Llama 3.1 405B Instruct vs Kimi K2.5
At a Glance
| Compare | Kimi K2.5Moonshot AI | |
|---|---|---|
| Pricing and Limits | ||
| Input priceFrom · USD / 1M tokens | Not reported | $0.45Deepinfra ↗ · Aug 29, 2026 |
| Output priceFrom · USD / 1M tokens | Not reported | $2.25Deepinfra ↗ · Aug 29, 2026 |
| Context windowMaximum documented tokens | 131K | 262K |
| Model facts checked | Aug 28, 2026View model evidence → | Aug 28, 2026View model evidence → |
Token prices are the lowest available sourced USD rates; input and output may use different providers. Cost ranking estimates output spend on LiveBench, not a full request bill. Ranking methodology →
Available Benchmarks
Side-by-Side Facts
| Field | Llama-3.1-405B-Instruct | Kimi-K2.5 |
|---|---|---|
| Developer | Meta | Moonshot AI |
| Family | Llama 3 1 405b Instruct | Kimi K2 5 |
| Model | Llama-3.1-405B-Instruct | Kimi-K2.5 |
| Version | Llama-3.1-405B-Instruct | Kimi-K2.5 |
| Lifecycle | active | active |
| Released | 2024-07-23 | 2026-01-27 |
| Knowledge cutoff | Unknown | Unknown |
| Input modalities | Text | Text, Image |
| Output modalities | Text | Text |
| Context window | 131K | 262K |
| Total parameters | 405.9B | 1T |
| Active parameters | Unknown | 32B |
| License | llama3.1 | other |
| Open weights | Yes | Yes |
| API available | Yes | Yes |
| Self-hostable | Yes | Yes |
| Provider access | Together Ai (Standard) | Deepinfra (Standard), Hugging Face (Standard), Openrouter (Standard) |
| Capabilities | chat, generation, tools | chat, generation, reasoning, tools |
Llama 3.1 405B Instruct Capabilities
Kimi K2.5 Capabilities
Primary Evidence
Sources and Freshness
Questions
Llama 3.1 405B Instruct vs Kimi K2.5 FAQs
Is Llama 3.1 405B Instruct or Kimi K2.5 better for coding?+
This comparison does not currently contain a protocol-matched coding benchmark for both Llama 3.1 405B Instruct and Kimi K2.5, so Model Markets cannot name a coding leader from pricing, context size, or capability labels alone.
Which is cheaper, Llama 3.1 405B Instruct or Kimi K2.5?+
Only Kimi K2.5 has a directly sourced input price: $0.45 per million tokens. Only Kimi K2.5 has a directly sourced output price: $2.25 per million tokens.
Which has a larger context window, Llama 3.1 405B Instruct or Kimi K2.5?+
Kimi K2.5 has the larger sourced context window. Llama 3.1 405B Instruct supports 131K and Kimi K2.5 supports 262K.
Which performs better in benchmarks, Llama 3.1 405B Instruct or Kimi K2.5?+
There is no overall benchmark winner: At least two independently verified, protocol-matched benchmarks are required for an overall winner.
Can Llama 3.1 405B Instruct or Kimi K2.5 be self-hosted?+
Both models have the same recorded self-hosting status: supported. Llama 3.1 405B Instruct is open weight; Kimi K2.5 is open weight.
Can Llama 3.1 405B Instruct and Kimi K2.5 understand images?+
Llama 3.1 405B Instruct is not documented with image input; Kimi K2.5 is documented with image input. This reflects supported input modalities, not vision quality.
Which can generate longer answers, Llama 3.1 405B Instruct or Kimi K2.5?+
Neither has a larger sourced maximum output. Llama 3.1 405B Instruct is — and Kimi K2.5 is —.
Do Llama 3.1 405B Instruct and Kimi K2.5 support reasoning and tool use?+
Llama 3.1 405B Instruct: tool calling. Kimi K2.5: reasoning, tool calling, and image input. Feature support does not establish relative quality.
Which is available from more inference providers, Llama 3.1 405B Instruct or Kimi K2.5?+
Llama 3.1 405B Instruct has 1 sourced provider route; Kimi K2.5 has 3, so Kimi K2.5 has broader tracked availability.
Which offers better value, Llama 3.1 405B Instruct or Kimi K2.5?+
There is no universal value winner. Compare the input and output prices above with the matched benchmark result for your workload: cheaper tokens can be offset by different quality, token usage, latency, or provider availability.