PaddleOCR VL 1.5 vs Sonar Deep Research

At a Glance

Compare
Pricing and Limits
Input priceFrom · USD / 1M tokensNot reported$2.00Openrouter · Sep 22, 2026
Output priceFrom · USD / 1M tokensNot reported$8.00Openrouter · Sep 22, 2026
Context windowMaximum documented tokens131K128K
Model facts checkedAug 28, 2026View model evidence →Aug 29, 2026View model evidence →

Token prices are the lowest available sourced USD rates; input and output may use different providers. Cost ranking estimates output spend on LiveBench, not a full request bill. Ranking methodology →

Available Benchmarks

All benchmark results →
No Protocol-Matched Benchmark Yet.Results appear here only when both models share the same benchmark version, metric, evaluation protocol, and evidence class.

Side-by-Side Facts

FieldPaddleOCR-VL-1.5Sonar Deep Research
DeveloperBaiduPerplexity
FamilyPaddleocr VL 1 5Sonar
ModelPaddleOCR-VL-1.5Sonar Deep Research
VersionPaddleOCR-VL-1.5Sonar Deep Research
Lifecycleactiveactive
Released2026-01-29Unknown
Knowledge cutoffUnknownUnknown
Input modalitiesText, ImageText
Output modalitiesTextText
Context window131K128K
Total parameters958.6MUnknown
Active parametersUnknownUnknown
Licenseapache-2.0Unknown
Open weightsYesNo
API availableUnknownYes
Self-hostableYesNo
Provider accessUnknownOpenrouter (Standard), Perplexity (Standard)
Capabilitieschat, generationchat, citations, reasoning, research, search

PaddleOCR VL 1.5 Capabilities

chatgeneration
Serving providers0
Canonical IDPaddlePaddle/PaddleOCR-VL-1.5

Sonar Deep Research Capabilities

chatcitationsreasoningresearchsearch
Serving providers2
Canonical IDperplexity/sonar-deep-research

Primary Evidence

Sources and Freshness

Questions

PaddleOCR VL 1.5 vs Sonar Deep Research FAQs

Is PaddleOCR VL 1.5 or Sonar Deep Research better for coding?+

This comparison does not currently contain a protocol-matched coding benchmark for both PaddleOCR VL 1.5 and Sonar Deep Research, so Model Markets cannot name a coding leader from pricing, context size, or capability labels alone.

Which is cheaper, PaddleOCR VL 1.5 or Sonar Deep Research?+

Only Sonar Deep Research has a directly sourced input price: $2.00 per million tokens. Only Sonar Deep Research has a directly sourced output price: $8.00 per million tokens.

Which has a larger context window, PaddleOCR VL 1.5 or Sonar Deep Research?+

PaddleOCR VL 1.5 has the larger sourced context window. PaddleOCR VL 1.5 supports 131K and Sonar Deep Research supports 128K.

Which performs better in benchmarks, PaddleOCR VL 1.5 or Sonar Deep Research?+

There is no overall benchmark winner: At least two independently verified, protocol-matched benchmarks are required for an overall winner.

Can PaddleOCR VL 1.5 or Sonar Deep Research be self-hosted?+

PaddleOCR VL 1.5 is the only model in this pair currently marked as self-hostable. PaddleOCR VL 1.5 is open weight; Sonar Deep Research is not marked open weight.

Can PaddleOCR VL 1.5 and Sonar Deep Research understand images?+

PaddleOCR VL 1.5 is documented with image input; Sonar Deep Research is not documented with image input. This reflects supported input modalities, not vision quality.

Which can generate longer answers, PaddleOCR VL 1.5 or Sonar Deep Research?+

Neither has a larger sourced maximum output. PaddleOCR VL 1.5 is — and Sonar Deep Research is —.

Do PaddleOCR VL 1.5 and Sonar Deep Research support reasoning and tool use?+

PaddleOCR VL 1.5: image input. Sonar Deep Research: reasoning. Feature support does not establish relative quality.

Which is available from more inference providers, PaddleOCR VL 1.5 or Sonar Deep Research?+

PaddleOCR VL 1.5 has 0 sourced provider routes; Sonar Deep Research has 2, so Sonar Deep Research has broader tracked availability.

Which offers better value, PaddleOCR VL 1.5 or Sonar Deep Research?+

There is no universal value winner. Compare the input and output prices above with the matched benchmark result for your workload: cheaper tokens can be offset by different quality, token usage, latency, or provider availability.

Send Feedback