Seed 2.1 Evolving vs GPT-4.1 Nano

At a Glance

Compare
Seed 2.1 EvolvingByteDance Seed
Pricing and Limits
Input priceFrom · USD / 1M tokensNot reported$0.050Openrouter · Sep 3, 2026
Output priceFrom · USD / 1M tokensNot reported$0.20Openrouter · Sep 3, 2026
Context windowMaximum documented tokensNot reported1,048K
Model facts checkedSep 3, 2026View model evidence →Aug 29, 2026View model evidence →

Token prices are the lowest available sourced USD rates; input and output may use different providers. Cost ranking estimates output spend on LiveBench, not a full request bill. Ranking methodology →

Available Benchmarks

All benchmark results →
No Protocol-Matched Benchmark Yet.Results appear here only when both models share the same benchmark version, metric, evaluation protocol, and evidence class.

Side-by-Side Facts

FieldSeed 2.1 EvolvingGPT-4.1 Nano
DeveloperByteDance SeedOpenAI
FamilySeed 2 1Gpt 4 1
ModelSeed 2.1 EvolvingGPT-4.1 Nano
VersionSeed 2.1 EvolvingGPT-4.1 Nano
Lifecycleactiveactive
Released2026-06-23Unknown
Knowledge cutoffUnknown2024-06-01
Input modalitiesText, Image, VideoText, Image
Output modalitiesTextText
Context windowUnknown1,048K
Total parametersUnknownUnknown
Active parametersUnknownUnknown
LicenseUnknownUnknown
Open weightsNoNo
API availableYesYes
Self-hostableNoNo
Provider accessUnknownOpenai (Standard), Openrouter (Standard)
Capabilitiesagents, chat, generation, reasoning, structured_outputs, toolschat, generation, tools

Seed 2.1 Evolving Capabilities

agentschatgenerationreasoningstructured outputstools
Serving providers0
Canonical IDbytedance-seed/seed-2.1-evolving

GPT-4.1 Nano Capabilities

chatgenerationtools
Serving providers2
Canonical IDopenai/gpt-4.1-nano

Primary Evidence

Sources and Freshness

Questions

Seed 2.1 Evolving vs GPT-4.1 Nano FAQs

Is Seed 2.1 Evolving or GPT-4.1 Nano better for coding?+

This comparison does not currently contain a protocol-matched coding benchmark for both Seed 2.1 Evolving and GPT-4.1 Nano, so Model Markets cannot name a coding leader from pricing, context size, or capability labels alone.

Which is cheaper, Seed 2.1 Evolving or GPT-4.1 Nano?+

Only GPT-4.1 Nano has a directly sourced input price: $0.050 per million tokens. Only GPT-4.1 Nano has a directly sourced output price: $0.20 per million tokens.

Which has a larger context window, Seed 2.1 Evolving or GPT-4.1 Nano?+

Neither model has a larger sourced context window in this comparison. Seed 2.1 Evolving is — and GPT-4.1 Nano is 1,048K.

Which performs better in benchmarks, Seed 2.1 Evolving or GPT-4.1 Nano?+

There is no overall benchmark winner: At least two independently verified, protocol-matched benchmarks are required for an overall winner.

Can Seed 2.1 Evolving or GPT-4.1 Nano be self-hosted?+

Both models have the same recorded self-hosting status: unsupported. Seed 2.1 Evolving is not marked open weight; GPT-4.1 Nano is not marked open weight.

Can Seed 2.1 Evolving and GPT-4.1 Nano understand images?+

Seed 2.1 Evolving is documented with image input; GPT-4.1 Nano is documented with image input. This reflects supported input modalities, not vision quality.

Which can generate longer answers, Seed 2.1 Evolving or GPT-4.1 Nano?+

Neither has a larger sourced maximum output. Seed 2.1 Evolving is — and GPT-4.1 Nano is 33K.

Do Seed 2.1 Evolving and GPT-4.1 Nano support reasoning and tool use?+

Seed 2.1 Evolving: reasoning, tool calling, and image input. GPT-4.1 Nano: tool calling and image input. Feature support does not establish relative quality.

Which is available from more inference providers, Seed 2.1 Evolving or GPT-4.1 Nano?+

Seed 2.1 Evolving has 0 sourced provider routes; GPT-4.1 Nano has 2, so GPT-4.1 Nano has broader tracked availability.

Which offers better value, Seed 2.1 Evolving or GPT-4.1 Nano?+

There is no universal value winner. Compare the input and output prices above with the matched benchmark result for your workload: cheaper tokens can be offset by different quality, token usage, latency, or provider availability.

Send Feedback