Molmo2 8B vs gpt-oss-20b

At a Glance

Compare
Pricing and Limits
Input priceFrom · USD / 1M tokensNot reported$0.018Openrouter · Sep 23, 2026
Output priceFrom · USD / 1M tokensNot reported$0.090Openrouter · Sep 23, 2026
Context windowMaximum documented tokens37K131K
Model facts checkedAug 28, 2026View model evidence →Aug 28, 2026View model evidence →

Token prices are the lowest available sourced USD rates; input and output may use different providers. Cost ranking estimates output spend on LiveBench, not a full request bill. Ranking methodology →

Available Benchmarks

All benchmark results →
No Protocol-Matched Benchmark Yet.Results appear here only when both models share the same benchmark version, metric, evaluation protocol, and evidence class.

Side-by-Side Facts

FieldMolmo2-8Bgpt-oss-20b
DeveloperAi2OpenAI
FamilyMolmo2 8bGpt Oss
ModelMolmo2-8Bgpt-oss-20b
VersionMolmo2-8Bgpt-oss-20b
Lifecycleactiveactive
ReleasedUnknownUnknown
Knowledge cutoffUnknownUnknown
Input modalitiesText, ImageText
Output modalitiesTextText
Context window37K131K
Total parameters8.7B20.9B
Active parametersUnknown3.6B
Licenseapache-2.0apache-2.0
Open weightsYesYes
API availableUnknownYes
Self-hostableYesYes
Provider accessUnknownDeepinfra (Standard), Groq (Standard), Hugging Face (Standard), Openrouter (Standard), Together Ai (Serverless, Standard)
Capabilitieschat, generationchat, generation, reasoning, tools

Molmo2 8B Capabilities

chatgeneration
Serving providers0
Canonical IDallenai/Molmo2-8B

gpt-oss-20b Capabilities

chatgenerationreasoningtools
Serving providers5
Canonical IDopenai/gpt-oss-20b

Primary Evidence

Sources and Freshness

Questions

Molmo2 8B vs gpt-oss-20b FAQs

Is Molmo2 8B or gpt-oss-20b better for coding?+

This comparison does not currently contain a protocol-matched coding benchmark for both Molmo2 8B and gpt-oss-20b, so Model Markets cannot name a coding leader from pricing, context size, or capability labels alone.

Which is cheaper, Molmo2 8B or gpt-oss-20b?+

Only gpt-oss-20b has a directly sourced input price: $0.018 per million tokens. Only gpt-oss-20b has a directly sourced output price: $0.090 per million tokens.

Which has a larger context window, Molmo2 8B or gpt-oss-20b?+

gpt-oss-20b has the larger sourced context window. Molmo2 8B supports 37K and gpt-oss-20b supports 131K.

Which performs better in benchmarks, Molmo2 8B or gpt-oss-20b?+

There is no overall benchmark winner: At least two independently verified, protocol-matched benchmarks are required for an overall winner.

Can Molmo2 8B or gpt-oss-20b be self-hosted?+

Both models have the same recorded self-hosting status: supported. Molmo2 8B is open weight; gpt-oss-20b is open weight.

Can Molmo2 8B and gpt-oss-20b understand images?+

Molmo2 8B is documented with image input; gpt-oss-20b is not documented with image input. This reflects supported input modalities, not vision quality.

Which can generate longer answers, Molmo2 8B or gpt-oss-20b?+

Neither has a larger sourced maximum output. Molmo2 8B is — and gpt-oss-20b is —.

Do Molmo2 8B and gpt-oss-20b support reasoning and tool use?+

Molmo2 8B: image input. gpt-oss-20b: reasoning and tool calling. Feature support does not establish relative quality.

Which is available from more inference providers, Molmo2 8B or gpt-oss-20b?+

Molmo2 8B has 0 sourced provider routes; gpt-oss-20b has 5, so gpt-oss-20b has broader tracked availability.

Which offers better value, Molmo2 8B or gpt-oss-20b?+

There is no universal value winner. Compare the input and output prices above with the matched benchmark result for your workload: cheaper tokens can be offset by different quality, token usage, latency, or provider availability.

Send Feedback