gpt-oss-20b vs Bonsai 27B
At a Glance
| Compare | gpt-oss-20bOpenAI | Bonsai 27BPrismML |
|---|---|---|
| Pricing and Limits | ||
| Input priceFrom · USD / 1M tokens | $0.030Deepinfra ↗ · Sep 21, 2026 | Not reported |
| Output priceFrom · USD / 1M tokens | $0.13Openrouter ↗ · Sep 22, 2026 | Not reported |
| Context windowMaximum documented tokens | 131K | 262K |
| Model facts checked | Aug 28, 2026View model evidence → | Sep 18, 2026View model evidence → |
Token prices are the lowest available sourced USD rates; input and output may use different providers. Cost ranking estimates output spend on LiveBench, not a full request bill. Ranking methodology →
Available Benchmarks
Side-by-Side Facts
| Field | gpt-oss-20b | Bonsai 27B |
|---|---|---|
| Developer | OpenAI | PrismML |
| Family | Gpt Oss | Bonsai 27b |
| Model | gpt-oss-20b | Bonsai 27B |
| Version | gpt-oss-20b | Bonsai 27B |
| Lifecycle | active | active |
| Released | Unknown | 2026-07-04 |
| Knowledge cutoff | Unknown | Unknown |
| Input modalities | Text | Text, Image |
| Output modalities | Text | Text |
| Context window | 131K | 262K |
| Total parameters | 20.9B | 27B |
| Active parameters | 3.6B | Unknown |
| License | apache-2.0 | apache-2.0 |
| Open weights | Yes | Yes |
| API available | Yes | No |
| Self-hostable | Yes | Yes |
| Provider access | Deepinfra (Standard), Groq (Standard), Hugging Face (Standard), Openrouter (Standard), Together Ai (Serverless, Standard) | Unknown |
| Capabilities | chat, generation, reasoning, tools | chat, generation, reasoning, tools, vision |
| Base model | Unknown | Qwen3.6 27B |
| Effective bit width | Unknown | 1 bit per weight |
| Language model size | Unknown | 3.53 GiB |
| Weight format | Unknown | Binary Q1_0 |
gpt-oss-20b Capabilities
Bonsai 27B Capabilities
Primary Evidence
Sources and Freshness
Questions
gpt-oss-20b vs Bonsai 27B FAQs
Is gpt-oss-20b or Bonsai 27B better for coding?+
This comparison does not currently contain a protocol-matched coding benchmark for both gpt-oss-20b and Bonsai 27B, so Model Markets cannot name a coding leader from pricing, context size, or capability labels alone.
Which is cheaper, gpt-oss-20b or Bonsai 27B?+
Only gpt-oss-20b has a directly sourced input price: $0.030 per million tokens. Only gpt-oss-20b has a directly sourced output price: $0.13 per million tokens.
Which has a larger context window, gpt-oss-20b or Bonsai 27B?+
Bonsai 27B has the larger sourced context window. gpt-oss-20b supports 131K and Bonsai 27B supports 262K.
Which performs better in benchmarks, gpt-oss-20b or Bonsai 27B?+
There is no overall benchmark winner: At least two independently verified, protocol-matched benchmarks are required for an overall winner.
Can gpt-oss-20b or Bonsai 27B be self-hosted?+
Both models have the same recorded self-hosting status: supported. gpt-oss-20b is open weight; Bonsai 27B is open weight.
Can gpt-oss-20b and Bonsai 27B understand images?+
gpt-oss-20b is not documented with image input; Bonsai 27B is documented with image input. This reflects supported input modalities, not vision quality.
Which can generate longer answers, gpt-oss-20b or Bonsai 27B?+
Neither has a larger sourced maximum output. gpt-oss-20b is — and Bonsai 27B is —.
Do gpt-oss-20b and Bonsai 27B support reasoning and tool use?+
gpt-oss-20b: reasoning and tool calling. Bonsai 27B: reasoning, tool calling, and image input. Feature support does not establish relative quality.
Which is available from more inference providers, gpt-oss-20b or Bonsai 27B?+
gpt-oss-20b has 5 sourced provider routes; Bonsai 27B has 0, so gpt-oss-20b has broader tracked availability.
Which offers better value, gpt-oss-20b or Bonsai 27B?+
There is no universal value winner. Compare the input and output prices above with the matched benchmark result for your workload: cheaper tokens can be offset by different quality, token usage, latency, or provider availability.