Molmo2 8B vs gpt-oss-120b
At a Glance
| Compare | Molmo2 8BAi2 | gpt-oss-120bOpenAI |
|---|---|---|
| Pricing and Limits | ||
| Input priceFrom · USD / 1M tokens | Not reported | $0.037Deepinfra ↗ · Sep 23, 2026 |
| Output priceFrom · USD / 1M tokens | Not reported | $0.17Deepinfra ↗ · Sep 23, 2026 |
| Context windowMaximum documented tokens | 37K | 131K |
| Model facts checked | Aug 28, 2026View model evidence → | Aug 28, 2026View model evidence → |
Token prices are the lowest available sourced USD rates; input and output may use different providers. Cost ranking estimates output spend on LiveBench, not a full request bill. Ranking methodology →
Available Benchmarks
Side-by-Side Facts
| Field | Molmo2-8B | gpt-oss-120b |
|---|---|---|
| Developer | Ai2 | OpenAI |
| Family | Molmo2 8b | Gpt Oss 120b |
| Model | Molmo2-8B | gpt-oss-120b |
| Version | Molmo2-8B | gpt-oss-120b |
| Lifecycle | active | active |
| Released | Unknown | Unknown |
| Knowledge cutoff | Unknown | Unknown |
| Input modalities | Text, Image | Text |
| Output modalities | Text | Text |
| Context window | 37K | 131K |
| Total parameters | 8.7B | 116.8B |
| Active parameters | Unknown | 5.1B |
| License | apache-2.0 | apache-2.0 |
| Open weights | Yes | Yes |
| API available | Unknown | Yes |
| Self-hostable | Yes | Yes |
| Provider access | Unknown | Cerebras (Standard), Deepinfra (Standard), Fireworks Ai (Serverless, Standard), Groq (Standard), Hugging Face (Standard), Openrouter (Standard), Together Ai (Serverless, Standard) |
| Capabilities | chat, generation | chat, generation, reasoning, tools |
Molmo2 8B Capabilities
gpt-oss-120b Capabilities
Primary Evidence
Sources and Freshness
Questions
Molmo2 8B vs gpt-oss-120b FAQs
Is Molmo2 8B or gpt-oss-120b better for coding?+
This comparison does not currently contain a protocol-matched coding benchmark for both Molmo2 8B and gpt-oss-120b, so Model Markets cannot name a coding leader from pricing, context size, or capability labels alone.
Which is cheaper, Molmo2 8B or gpt-oss-120b?+
Only gpt-oss-120b has a directly sourced input price: $0.037 per million tokens. Only gpt-oss-120b has a directly sourced output price: $0.17 per million tokens.
Which has a larger context window, Molmo2 8B or gpt-oss-120b?+
gpt-oss-120b has the larger sourced context window. Molmo2 8B supports 37K and gpt-oss-120b supports 131K.
Which performs better in benchmarks, Molmo2 8B or gpt-oss-120b?+
There is no overall benchmark winner: At least two independently verified, protocol-matched benchmarks are required for an overall winner.
Can Molmo2 8B or gpt-oss-120b be self-hosted?+
Both models have the same recorded self-hosting status: supported. Molmo2 8B is open weight; gpt-oss-120b is open weight.
Can Molmo2 8B and gpt-oss-120b understand images?+
Molmo2 8B is documented with image input; gpt-oss-120b is not documented with image input. This reflects supported input modalities, not vision quality.
Which can generate longer answers, Molmo2 8B or gpt-oss-120b?+
Neither has a larger sourced maximum output. Molmo2 8B is — and gpt-oss-120b is —.
Do Molmo2 8B and gpt-oss-120b support reasoning and tool use?+
Molmo2 8B: image input. gpt-oss-120b: reasoning and tool calling. Feature support does not establish relative quality.
Which is available from more inference providers, Molmo2 8B or gpt-oss-120b?+
Molmo2 8B has 0 sourced provider routes; gpt-oss-120b has 7, so gpt-oss-120b has broader tracked availability.
Which offers better value, Molmo2 8B or gpt-oss-120b?+
There is no universal value winner. Compare the input and output prices above with the matched benchmark result for your workload: cheaper tokens can be offset by different quality, token usage, latency, or provider availability.