouter (Standard), Perplexity (Standard) |
| Capabilities | chat, generation | chat, citations, reasoning, search |
PaddleOCR VL 1.5 Capabilities
Sonar Reasoning Pro Capabilities
Primary Evidence
Sources and Freshness
Questions
PaddleOCR VL 1.5 vs Sonar Reasoning Pro FAQs
Is PaddleOCR VL 1.5 or Sonar Reasoning Pro better for coding?+
This comparison does not currently contain a protocol-matched coding benchmark for both PaddleOCR VL 1.5 and Sonar Reasoning Pro, so Model Markets cannot name a coding leader from pricing, context size, or capability labels alone.
Which is cheaper, PaddleOCR VL 1.5 or Sonar Reasoning Pro?+
Only Sonar Reasoning Pro has a directly sourced input price: $2.00 per million tokens. Only Sonar Reasoning Pro has a directly sourced output price: $8.00 per million tokens.
Which has a larger context window, PaddleOCR VL 1.5 or Sonar Reasoning Pro?+
PaddleOCR VL 1.5 has the larger sourced context window. PaddleOCR VL 1.5 supports 131K and Sonar Reasoning Pro supports 128K.
Which performs better in benchmarks, PaddleOCR VL 1.5 or Sonar Reasoning Pro?+
There is no overall benchmark winner: At least two independently verified, protocol-matched benchmarks are required for an overall winner.
Can PaddleOCR VL 1.5 or Sonar Reasoning Pro be self-hosted?+
PaddleOCR VL 1.5 is the only model in this pair currently marked as self-hostable. PaddleOCR VL 1.5 is open weight; Sonar Reasoning Pro is not marked open weight.
Can PaddleOCR VL 1.5 and Sonar Reasoning Pro understand images?+
PaddleOCR VL 1.5 is documented with image input; Sonar Reasoning Pro is not documented with image input. This reflects supported input modalities, not vision quality.
Which can generate longer answers, PaddleOCR VL 1.5 or Sonar Reasoning Pro?+
Neither has a larger sourced maximum output. PaddleOCR VL 1.5 is — and Sonar Reasoning Pro is —.
Do PaddleOCR VL 1.5 and Sonar Reasoning Pro support reasoning and tool use?+
PaddleOCR VL 1.5: image input. Sonar Reasoning Pro: reasoning. Feature support does not establish relative quality.
Which is available from more inference providers, PaddleOCR VL 1.5 or Sonar Reasoning Pro?+
PaddleOCR VL 1.5 has 0 sourced provider routes; Sonar Reasoning Pro has 2, so Sonar Reasoning Pro has broader tracked availability.
Which offers better value, PaddleOCR VL 1.5 or Sonar Reasoning Pro?+
There is no universal value winner. Compare the input and output prices above with the matched benchmark result for your workload: cheaper tokens can be offset by different quality, token usage, latency, or provider availability.