Granite Speech 5.0 TurboCTC vs Sonar Pro
At a Glance
| Compare | Sonar ProPerplexity | |
|---|---|---|
| Pricing and Limits | ||
| Input priceFrom · USD / 1M tokens | Not reported | $3.00Openrouter ↗ · Sep 22, 2026 |
| Output priceFrom · USD / 1M tokens | Not reported | $15.00Openrouter ↗ · Sep 22, 2026 |
| Context windowMaximum documented tokens | Not reported | 200K |
| Model facts checked | Sep 2, 2026View model evidence → | Aug 29, 2026View model evidence → |
Token prices are the lowest available sourced USD rates; input and output may use different providers. Cost ranking estimates output spend on LiveBench, not a full request bill. Ranking methodology →
Available Benchmarks
Side-by-Side Facts
| Field | Granite Speech 5.0 TurboCTC | Sonar Pro |
|---|---|---|
| Developer | IBM | Perplexity |
| Family | Granite Speech 5 0 | Sonar |
| Model | Granite Speech 5.0 TurboCTC | Sonar Pro |
| Version | Granite Speech 5.0 TurboCTC | Sonar Pro |
| Lifecycle | active | active |
| Released | 2026-08-25 | Unknown |
| Knowledge cutoff | Unknown | Unknown |
| Input modalities | Audio | Text |
| Output modalities | Text | Text |
| Context window | Unknown | 200K |
| Total parameters | 473M | Unknown |
| Active parameters | Unknown | Unknown |
| License | apache-2.0 | Unknown |
| Open weights | Yes | No |
| API available | No | Yes |
| Self-hostable | Yes | No |
| Provider access | Unknown | Openrouter (Standard), Perplexity (Standard) |
| Capabilities | automatic-speech-recognition, transcription | chat, citations, search |
Granite Speech 5.0 TurboCTC Capabilities
Sonar Pro Capabilities
Primary Evidence
Sources and Freshness
Questions
Granite Speech 5.0 TurboCTC vs Sonar Pro FAQs
Is Granite Speech 5.0 TurboCTC or Sonar Pro better for coding?+
This comparison does not currently contain a protocol-matched coding benchmark for both Granite Speech 5.0 TurboCTC and Sonar Pro, so Model Markets cannot name a coding leader from pricing, context size, or capability labels alone.
Which is cheaper, Granite Speech 5.0 TurboCTC or Sonar Pro?+
Only Sonar Pro has a directly sourced input price: $3.00 per million tokens. Only Sonar Pro has a directly sourced output price: $15.00 per million tokens.
Which has a larger context window, Granite Speech 5.0 TurboCTC or Sonar Pro?+
Neither model has a larger sourced context window in this comparison. Granite Speech 5.0 TurboCTC is — and Sonar Pro is 200K.
Which performs better in benchmarks, Granite Speech 5.0 TurboCTC or Sonar Pro?+
There is no overall benchmark winner: At least two independently verified, protocol-matched benchmarks are required for an overall winner.
Can Granite Speech 5.0 TurboCTC or Sonar Pro be self-hosted?+
Granite Speech 5.0 TurboCTC is the only model in this pair currently marked as self-hostable. Granite Speech 5.0 TurboCTC is open weight; Sonar Pro is not marked open weight.
Can Granite Speech 5.0 TurboCTC and Sonar Pro understand images?+
Granite Speech 5.0 TurboCTC is not documented with image input; Sonar Pro is not documented with image input. This reflects supported input modalities, not vision quality.
Which can generate longer answers, Granite Speech 5.0 TurboCTC or Sonar Pro?+
Neither has a larger sourced maximum output. Granite Speech 5.0 TurboCTC is — and Sonar Pro is —.
Do Granite Speech 5.0 TurboCTC and Sonar Pro support reasoning and tool use?+
Granite Speech 5.0 TurboCTC: none of these features are definitively sourced. Sonar Pro: none of these features are definitively sourced. Feature support does not establish relative quality.
Which is available from more inference providers, Granite Speech 5.0 TurboCTC or Sonar Pro?+
Granite Speech 5.0 TurboCTC has 0 sourced provider routes; Sonar Pro has 2, so Sonar Pro has broader tracked availability.
Which offers better value, Granite Speech 5.0 TurboCTC or Sonar Pro?+
There is no universal value winner. Compare the input and output prices above with the matched benchmark result for your workload: cheaper tokens can be offset by different quality, token usage, latency, or provider availability.