OpenAIgpt-oss-20b

External Link

gpt-oss-20b is an open-weight language model published by OpenAI.

Token context
131K tokens
Inputs
Text
Outputs
Text
Released
Not reported

Benchmark Market Position

Intelligence, Cost, and Efficiency

All rankings →

Cost

Not ranked in current cohort

Cost not rankedPublished LiveBench output tokens and a current USD output rate are both required.
View full ranking →

Efficiency

Not ranked in current cohort

Efficiency not rankedBoth an eligible intelligence score and a comparable cost estimate are required.
* Provisional: fewer than 3 sources
View full ranking →

The orange outline marks gpt-oss-20b. Each available panel preserves its real rank and value; missing benchmark or pricing inputs remain explicitly unranked.

Providers & Pricing

Estimate workload cost →
ProviderInput / 1MOutput / 1MCache read / 1MCache write / 1MObservedEvidence
$0.030$0.14——Oct 19, 2026Provider-reported
$0.075$0.30$0.037—Aug 28, 2026Provider-reported
$0.018$0.090$0.009—Oct 19, 2026Provider-reported
$0.024$0.112——Oct 19, 2026Provider-reported
$0.050$0.20——Aug 28, 2026Provider-reported
LMArena Text Arenatext-2026-10-15-a64ca3b12b6e1,287.43rating—10,419gpt-oss-20b; 95% CI [1281.03637900, 1293.81371199]; votes 10419; rank 260unknownOriginal sourcewinner eligibleThird-party benchmark

At a Glance

Model Facts

Identity

Status
active
Developer ID
openai/gpt-oss-20b
Released
Not reported
Version
gpt-oss-20b
License
apache-2.0

Capacity

Token context
131K tokens
Maximum output
Unknown
Total parameters
20.9B
Active parameters
3.6B
Knowledge cutoff
Not reported

Interface and Access

Inputs
Text
Outputs
Text
API available
Yes
Open weights
Yes
Self-hostable
Yes
Reasoning
Yes
Vision
No
Tool calling
Yes
Capabilities
chat, generation, reasoning, tools

This page represents one developer model product. Dated API snapshots, serving endpoints, pricing, regions, quantizations, and service tiers attach as versioned aliases or provider details and never create duplicate public model records.

Version Lineage

PredecessorUnknown
SuccessorsUnknown
Aliasesopenai/gpt-oss-20b, openai/gpt-oss-20b

Explicit Unknowns

  • Release date
  • Maximum output
  • Knowledge cutoff

Primary Evidence

Sources and Observation Date

Comparable Peers

Related Model Comparisons

All comparisons →
APairBContext
vscross-developer peerstext
vscross-developer peerstext
vscross-developer peerstext
vsfamily variantstext
vscross-developer peerstext
vscross-developer peerstext
vscross-developer peerstext
vscross-developer peerstext
vscross-developer peerstext
vsfamily variantstext
vsfamily variantstext
vsfamily variantstext

Questions

gpt-oss-20b FAQs

What is gpt-oss-20b?+

gpt-oss-20b is an open-weight language model published by OpenAI. It is developed by OpenAI and its current sourced lifecycle status is active.

What inputs and outputs does gpt-oss-20b support?+

gpt-oss-20b's current record lists Text as input and Text as output.

How much context does gpt-oss-20b support?+

The current record lists a 131K-token context window and does not report a maximum output length.

Is gpt-oss-20b available through an API?+

gpt-oss-20b is marked as API-available. The directly sourced provider records currently include Deepinfra, Groq, Hugging Face, Openrouter, and Together Ai.

How large is gpt-oss-20b?+

The current record lists 20.9B total parameters and 3.6B active parameters. Its architecture is GptOssForCausalLM.

What capabilities and tasks does gpt-oss-20b support?+

gpt-oss-20b's recorded capabilities are chat, generation, reasoning, and tools. Its supported tasks are text.

How much does gpt-oss-20b cost through an API?+

The lowest directly sourced prices currently attached to gpt-oss-20b are $0.018 per million input tokens through Openrouter and $0.090 per million output tokens through Openrouter. Prices are provider-specific and should be checked against each cited observation date.

Can gpt-oss-20b be self-hosted?+

gpt-oss-20b is an open-weight model. Self-hosting is supported, and the recorded license is apache-2.0.

Does gpt-oss-20b have related versions or aliases?+

No predecessor is recorded. No successor is recorded. Recorded aliases are openai/gpt-oss-20b.

Which models can gpt-oss-20b be compared with?+

The current compatible peer set includes Granite 4.2 30B, Phi-4 Reasoning, Olmo 3.1 32B Instruct, GPT-5.6 Terra, and Olmo 3 32B Think. Compatibility requires shared sourced modalities and tasks; it does not imply that one model is better. Browse model comparisons →

Send Feedback