Gemini Robotics 2 vs GPT-Image 2.5 Sunburst

At a Glance

Compare
Gemini Robotics 2Google DeepMind
Pricing and Limits
Context windowMaximum documented tokensNot reportedNot reported
Model facts checkedAug 29, 2026View model evidence →Sep 9, 2026View model evidence →
Different Model RolesThese models do not share a sourced market category. Their primary-source facts remain comparable below, while performance claims require matched evidence.

Available Benchmarks

All benchmark results →
No Protocol-Matched Benchmark Yet.Results appear here only when both models share the same benchmark version, metric, evaluation protocol, and evidence class.

Side-by-Side Facts

FieldGemini Robotics 2GPT-Image-2.5 Sunburst
DeveloperGoogle DeepMindOpenAI
FamilyGemini RoboticsGpt Image 2 5
ModelGemini Robotics 2GPT-Image-2.5 Sunburst
Version2GPT-Image-2.5 Sunburst
Lifecyclepreviewactive
Released2026-07-302026-09-08
Knowledge cutoffUnknownUnknown
Input modalitiesText, Image, Robot stateText, Image
Output modalitiesRobot actionImage
Context windowUnknownUnknown
Total parametersUnknownUnknown
Active parametersUnknownUnknown
LicenseUnknownUnknown
Open weightsNoUnknown
API availableUnknownYes
Self-hostableUnknownUnknown
Provider accessUnknownOpenai (Standard)
Capabilitiescross-embodiment, dexterous-manipulation, whole-body-control, multi-robot-collaborationimage-editing, image-generation, inpainting
Default usage-tier rate limitsUnknownTier 1: 100,000 TPM, 5 IPM, Tier 2: 250,000 TPM, 20 IPM, Tier 3: 800,000 TPM, 50 IPM, Tier 4: 3,000,000 TPM, 150 IPM, Tier 5: 8,000,000 TPM, 250 IPM
Default snapshotUnknowngpt-image-2.5-sunburst-2026-09-08
Model positioningUnknownMost capable GPT Image model for editing precision
Quality settingsUnknownlow, medium, high, xhigh, max, auto
Supported API routesUnknownv1/images/generations, v1/images/edits
Unsupported API routesUnknownv1/assistants, v1/audio/speech, v1/audio/transcriptions, v1/audio/translations, v1/batch, v1/chat/completions, v1/completions, v1/embeddings, v1/fine-tuning, v1/moderations, v1/realtime, v1/realtime/transcription_sessions, v1/realtime/translations, v1/responses, v1/videos
Robotics model typeVision-language-action modelUnknown
Action representationMotor-control actionsUnknown
Control architectureVision-language-action modelUnknown
Inference locationUnknownUnknown
Native control rate (Hz)UnknownUnknown
Supported embodimentsApptronik Apollo 2 with Inspire hands, Apptronik Apollo 2 with Sharpa hands, Franka Duo with Robotiq gripperUnknown
Training dataNot disclosed in the cited model page.Unknown

Gemini Robotics 2 Capabilities

cross-embodimentdexterous-manipulationwhole-body-controlmulti-robot-collaboration
Model typeVision-language-action model
InferenceUnknown
Action representationMotor-control actions
Supported embodiments3
Canonical IDgoogle-deepmind/gemini-robotics-2

GPT-Image 2.5 Sunburst Capabilities

image-editingimage-generationinpainting
Model typeUnknown
InferenceUnknown
Action representationUnknown
Supported embodimentsUnknown
Canonical IDopenai/gpt-image-2.5-sunburst

Primary Evidence

Sources and Freshness

Questions

Gemini Robotics 2 vs GPT-Image 2.5 Sunburst FAQs

Is Gemini Robotics 2 or GPT-Image 2.5 Sunburst better for coding?+

This comparison does not currently contain a protocol-matched coding benchmark for both Gemini Robotics 2 and GPT-Image 2.5 Sunburst, so Model Markets cannot name a coding leader from pricing, context size, or capability labels alone.

Which is cheaper, Gemini Robotics 2 or GPT-Image 2.5 Sunburst?+

Only GPT-Image 2.5 Sunburst has a directly sourced input price: $5.00 per million tokens. Only GPT-Image 2.5 Sunburst has a directly sourced output price: $30.00 per million tokens.

Which has a larger context window, Gemini Robotics 2 or GPT-Image 2.5 Sunburst?+

Neither model has a larger sourced context window in this comparison. Gemini Robotics 2 is — and GPT-Image 2.5 Sunburst is —.

Which performs better in benchmarks, Gemini Robotics 2 or GPT-Image 2.5 Sunburst?+

There is no overall benchmark winner: At least two independently verified, protocol-matched benchmarks are required for an overall winner.

Can Gemini Robotics 2 or GPT-Image 2.5 Sunburst be self-hosted?+

Both models have the same recorded self-hosting status: unknown. Gemini Robotics 2 is not marked open weight; GPT-Image 2.5 Sunburst is of unknown open-weight status.

Can Gemini Robotics 2 and GPT-Image 2.5 Sunburst understand images?+

Gemini Robotics 2 is documented with image input; GPT-Image 2.5 Sunburst is documented with image input. This reflects supported input modalities, not vision quality.

Which can generate longer answers, Gemini Robotics 2 or GPT-Image 2.5 Sunburst?+

Neither has a larger sourced maximum output. Gemini Robotics 2 is — and GPT-Image 2.5 Sunburst is —.

Do Gemini Robotics 2 and GPT-Image 2.5 Sunburst support reasoning and tool use?+

Gemini Robotics 2: image input. GPT-Image 2.5 Sunburst: image input. Feature support does not establish relative quality.

Which is available from more inference providers, Gemini Robotics 2 or GPT-Image 2.5 Sunburst?+

Gemini Robotics 2 has 0 sourced provider routes; GPT-Image 2.5 Sunburst has 1, so GPT-Image 2.5 Sunburst has broader tracked availability.

Which offers better value, Gemini Robotics 2 or GPT-Image 2.5 Sunburst?+

There is no universal value winner. Compare the input and output prices above with the matched benchmark result for your workload: cheaper tokens can be offset by different quality, token usage, latency, or provider availability.

Send Feedback