Molmo2 8B vs Mistral Large 3

At a Glance

Compare
Mistral Large 3Mistral AI
Pricing and Limits
Input priceFrom · USD / 1M tokensNot reported$0.25Openrouter · Sep 22, 2026
Output priceFrom · USD / 1M tokensNot reported$0.75Openrouter · Sep 22, 2026
Context windowMaximum documented tokens37K262K
Model facts checkedAug 28, 2026View model evidence →Aug 29, 2026View model evidence →

Token prices are the lowest available sourced USD rates; input and output may use different providers. Cost ranking estimates output spend on LiveBench, not a full request bill. Ranking methodology →

Available Benchmarks

All benchmark results →
No Protocol-Matched Benchmark Yet.Results appear here only when both models share the same benchmark version, metric, evaluation protocol, and evidence class.

Side-by-Side Facts

FieldMolmo2-8BMistral Large 3
DeveloperAi2Mistral AI
FamilyMolmo2 8bMistral Large 3
ModelMolmo2-8BMistral Large 3
VersionMolmo2-8BMistral Large 3
Lifecycleactiveactive
ReleasedUnknown2025-12-02
Knowledge cutoffUnknownUnknown
Input modalitiesText, ImageText, Image, Document
Output modalitiesTextText
Context window37K262K
Total parameters8.7B675B
Active parametersUnknown41B
Licenseapache-2.0Apache-2.0
Open weightsYesYes
API availableUnknownYes
Self-hostableYesYes
Provider accessUnknownMistral AI (Standard), Openrouter (Standard)
Capabilitieschat, generationagents, chat, generation, structured_outputs, tools, vision

Molmo2 8B Capabilities

chatgeneration
Serving providers0
Canonical IDallenai/Molmo2-8B

Mistral Large 3 Capabilities

agentschatgenerationstructured outputstoolsvision
Serving providers2
Canonical IDmistralai/mistral-large-2512

Primary Evidence

Sources and Freshness

Questions

Molmo2 8B vs Mistral Large 3 FAQs

Is Molmo2 8B or Mistral Large 3 better for coding?+

This comparison does not currently contain a protocol-matched coding benchmark for both Molmo2 8B and Mistral Large 3, so Model Markets cannot name a coding leader from pricing, context size, or capability labels alone.

Which is cheaper, Molmo2 8B or Mistral Large 3?+

Only Mistral Large 3 has a directly sourced input price: $0.25 per million tokens. Only Mistral Large 3 has a directly sourced output price: $0.75 per million tokens.

Which has a larger context window, Molmo2 8B or Mistral Large 3?+

Mistral Large 3 has the larger sourced context window. Molmo2 8B supports 37K and Mistral Large 3 supports 262K.

Which performs better in benchmarks, Molmo2 8B or Mistral Large 3?+

There is no overall benchmark winner: At least two independently verified, protocol-matched benchmarks are required for an overall winner.

Can Molmo2 8B or Mistral Large 3 be self-hosted?+

Both models have the same recorded self-hosting status: supported. Molmo2 8B is open weight; Mistral Large 3 is open weight.

Can Molmo2 8B and Mistral Large 3 understand images?+

Molmo2 8B is documented with image input; Mistral Large 3 is documented with image input. This reflects supported input modalities, not vision quality.

Which can generate longer answers, Molmo2 8B or Mistral Large 3?+

Neither has a larger sourced maximum output. Molmo2 8B is — and Mistral Large 3 is —.

Do Molmo2 8B and Mistral Large 3 support reasoning and tool use?+

Molmo2 8B: image input. Mistral Large 3: tool calling and image input. Feature support does not establish relative quality.

Which is available from more inference providers, Molmo2 8B or Mistral Large 3?+

Molmo2 8B has 0 sourced provider routes; Mistral Large 3 has 2, so Mistral Large 3 has broader tracked availability.

Which offers better value, Molmo2 8B or Mistral Large 3?+

There is no universal value winner. Compare the input and output prices above with the matched benchmark result for your workload: cheaper tokens can be offset by different quality, token usage, latency, or provider availability.

Send Feedback