Mistral Large 3 vs OCR 4.1

At a Glance

Compare
Mistral Large 3Mistral AI
OCR 4.1Mistral AI
Pricing and Limits
Input priceFrom · USD / 1M tokens$0.25Openrouter · Sep 22, 2026Not reported
Output priceFrom · USD / 1M tokens$0.75Openrouter · Sep 22, 2026Not reported
Context windowMaximum documented tokens262KNot reported
Model facts checkedAug 29, 2026View model evidence →Aug 29, 2026View model evidence →

Token prices are the lowest available sourced USD rates; input and output may use different providers. Cost ranking estimates output spend on LiveBench, not a full request bill. Ranking methodology →

Available Benchmarks

All benchmark results →
No Protocol-Matched Benchmark Yet.Results appear here only when both models share the same benchmark version, metric, evaluation protocol, and evidence class.

Side-by-Side Facts

FieldMistral Large 3OCR 4.1
DeveloperMistral AIMistral AI
FamilyMistral Large 3Mistral OCR
ModelMistral Large 3OCR 4.1
VersionMistral Large 3OCR 4.1
Lifecycleactiveactive
Released2025-12-022026-07-16
Knowledge cutoffUnknownUnknown
Input modalitiesText, Image, DocumentImage, Document
Output modalitiesTextText
Context window262KUnknown
Total parameters675BUnknown
Active parameters41BUnknown
LicenseApache-2.0Unknown
Open weightsYesNo
API availableYesYes
Self-hostableYesNo
Provider accessMistral AI (Standard), Openrouter (Standard)Mistral AI (Standard)
Capabilitiesagents, chat, generation, structured_outputs, tools, visionbounding-box-extraction, document-ai, ocr, structured-annotations

Mistral Large 3 Capabilities

agentschatgenerationstructured outputstoolsvision
Serving providers2
Canonical IDmistralai/mistral-large-2512

OCR 4.1 Capabilities

bounding-box-extractiondocument-aiocrstructured-annotations
Serving providers1
Canonical IDmistralai/mistral-ocr-4-1

Primary Evidence

Sources and Freshness

Questions

Mistral Large 3 vs OCR 4.1 FAQs

Is Mistral Large 3 or OCR 4.1 better for coding?+

This comparison does not currently contain a protocol-matched coding benchmark for both Mistral Large 3 and OCR 4.1, so Model Markets cannot name a coding leader from pricing, context size, or capability labels alone.

Which is cheaper, Mistral Large 3 or OCR 4.1?+

Only Mistral Large 3 has a directly sourced input price: $0.25 per million tokens. Only Mistral Large 3 has a directly sourced output price: $0.75 per million tokens.

Which has a larger context window, Mistral Large 3 or OCR 4.1?+

Neither model has a larger sourced context window in this comparison. Mistral Large 3 is 262K and OCR 4.1 is —.

Which performs better in benchmarks, Mistral Large 3 or OCR 4.1?+

There is no overall benchmark winner: At least two independently verified, protocol-matched benchmarks are required for an overall winner.

Can Mistral Large 3 or OCR 4.1 be self-hosted?+

Mistral Large 3 is the only model in this pair currently marked as self-hostable. Mistral Large 3 is open weight; OCR 4.1 is not marked open weight.

Can Mistral Large 3 and OCR 4.1 understand images?+

Mistral Large 3 is documented with image input; OCR 4.1 is documented with image input. This reflects supported input modalities, not vision quality.

Which can generate longer answers, Mistral Large 3 or OCR 4.1?+

Neither has a larger sourced maximum output. Mistral Large 3 is — and OCR 4.1 is —.

Do Mistral Large 3 and OCR 4.1 support reasoning and tool use?+

Mistral Large 3: tool calling and image input. OCR 4.1: image input. Feature support does not establish relative quality.

Which is available from more inference providers, Mistral Large 3 or OCR 4.1?+

Mistral Large 3 has 2 sourced provider routes; OCR 4.1 has 1, so Mistral Large 3 has broader tracked availability.

Which offers better value, Mistral Large 3 or OCR 4.1?+

There is no universal value winner. Compare the input and output prices above with the matched benchmark result for your workload: cheaper tokens can be offset by different quality, token usage, latency, or provider availability.

Send Feedback