Llama 3.1 405B Instruct vs Qwen3.8 Max
At a Glance
| Compare | Qwen3.8 MaxQwen | |
|---|---|---|
| Intelligence, Cost, and Efficiency | ||
| IntelligenceHigher is better · MM Intelligence v2.5 | UnrankedNot in the 46-model eligible cohort | #10 of 4679.2 score · 2/3 sources · provisional · missing ARC-AGI-2 · full-core range 52.8–86.1 |
| CostLower is better · Published-token output estimate | UnrankedNot in the 44-model eligible cohort | #23 of 44$0.107 per LiveBench case |
| EfficiencyHigher is better · MM Efficiency v1.5 | UnrankedNot in the 38-model eligible cohort | #6 of 3863.2 score · 2/3 sources · provisional · missing ARC-AGI-2 · full-core range 50.0–66.7 |
| Pricing and Limits | ||
| Input priceFrom · USD / 1M tokens | Not reported | $1.65Deepinfra ↗ · Sep 22, 2026 |
| Output priceFrom · USD / 1M tokens | Not reported | $4.951Deepinfra ↗ · Sep 22, 2026 |
| Context windowMaximum documented tokens | 131K | 1,000K |
| Model facts checked | Aug 28, 2026View model evidence → | Aug 29, 2026View model evidence → |
Token prices are the lowest available sourced USD rates; input and output may use different providers. Cost ranking estimates output spend on LiveBench, not a full request bill. Ranking methodology →
Available Benchmarks
Side-by-Side Facts
| Field | Llama-3.1-405B-Instruct | Qwen3.8-Max |
|---|---|---|
| Developer | Meta | Qwen |
| Family | Llama 3 1 405b Instruct | Qwen3 8 Max |
| Model | Llama-3.1-405B-Instruct | Qwen3.8-Max |
| Version | Llama-3.1-405B-Instruct | Qwen3.8-Max |
| Lifecycle | active | active |
| Released | 2024-07-23 | Unknown |
| Knowledge cutoff | Unknown | Unknown |
| Input modalities | Text | Text, Image, Video |
| Output modalities | Text | Text |
| Context window | 131K | 1,000K |
| Total parameters | 405.9B | 2.4T |
| Active parameters | Unknown | Unknown |
| License | llama3.1 | Unknown |
| Open weights | Yes | No |
| API available | Yes | Yes |
| Self-hostable | Yes | No |
| Provider access | Together Ai (Standard) | Alibaba Cloud Model Studio (Standard), Deepinfra (Standard), Fireworks Ai (Standard), Openrouter (Standard) |
| Capabilities | chat, generation, tools | agents, chat, reasoning, structured_outputs, tools, vision |
Llama 3.1 405B Instruct Capabilities
Qwen3.8 Max Capabilities
Primary Evidence
Sources and Freshness
Questions
Llama 3.1 405B Instruct vs Qwen3.8 Max FAQs
Is Llama 3.1 405B Instruct or Qwen3.8 Max better for coding?+
This comparison does not currently contain a protocol-matched coding benchmark for both Llama 3.1 405B Instruct and Qwen3.8 Max, so Model Markets cannot name a coding leader from pricing, context size, or capability labels alone.
Which is cheaper, Llama 3.1 405B Instruct or Qwen3.8 Max?+
Only Qwen3.8 Max has a directly sourced input price: $1.65 per million tokens. Only Qwen3.8 Max has a directly sourced output price: $4.951 per million tokens.
Which has a larger context window, Llama 3.1 405B Instruct or Qwen3.8 Max?+
Qwen3.8 Max has the larger sourced context window. Llama 3.1 405B Instruct supports 131K and Qwen3.8 Max supports 1,000K.
Which performs better in benchmarks, Llama 3.1 405B Instruct or Qwen3.8 Max?+
There is no overall benchmark winner: At least two independently verified, protocol-matched benchmarks are required for an overall winner.
Can Llama 3.1 405B Instruct or Qwen3.8 Max be self-hosted?+
Llama 3.1 405B Instruct is the only model in this pair currently marked as self-hostable. Llama 3.1 405B Instruct is open weight; Qwen3.8 Max is not marked open weight.
Can Llama 3.1 405B Instruct and Qwen3.8 Max understand images?+
Llama 3.1 405B Instruct is not documented with image input; Qwen3.8 Max is documented with image input. This reflects supported input modalities, not vision quality.
Which can generate longer answers, Llama 3.1 405B Instruct or Qwen3.8 Max?+
Neither has a larger sourced maximum output. Llama 3.1 405B Instruct is — and Qwen3.8 Max is 131K.
Do Llama 3.1 405B Instruct and Qwen3.8 Max support reasoning and tool use?+
Llama 3.1 405B Instruct: tool calling. Qwen3.8 Max: reasoning, tool calling, and image input. Feature support does not establish relative quality.
Which is available from more inference providers, Llama 3.1 405B Instruct or Qwen3.8 Max?+
Llama 3.1 405B Instruct has 1 sourced provider route; Qwen3.8 Max has 4, so Qwen3.8 Max has broader tracked availability.
Which offers better value, Llama 3.1 405B Instruct or Qwen3.8 Max?+
There is no universal value winner. Compare the input and output prices above with the matched benchmark result for your workload: cheaper tokens can be offset by different quality, token usage, latency, or provider availability.