Molmo2 8B vs Grok 4.20 Multi Agent
At a Glance
| Compare | Molmo2 8BAi2 | |
|---|---|---|
| Intelligence, Cost, and Efficiency | ||
| IntelligenceHigher is better · MM Intelligence v2.5 | UnrankedNot in the 46-model eligible cohort | #22 of 4663.4 score · 2/3 sources · provisional · missing LiveBench · full-core range 42.3–75.6 |
| Pricing and Limits | ||
| Input priceFrom · USD / 1M tokens | Not reported | $1.25Xai ↗ · Sep 3, 2026 |
| Output priceFrom · USD / 1M tokens | Not reported | $2.50Xai ↗ · Sep 3, 2026 |
| Context windowMaximum documented tokens | 37K | 1,000K |
| Model facts checked | Aug 28, 2026View model evidence → | Aug 29, 2026View model evidence → |
Token prices are the lowest available sourced USD rates; input and output may use different providers. Cost ranking estimates output spend on LiveBench, not a full request bill. Ranking methodology →
Available Benchmarks
Side-by-Side Facts
| Field | Molmo2-8B | Grok 4.20 Multi-Agent |
|---|---|---|
| Developer | Ai2 | xAI |
| Family | Molmo2 8b | Grok 4 20 |
| Model | Molmo2-8B | Grok 4.20 Multi-Agent |
| Version | Molmo2-8B | Grok 4.20 Multi-Agent |
| Lifecycle | active | preview |
| Released | Unknown | Unknown |
| Knowledge cutoff | Unknown | Unknown |
| Input modalities | Text, Image | Text, Image |
| Output modalities | Text | Text |
| Context window | 37K | 1,000K |
| Total parameters | 8.7B | Unknown |
| Active parameters | Unknown | Unknown |
| License | apache-2.0 | Unknown |
| Open weights | Yes | No |
| API available | Unknown | Yes |
| Self-hostable | Yes | No |
| Provider access | Unknown | Xai (Standard) |
| Capabilities | chat, generation | generation, reasoning, research, tools |
Molmo2 8B Capabilities
Grok 4.20 Multi Agent Capabilities
Primary Evidence
Sources and Freshness
Questions
Molmo2 8B vs Grok 4.20 Multi Agent FAQs
Is Molmo2 8B or Grok 4.20 Multi Agent better for coding?+
This comparison does not currently contain a protocol-matched coding benchmark for both Molmo2 8B and Grok 4.20 Multi Agent, so Model Markets cannot name a coding leader from pricing, context size, or capability labels alone.
Which is cheaper, Molmo2 8B or Grok 4.20 Multi Agent?+
Only Grok 4.20 Multi Agent has a directly sourced input price: $1.25 per million tokens. Only Grok 4.20 Multi Agent has a directly sourced output price: $2.50 per million tokens.
Which has a larger context window, Molmo2 8B or Grok 4.20 Multi Agent?+
Grok 4.20 Multi Agent has the larger sourced context window. Molmo2 8B supports 37K and Grok 4.20 Multi Agent supports 1,000K.
Which performs better in benchmarks, Molmo2 8B or Grok 4.20 Multi Agent?+
There is no overall benchmark winner: At least two independently verified, protocol-matched benchmarks are required for an overall winner.
Can Molmo2 8B or Grok 4.20 Multi Agent be self-hosted?+
Molmo2 8B is the only model in this pair currently marked as self-hostable. Molmo2 8B is open weight; Grok 4.20 Multi Agent is not marked open weight.
Can Molmo2 8B and Grok 4.20 Multi Agent understand images?+
Molmo2 8B is documented with image input; Grok 4.20 Multi Agent is documented with image input. This reflects supported input modalities, not vision quality.
Which can generate longer answers, Molmo2 8B or Grok 4.20 Multi Agent?+
Neither has a larger sourced maximum output. Molmo2 8B is — and Grok 4.20 Multi Agent is —.
Do Molmo2 8B and Grok 4.20 Multi Agent support reasoning and tool use?+
Molmo2 8B: image input. Grok 4.20 Multi Agent: reasoning, tool calling, and image input. Feature support does not establish relative quality.
Which is available from more inference providers, Molmo2 8B or Grok 4.20 Multi Agent?+
Molmo2 8B has 0 sourced provider routes; Grok 4.20 Multi Agent has 1, so Grok 4.20 Multi Agent has broader tracked availability.
Which offers better value, Molmo2 8B or Grok 4.20 Multi Agent?+
There is no universal value winner. Compare the input and output prices above with the matched benchmark result for your workload: cheaper tokens can be offset by different quality, token usage, latency, or provider availability.