PaddleOCR VL 1.5 vs Sonar Pro
At a Glance
| Compare | PaddleOCR VL 1.5Baidu | Sonar ProPerplexity |
|---|---|---|
| Pricing and Limits | ||
| Input priceFrom · USD / 1M tokens | Not reported | $3.00Openrouter ↗ · Sep 22, 2026 |
| Output priceFrom · USD / 1M tokens | Not reported | $15.00Openrouter ↗ · Sep 22, 2026 |
| Context windowMaximum documented tokens | 131K | 200K |
| Model facts checked | Aug 28, 2026View model evidence → | Aug 29, 2026View model evidence → |
Token prices are the lowest available sourced USD rates; input and output may use different providers. Cost ranking estimates output spend on LiveBench, not a full request bill. Ranking methodology →
Available Benchmarks
Side-by-Side Facts
| Field | PaddleOCR-VL-1.5 | Sonar Pro |
|---|---|---|
| Developer | Baidu | Perplexity |
| Family | Paddleocr VL 1 5 | Sonar |
| Model | PaddleOCR-VL-1.5 | Sonar Pro |
| Version | PaddleOCR-VL-1.5 | Sonar Pro |
| Lifecycle | active | active |
| Released | 2026-01-29 | Unknown |
| Knowledge cutoff | Unknown | Unknown |
| Input modalities | Text, Image | Text |
| Output modalities | Text | Text |
| Context window | 131K | 200K |
| Total parameters | 958.6M | Unknown |
| Active parameters | Unknown | Unknown |
| License | apache-2.0 | Unknown |
| Open weights | Yes | No |
| API available | Unknown | Yes |
| Self-hostable | Yes | No |
| Provider access | Unknown | Openrouter (Standard), Perplexity (Standard) |
| Capabilities | chat, generation | chat, citations, search |
PaddleOCR VL 1.5 Capabilities
Sonar Pro Capabilities
Primary Evidence
Sources and Freshness
Questions
PaddleOCR VL 1.5 vs Sonar Pro FAQs
Is PaddleOCR VL 1.5 or Sonar Pro better for coding?+
This comparison does not currently contain a protocol-matched coding benchmark for both PaddleOCR VL 1.5 and Sonar Pro, so Model Markets cannot name a coding leader from pricing, context size, or capability labels alone.
Which is cheaper, PaddleOCR VL 1.5 or Sonar Pro?+
Only Sonar Pro has a directly sourced input price: $3.00 per million tokens. Only Sonar Pro has a directly sourced output price: $15.00 per million tokens.
Which has a larger context window, PaddleOCR VL 1.5 or Sonar Pro?+
Sonar Pro has the larger sourced context window. PaddleOCR VL 1.5 supports 131K and Sonar Pro supports 200K.
Which performs better in benchmarks, PaddleOCR VL 1.5 or Sonar Pro?+
There is no overall benchmark winner: At least two independently verified, protocol-matched benchmarks are required for an overall winner.
Can PaddleOCR VL 1.5 or Sonar Pro be self-hosted?+
PaddleOCR VL 1.5 is the only model in this pair currently marked as self-hostable. PaddleOCR VL 1.5 is open weight; Sonar Pro is not marked open weight.
Can PaddleOCR VL 1.5 and Sonar Pro understand images?+
PaddleOCR VL 1.5 is documented with image input; Sonar Pro is not documented with image input. This reflects supported input modalities, not vision quality.
Which can generate longer answers, PaddleOCR VL 1.5 or Sonar Pro?+
Neither has a larger sourced maximum output. PaddleOCR VL 1.5 is — and Sonar Pro is —.
Do PaddleOCR VL 1.5 and Sonar Pro support reasoning and tool use?+
PaddleOCR VL 1.5: image input. Sonar Pro: none of these features are definitively sourced. Feature support does not establish relative quality.
Which is available from more inference providers, PaddleOCR VL 1.5 or Sonar Pro?+
PaddleOCR VL 1.5 has 0 sourced provider routes; Sonar Pro has 2, so Sonar Pro has broader tracked availability.
Which offers better value, PaddleOCR VL 1.5 or Sonar Pro?+
There is no universal value winner. Compare the input and output prices above with the matched benchmark result for your workload: cheaper tokens can be offset by different quality, token usage, latency, or provider availability.