Molmo2 8B vs Llama 3.1 8B Instruct
At a Glance
| Compare | Molmo2 8BAi2 | |
|---|---|---|
| Pricing and Limits | ||
| Input priceFrom · USD / 1M tokens | Not reported | $0.050Openrouter ↗ · Sep 23, 2026 |
| Output priceFrom · USD / 1M tokens | Not reported | $0.080Openrouter ↗ · Sep 23, 2026 |
| Context windowMaximum documented tokens | 37K | 131K |
| Model facts checked | Aug 28, 2026View model evidence → | Aug 28, 2026View model evidence → |
Token prices are the lowest available sourced USD rates; input and output may use different providers. Cost ranking estimates output spend on LiveBench, not a full request bill. Ranking methodology →
Available Benchmarks
Side-by-Side Facts
| Field | Molmo2-8B | Llama-3.1-8B-Instruct |
|---|---|---|
| Developer | Ai2 | Meta |
| Family | Molmo2 8b | Llama 3 1 8b Instruct |
| Model | Molmo2-8B | Llama-3.1-8B-Instruct |
| Version | Molmo2-8B | Llama-3.1-8B-Instruct |
| Lifecycle | active | active |
| Released | Unknown | 2024-07-23 |
| Knowledge cutoff | Unknown | Unknown |
| Input modalities | Text, Image | Text |
| Output modalities | Text | Text |
| Context window | 37K | 131K |
| Total parameters | 8.7B | 8B |
| Active parameters | Unknown | Unknown |
| License | apache-2.0 | llama3.1 |
| Open weights | Yes | Yes |
| API available | Unknown | Yes |
| Self-hostable | Yes | Yes |
| Provider access | Unknown | Hugging Face (Standard), Openrouter (Standard) |
| Capabilities | chat, generation | chat, generation, tools |
Molmo2 8B Capabilities
Llama 3.1 8B Instruct Capabilities
Primary Evidence
Sources and Freshness
Questions
Molmo2 8B vs Llama 3.1 8B Instruct FAQs
Is Molmo2 8B or Llama 3.1 8B Instruct better for coding?+
This comparison does not currently contain a protocol-matched coding benchmark for both Molmo2 8B and Llama 3.1 8B Instruct, so Model Markets cannot name a coding leader from pricing, context size, or capability labels alone.
Which is cheaper, Molmo2 8B or Llama 3.1 8B Instruct?+
Only Llama 3.1 8B Instruct has a directly sourced input price: $0.050 per million tokens. Only Llama 3.1 8B Instruct has a directly sourced output price: $0.080 per million tokens.
Which has a larger context window, Molmo2 8B or Llama 3.1 8B Instruct?+
Llama 3.1 8B Instruct has the larger sourced context window. Molmo2 8B supports 37K and Llama 3.1 8B Instruct supports 131K.
Which performs better in benchmarks, Molmo2 8B or Llama 3.1 8B Instruct?+
There is no overall benchmark winner: At least two independently verified, protocol-matched benchmarks are required for an overall winner.
Can Molmo2 8B or Llama 3.1 8B Instruct be self-hosted?+
Both models have the same recorded self-hosting status: supported. Molmo2 8B is open weight; Llama 3.1 8B Instruct is open weight.
Can Molmo2 8B and Llama 3.1 8B Instruct understand images?+
Molmo2 8B is documented with image input; Llama 3.1 8B Instruct is not documented with image input. This reflects supported input modalities, not vision quality.
Which can generate longer answers, Molmo2 8B or Llama 3.1 8B Instruct?+
Neither has a larger sourced maximum output. Molmo2 8B is — and Llama 3.1 8B Instruct is —.
Do Molmo2 8B and Llama 3.1 8B Instruct support reasoning and tool use?+
Molmo2 8B: image input. Llama 3.1 8B Instruct: tool calling. Feature support does not establish relative quality.
Which is available from more inference providers, Molmo2 8B or Llama 3.1 8B Instruct?+
Molmo2 8B has 0 sourced provider routes; Llama 3.1 8B Instruct has 2, so Llama 3.1 8B Instruct has broader tracked availability.
Which offers better value, Molmo2 8B or Llama 3.1 8B Instruct?+
There is no universal value winner. Compare the input and output prices above with the matched benchmark result for your workload: cheaper tokens can be offset by different quality, token usage, latency, or provider availability.