DeepSeek V4.1 Flash vs Llama 3.1 405B Instruct
At a Glance
| Compare | DeepSeek V4.1 FlashDeepSeek | |
|---|---|---|
| Intelligence, Cost, and Efficiency | ||
| CostLower is better · Published-token output estimate | #5 of 44$0.022 per LiveBench case | UnrankedNot in the 44-model eligible cohort |
| Pricing and Limits | ||
| Input priceFrom · USD / 1M tokens | $0.15DeepSeek ↗ · Sep 10, 2026 | Not reported |
| Output priceFrom · USD / 1M tokens | $0.60Deepinfra ↗ · Sep 22, 2026 | Not reported |
| Context windowMaximum documented tokens | 1,049K | 131K |
| Model facts checked | Sep 10, 2026View model evidence → | Aug 28, 2026View model evidence → |
Token prices are the lowest available sourced USD rates; input and output may use different providers. Cost ranking estimates output spend on LiveBench, not a full request bill. Ranking methodology →
Available Benchmarks
Side-by-Side Facts
| Field | DeepSeek-V4.1-Flash | Llama-3.1-405B-Instruct |
|---|---|---|
| Developer | DeepSeek | Meta |
| Family | Deepseek V4 1 | Llama 3 1 405b Instruct |
| Model | DeepSeek-V4.1-Flash | Llama-3.1-405B-Instruct |
| Version | DeepSeek-V4.1-Flash | Llama-3.1-405B-Instruct |
| Lifecycle | active | active |
| Released | 2026-09-10 | 2024-07-23 |
| Knowledge cutoff | Unknown | Unknown |
| Input modalities | Text, Image | Text |
| Output modalities | Text | Text |
| Context window | 1,049K | 131K |
| Total parameters | 763.2B | 405.9B |
| Active parameters | Unknown | Unknown |
| License | mit | llama3.1 |
| Open weights | Yes | Yes |
| API available | Yes | Yes |
| Self-hostable | Yes | Yes |
| Provider access | DeepSeek (Standard), Deepinfra (Standard), Together Ai (Standard) | Together Ai (Standard) |
| Capabilities | agents, chat, fim, generation, reasoning, responses, structured_outputs, tools, vision | chat, generation, tools |
| Architecture design | Causal Encoder-Decoder (20 encoder + 20 decoder layers) | Unknown |
| Backbone parameters | 552000000000 parameters | Unknown |
| Active parameters during decode | 16000000000 parameters | Unknown |
| Active parameters during prefill | 8000000000 parameters | Unknown |
| Pre-training corpus | 45000000000000 tokens | Unknown |
| Reasoning effort range | 1–100 | Unknown |
| Routed experts per MoE layer | 384 experts | Unknown |
| Routed experts per token | 6 experts | Unknown |
| Transformer layers | 40 layers | Unknown |
DeepSeek V4.1 Flash Capabilities
Llama 3.1 405B Instruct Capabilities
Primary Evidence
Sources and Freshness
Questions
DeepSeek V4.1 Flash vs Llama 3.1 405B Instruct FAQs
Is DeepSeek V4.1 Flash or Llama 3.1 405B Instruct better for coding?+
This comparison does not currently contain a protocol-matched coding benchmark for both DeepSeek V4.1 Flash and Llama 3.1 405B Instruct, so Model Markets cannot name a coding leader from pricing, context size, or capability labels alone.
Which is cheaper, DeepSeek V4.1 Flash or Llama 3.1 405B Instruct?+
Only DeepSeek V4.1 Flash has a directly sourced input price: $0.15 per million tokens. Only DeepSeek V4.1 Flash has a directly sourced output price: $0.60 per million tokens.
Which has a larger context window, DeepSeek V4.1 Flash or Llama 3.1 405B Instruct?+
DeepSeek V4.1 Flash has the larger sourced context window. DeepSeek V4.1 Flash supports 1,049K and Llama 3.1 405B Instruct supports 131K.
Which performs better in benchmarks, DeepSeek V4.1 Flash or Llama 3.1 405B Instruct?+
There is no overall benchmark winner: At least two independently verified, protocol-matched benchmarks are required for an overall winner.
Can DeepSeek V4.1 Flash or Llama 3.1 405B Instruct be self-hosted?+
Both models have the same recorded self-hosting status: supported. DeepSeek V4.1 Flash is open weight; Llama 3.1 405B Instruct is open weight.
Can DeepSeek V4.1 Flash and Llama 3.1 405B Instruct understand images?+
DeepSeek V4.1 Flash is documented with image input; Llama 3.1 405B Instruct is not documented with image input. This reflects supported input modalities, not vision quality.
Which can generate longer answers, DeepSeek V4.1 Flash or Llama 3.1 405B Instruct?+
Neither has a larger sourced maximum output. DeepSeek V4.1 Flash is 393K and Llama 3.1 405B Instruct is —.
Do DeepSeek V4.1 Flash and Llama 3.1 405B Instruct support reasoning and tool use?+
DeepSeek V4.1 Flash: reasoning, tool calling, and image input. Llama 3.1 405B Instruct: tool calling. Feature support does not establish relative quality.
Which is available from more inference providers, DeepSeek V4.1 Flash or Llama 3.1 405B Instruct?+
DeepSeek V4.1 Flash has 3 sourced provider routes; Llama 3.1 405B Instruct has 1, so DeepSeek V4.1 Flash has broader tracked availability.
Which offers better value, DeepSeek V4.1 Flash or Llama 3.1 405B Instruct?+
There is no universal value winner. Compare the input and output prices above with the matched benchmark result for your workload: cheaper tokens can be offset by different quality, token usage, latency, or provider availability.