Molmo2 8B vs Llama 3.3 70B Instruct

At a Glance

Compare
Pricing and Limits
Input priceFrom · USD / 1M tokensNot reported$0.10Openrouter · Sep 23, 2026
Output priceFrom · USD / 1M tokensNot reported$0.32Openrouter · Sep 23, 2026
Context windowMaximum documented tokens37K131K
Model facts checkedAug 28, 2026View model evidence →Aug 28, 2026View model evidence →

Token prices are the lowest available sourced USD rates; input and output may use different providers. Cost ranking estimates output spend on LiveBench, not a full request bill. Ranking methodology →

Available Benchmarks

All benchmark results →
No Protocol-Matched Benchmark Yet.Results appear here only when both models share the same benchmark version, metric, evaluation protocol, and evidence class.

Side-by-Side Facts

FieldMolmo2-8BLlama-3.3-70B-Instruct
DeveloperAi2Meta
FamilyMolmo2 8bLlama 3 3 70b Instruct
ModelMolmo2-8BLlama-3.3-70B-Instruct
VersionMolmo2-8BLlama-3.3-70B-Instruct
Lifecycleactiveactive
ReleasedUnknown2024-12-06
Knowledge cutoffUnknownUnknown
Input modalitiesText, ImageText
Output modalitiesTextText
Context window37K131K
Total parameters8.7B70.6B
Active parametersUnknownUnknown
Licenseapache-2.0llama3.3
Open weightsYesYes
API availableUnknownYes
Self-hostableYesYes
Provider accessUnknownHugging Face (Standard), Openrouter (Standard), Together Ai (Standard)
Capabilitieschat, generationchat, generation, tools

Molmo2 8B Capabilities

chatgeneration
Serving providers0
Canonical IDallenai/Molmo2-8B

Llama 3.3 70B Instruct Capabilities

chatgenerationtools
Serving providers3
Canonical IDmeta-llama/Llama-3.3-70B-Instruct

Primary Evidence

Sources and Freshness

Questions

Molmo2 8B vs Llama 3.3 70B Instruct FAQs

Is Molmo2 8B or Llama 3.3 70B Instruct better for coding?+

This comparison does not currently contain a protocol-matched coding benchmark for both Molmo2 8B and Llama 3.3 70B Instruct, so Model Markets cannot name a coding leader from pricing, context size, or capability labels alone.

Which is cheaper, Molmo2 8B or Llama 3.3 70B Instruct?+

Only Llama 3.3 70B Instruct has a directly sourced input price: $0.10 per million tokens. Only Llama 3.3 70B Instruct has a directly sourced output price: $0.32 per million tokens.

Which has a larger context window, Molmo2 8B or Llama 3.3 70B Instruct?+

Llama 3.3 70B Instruct has the larger sourced context window. Molmo2 8B supports 37K and Llama 3.3 70B Instruct supports 131K.

Which performs better in benchmarks, Molmo2 8B or Llama 3.3 70B Instruct?+

There is no overall benchmark winner: At least two independently verified, protocol-matched benchmarks are required for an overall winner.

Can Molmo2 8B or Llama 3.3 70B Instruct be self-hosted?+

Both models have the same recorded self-hosting status: supported. Molmo2 8B is open weight; Llama 3.3 70B Instruct is open weight.

Can Molmo2 8B and Llama 3.3 70B Instruct understand images?+

Molmo2 8B is documented with image input; Llama 3.3 70B Instruct is not documented with image input. This reflects supported input modalities, not vision quality.

Which can generate longer answers, Molmo2 8B or Llama 3.3 70B Instruct?+

Neither has a larger sourced maximum output. Molmo2 8B is — and Llama 3.3 70B Instruct is —.

Do Molmo2 8B and Llama 3.3 70B Instruct support reasoning and tool use?+

Molmo2 8B: image input. Llama 3.3 70B Instruct: tool calling. Feature support does not establish relative quality.

Which is available from more inference providers, Molmo2 8B or Llama 3.3 70B Instruct?+

Molmo2 8B has 0 sourced provider routes; Llama 3.3 70B Instruct has 3, so Llama 3.3 70B Instruct has broader tracked availability.

Which offers better value, Molmo2 8B or Llama 3.3 70B Instruct?+

There is no universal value winner. Compare the input and output prices above with the matched benchmark result for your workload: cheaper tokens can be offset by different quality, token usage, latency, or provider availability.

Send Feedback