PaddleOCR VL 1.5 vs o3
At a Glance
| Compare | PaddleOCR VL 1.5Baidu | o3OpenAI |
|---|---|---|
| Pricing and Limits | ||
| Input priceFrom · USD / 1M tokens | Not reported | $1.00Openrouter ↗ · Sep 3, 2026 |
| Output priceFrom · USD / 1M tokens | Not reported | $4.00Openrouter ↗ · Sep 3, 2026 |
| Context windowMaximum documented tokens | 131K | 200K |
| Model facts checked | Aug 28, 2026View model evidence → | Sep 3, 2026View model evidence → |
Token prices are the lowest available sourced USD rates; input and output may use different providers. Cost ranking estimates output spend on LiveBench, not a full request bill. Ranking methodology →
Available Benchmarks
Side-by-Side Facts
| Field | PaddleOCR-VL-1.5 | o3 |
|---|---|---|
| Developer | Baidu | OpenAI |
| Family | Paddleocr VL 1 5 | O3 |
| Model | PaddleOCR-VL-1.5 | o3 |
| Version | PaddleOCR-VL-1.5 | o3 |
| Lifecycle | active | active |
| Released | 2026-01-29 | 2025-04-16 |
| Knowledge cutoff | Unknown | 2024-06-01 |
| Input modalities | Text, Image | Text, Image |
| Output modalities | Text | Text |
| Context window | 131K | 200K |
| Total parameters | 958.6M | Unknown |
| Active parameters | Unknown | Unknown |
| License | apache-2.0 | Unknown |
| Open weights | Yes | No |
| API available | Unknown | Yes |
| Self-hostable | Yes | No |
| Provider access | Unknown | Openai (Standard), Openrouter (Standard) |
| Capabilities | chat, generation | chat, generation, reasoning, structured_outputs, tools |
PaddleOCR VL 1.5 Capabilities
o3 Capabilities
Primary Evidence
Sources and Freshness
Questions
PaddleOCR VL 1.5 vs o3 FAQs
Is PaddleOCR VL 1.5 or o3 better for coding?+
This comparison does not currently contain a protocol-matched coding benchmark for both PaddleOCR VL 1.5 and o3, so Model Markets cannot name a coding leader from pricing, context size, or capability labels alone.
Which is cheaper, PaddleOCR VL 1.5 or o3?+
Only o3 has a directly sourced input price: $1.00 per million tokens. Only o3 has a directly sourced output price: $4.00 per million tokens.
Which has a larger context window, PaddleOCR VL 1.5 or o3?+
o3 has the larger sourced context window. PaddleOCR VL 1.5 supports 131K and o3 supports 200K.
Which performs better in benchmarks, PaddleOCR VL 1.5 or o3?+
There is no overall benchmark winner: At least two independently verified, protocol-matched benchmarks are required for an overall winner.
Can PaddleOCR VL 1.5 or o3 be self-hosted?+
PaddleOCR VL 1.5 is the only model in this pair currently marked as self-hostable. PaddleOCR VL 1.5 is open weight; o3 is not marked open weight.
Can PaddleOCR VL 1.5 and o3 understand images?+
PaddleOCR VL 1.5 is documented with image input; o3 is documented with image input. This reflects supported input modalities, not vision quality.
Which can generate longer answers, PaddleOCR VL 1.5 or o3?+
Neither has a larger sourced maximum output. PaddleOCR VL 1.5 is — and o3 is 100K.
Do PaddleOCR VL 1.5 and o3 support reasoning and tool use?+
PaddleOCR VL 1.5: image input. o3: reasoning, tool calling, and image input. Feature support does not establish relative quality.
Which is available from more inference providers, PaddleOCR VL 1.5 or o3?+
PaddleOCR VL 1.5 has 0 sourced provider routes; o3 has 2, so o3 has broader tracked availability.
Which offers better value, PaddleOCR VL 1.5 or o3?+
There is no universal value winner. Compare the input and output prices above with the matched benchmark result for your workload: cheaper tokens can be offset by different quality, token usage, latency, or provider availability.