Mistral Medium 3.5 128B vs GPT-Image 2.5 Sunburst

At a Glance

Compare
Pricing and Limits
Input priceFrom · USD / 1M tokensNot reported$5.00Openai · Sep 9, 2026
Output priceFrom · USD / 1M tokensNot reported$30.00Openai · Sep 9, 2026
Context windowMaximum documented tokens262KNot reported
Model facts checkedAug 28, 2026View model evidence →Sep 9, 2026View model evidence →

Token prices are the lowest available sourced USD rates; input and output may use different providers. Cost ranking estimates output spend on LiveBench, not a full request bill. Ranking methodology →

Available Benchmarks

All benchmark results →
No Protocol-Matched Benchmark Yet.Results appear here only when both models share the same benchmark version, metric, evaluation protocol, and evidence class.

Side-by-Side Facts

FieldMistral-Medium-3.5-128BGPT-Image-2.5 Sunburst
DeveloperMistral AIOpenAI
FamilyMistral Medium 3 5 128bGpt Image 2 5
ModelMistral-Medium-3.5-128BGPT-Image-2.5 Sunburst
VersionMistral-Medium-3.5-128BGPT-Image-2.5 Sunburst
Lifecycleactiveactive
ReleasedUnknown2026-09-08
Knowledge cutoffUnknownUnknown
Input modalitiesText, ImageText, Image
Output modalitiesTextImage
Context window262KUnknown
Total parameters127.7BUnknown
Active parametersUnknownUnknown
LicenseotherUnknown
Open weightsYesUnknown
API availableUnknownYes
Self-hostableYesUnknown
Provider accessUnknownOpenai (Standard)
Capabilitieschat, generation, reasoning, toolsimage-editing, image-generation, inpainting
Default usage-tier rate limitsUnknownTier 1: 100,000 TPM, 5 IPM, Tier 2: 250,000 TPM, 20 IPM, Tier 3: 800,000 TPM, 50 IPM, Tier 4: 3,000,000 TPM, 150 IPM, Tier 5: 8,000,000 TPM, 250 IPM
Default snapshotUnknowngpt-image-2.5-sunburst-2026-09-08
Model positioningUnknownMost capable GPT Image model for editing precision
Quality settingsUnknownlow, medium, high, xhigh, max, auto
Supported API routesUnknownv1/images/generations, v1/images/edits
Unsupported API routesUnknownv1/assistants, v1/audio/speech, v1/audio/transcriptions, v1/audio/translations, v1/batch, v1/chat/completions, v1/completions, v1/embeddings, v1/fine-tuning, v1/moderations, v1/realtime, v1/realtime/transcription_sessions, v1/realtime/translations, v1/responses, v1/videos

Mistral Medium 3.5 128B Capabilities

chatgenerationreasoningtools
Serving providers0
Canonical IDmistralai/Mistral-Medium-3.5-128B

GPT-Image 2.5 Sunburst Capabilities

image-editingimage-generationinpainting
Serving providers1
Canonical IDopenai/gpt-image-2.5-sunburst

Primary Evidence

Sources and Freshness

Questions

Mistral Medium 3.5 128B vs GPT-Image 2.5 Sunburst FAQs

Is Mistral Medium 3.5 128B or GPT-Image 2.5 Sunburst better for coding?+

This comparison does not currently contain a protocol-matched coding benchmark for both Mistral Medium 3.5 128B and GPT-Image 2.5 Sunburst, so Model Markets cannot name a coding leader from pricing, context size, or capability labels alone.

Which is cheaper, Mistral Medium 3.5 128B or GPT-Image 2.5 Sunburst?+

Only GPT-Image 2.5 Sunburst has a directly sourced input price: $5.00 per million tokens. Only GPT-Image 2.5 Sunburst has a directly sourced output price: $30.00 per million tokens.

Which has a larger context window, Mistral Medium 3.5 128B or GPT-Image 2.5 Sunburst?+

Neither model has a larger sourced context window in this comparison. Mistral Medium 3.5 128B is 262K and GPT-Image 2.5 Sunburst is —.

Which performs better in benchmarks, Mistral Medium 3.5 128B or GPT-Image 2.5 Sunburst?+

There is no overall benchmark winner: At least two independently verified, protocol-matched benchmarks are required for an overall winner.

Can Mistral Medium 3.5 128B or GPT-Image 2.5 Sunburst be self-hosted?+

Mistral Medium 3.5 128B is the only model in this pair currently marked as self-hostable. Mistral Medium 3.5 128B is open weight; GPT-Image 2.5 Sunburst is of unknown open-weight status.

Can Mistral Medium 3.5 128B and GPT-Image 2.5 Sunburst understand images?+

Mistral Medium 3.5 128B is documented with image input; GPT-Image 2.5 Sunburst is documented with image input. This reflects supported input modalities, not vision quality.

Which can generate longer answers, Mistral Medium 3.5 128B or GPT-Image 2.5 Sunburst?+

Neither has a larger sourced maximum output. Mistral Medium 3.5 128B is — and GPT-Image 2.5 Sunburst is —.

Do Mistral Medium 3.5 128B and GPT-Image 2.5 Sunburst support reasoning and tool use?+

Mistral Medium 3.5 128B: reasoning, tool calling, and image input. GPT-Image 2.5 Sunburst: image input. Feature support does not establish relative quality.

Which is available from more inference providers, Mistral Medium 3.5 128B or GPT-Image 2.5 Sunburst?+

Mistral Medium 3.5 128B has 0 sourced provider routes; GPT-Image 2.5 Sunburst has 1, so GPT-Image 2.5 Sunburst has broader tracked availability.

Which offers better value, Mistral Medium 3.5 128B or GPT-Image 2.5 Sunburst?+

There is no universal value winner. Compare the input and output prices above with the matched benchmark result for your workload: cheaper tokens can be offset by different quality, token usage, latency, or provider availability.

Send Feedback