Molmo2 8B vs Grok 4.6

At a Glance

Compare
Intelligence, Cost, and Efficiency
IntelligenceHigher is better · MM Intelligence v2.5UnrankedNot in the 46-model eligible cohort#21 of 4664.1 score · 3/3 sources · complete
CostLower is better · Published-token output estimateUnrankedNot in the 44-model eligible cohort#22 of 44$0.097 per LiveBench case
EfficiencyHigher is better · MM Efficiency v1.5UnrankedNot in the 38-model eligible cohort#16 of 3856.7 score · 3/3 sources · complete
Pricing and Limits
Input priceFrom · USD / 1M tokensNot reported$2.00Xai · Sep 3, 2026
Output priceFrom · USD / 1M tokensNot reported$6.00Xai · Sep 3, 2026
Context windowMaximum documented tokens37K500K
Model facts checkedAug 28, 2026View model evidence →Aug 29, 2026View model evidence →

Token prices are the lowest available sourced USD rates; input and output may use different providers. Cost ranking estimates output spend on LiveBench, not a full request bill. Ranking methodology →

Available Benchmarks

All benchmark results →
No Protocol-Matched Benchmark Yet.Results appear here only when both models share the same benchmark version, metric, evaluation protocol, and evidence class.

Side-by-Side Facts

FieldMolmo2-8BGrok 4.6
DeveloperAi2xAI
FamilyMolmo2 8bGrok 4
ModelMolmo2-8BGrok 4.6
VersionMolmo2-8BGrok 4.6
Lifecycleactiveactive
ReleasedUnknownUnknown
Knowledge cutoffUnknown2026-02-01
Input modalitiesText, ImageText, Image
Output modalitiesTextText
Context window37K500K
Total parameters8.7BUnknown
Active parametersUnknownUnknown
Licenseapache-2.0Unknown
Open weightsYesNo
API availableUnknownYes
Self-hostableYesNo
Provider accessUnknownXai (Standard)
Capabilitieschat, generationchat, generation, reasoning, tools

Molmo2 8B Capabilities

chatgeneration
Serving providers0
Canonical IDallenai/Molmo2-8B

Grok 4.6 Capabilities

chatgenerationreasoningtools
Serving providers1
Canonical IDxai/grok-4.6

Primary Evidence

Sources and Freshness

Questions

Molmo2 8B vs Grok 4.6 FAQs

Is Molmo2 8B or Grok 4.6 better for coding?+

This comparison does not currently contain a protocol-matched coding benchmark for both Molmo2 8B and Grok 4.6, so Model Markets cannot name a coding leader from pricing, context size, or capability labels alone.

Which is cheaper, Molmo2 8B or Grok 4.6?+

Only Grok 4.6 has a directly sourced input price: $2.00 per million tokens. Only Grok 4.6 has a directly sourced output price: $6.00 per million tokens.

Which has a larger context window, Molmo2 8B or Grok 4.6?+

Grok 4.6 has the larger sourced context window. Molmo2 8B supports 37K and Grok 4.6 supports 500K.

Which performs better in benchmarks, Molmo2 8B or Grok 4.6?+

There is no overall benchmark winner: At least two independently verified, protocol-matched benchmarks are required for an overall winner.

Can Molmo2 8B or Grok 4.6 be self-hosted?+

Molmo2 8B is the only model in this pair currently marked as self-hostable. Molmo2 8B is open weight; Grok 4.6 is not marked open weight.

Can Molmo2 8B and Grok 4.6 understand images?+

Molmo2 8B is documented with image input; Grok 4.6 is documented with image input. This reflects supported input modalities, not vision quality.

Which can generate longer answers, Molmo2 8B or Grok 4.6?+

Neither has a larger sourced maximum output. Molmo2 8B is — and Grok 4.6 is —.

Do Molmo2 8B and Grok 4.6 support reasoning and tool use?+

Molmo2 8B: image input. Grok 4.6: reasoning, tool calling, and image input. Feature support does not establish relative quality.

Which is available from more inference providers, Molmo2 8B or Grok 4.6?+

Molmo2 8B has 0 sourced provider routes; Grok 4.6 has 1, so Grok 4.6 has broader tracked availability.

Which offers better value, Molmo2 8B or Grok 4.6?+

There is no universal value winner. Compare the input and output prices above with the matched benchmark result for your workload: cheaper tokens can be offset by different quality, token usage, latency, or provider availability.

Send Feedback