Seed 2.1 Pro vs gpt-oss-20b

At a Glance

Compare
Seed 2.1 ProByteDance Seed
Pricing and Limits
Input priceFrom · USD / 1M tokensNot reported$0.030Deepinfra · Sep 21, 2026
Output priceFrom · USD / 1M tokensNot reported$0.13Openrouter · Sep 22, 2026
Context windowMaximum documented tokensNot reported131K
Model facts checkedSep 3, 2026View model evidence →Aug 28, 2026View model evidence →

Token prices are the lowest available sourced USD rates; input and output may use different providers. Cost ranking estimates output spend on LiveBench, not a full request bill. Ranking methodology →

Available Benchmarks

All benchmark results →
No Protocol-Matched Benchmark Yet.Results appear here only when both models share the same benchmark version, metric, evaluation protocol, and evidence class.

Side-by-Side Facts

FieldSeed 2.1 Progpt-oss-20b
DeveloperByteDance SeedOpenAI
FamilySeed 2 1Gpt Oss
ModelSeed 2.1 Progpt-oss-20b
VersionSeed 2.1 Progpt-oss-20b
Lifecycleactiveactive
Released2026-06-23Unknown
Knowledge cutoffUnknownUnknown
Input modalitiesText, Image, VideoText
Output modalitiesTextText
Context windowUnknown131K
Total parametersUnknown20.9B
Active parametersUnknown3.6B
LicenseUnknownapache-2.0
Open weightsNoYes
API availableYesYes
Self-hostableNoYes
Provider accessUnknownDeepinfra (Standard), Groq (Standard), Hugging Face (Standard), Openrouter (Standard), Together Ai (Serverless, Standard)
Capabilitiesagents, chat, computer-use, generation, reasoning, structured_outputs, toolschat, generation, reasoning, tools

Seed 2.1 Pro Capabilities

agentschatcomputer-usegenerationreasoningstructured outputstools
Serving providers0
Canonical IDbytedance-seed/seed-2.1-pro

gpt-oss-20b Capabilities

chatgenerationreasoningtools
Serving providers5
Canonical IDopenai/gpt-oss-20b

Primary Evidence

Sources and Freshness

Questions

Seed 2.1 Pro vs gpt-oss-20b FAQs

Is Seed 2.1 Pro or gpt-oss-20b better for coding?+

This comparison does not currently contain a protocol-matched coding benchmark for both Seed 2.1 Pro and gpt-oss-20b, so Model Markets cannot name a coding leader from pricing, context size, or capability labels alone.

Which is cheaper, Seed 2.1 Pro or gpt-oss-20b?+

Only gpt-oss-20b has a directly sourced input price: $0.030 per million tokens. Only gpt-oss-20b has a directly sourced output price: $0.13 per million tokens.

Which has a larger context window, Seed 2.1 Pro or gpt-oss-20b?+

Neither model has a larger sourced context window in this comparison. Seed 2.1 Pro is — and gpt-oss-20b is 131K.

Which performs better in benchmarks, Seed 2.1 Pro or gpt-oss-20b?+

There is no overall benchmark winner: At least two independently verified, protocol-matched benchmarks are required for an overall winner.

Can Seed 2.1 Pro or gpt-oss-20b be self-hosted?+

gpt-oss-20b is the only model in this pair currently marked as self-hostable. Seed 2.1 Pro is not marked open weight; gpt-oss-20b is open weight.

Can Seed 2.1 Pro and gpt-oss-20b understand images?+

Seed 2.1 Pro is documented with image input; gpt-oss-20b is not documented with image input. This reflects supported input modalities, not vision quality.

Which can generate longer answers, Seed 2.1 Pro or gpt-oss-20b?+

Neither has a larger sourced maximum output. Seed 2.1 Pro is — and gpt-oss-20b is —.

Do Seed 2.1 Pro and gpt-oss-20b support reasoning and tool use?+

Seed 2.1 Pro: reasoning, tool calling, and image input. gpt-oss-20b: reasoning and tool calling. Feature support does not establish relative quality.

Which is available from more inference providers, Seed 2.1 Pro or gpt-oss-20b?+

Seed 2.1 Pro has 0 sourced provider routes; gpt-oss-20b has 5, so gpt-oss-20b has broader tracked availability.

Which offers better value, Seed 2.1 Pro or gpt-oss-20b?+

There is no universal value winner. Compare the input and output prices above with the matched benchmark result for your workload: cheaper tokens can be offset by different quality, token usage, latency, or provider availability.

Send Feedback