OptimusTesla source ↗Robot Comparison · Interactive
Optimus vs G1
A symmetrical comparison using normalized manufacturer-reported specifications. Green highlights mark the stronger value only where the specification has a defensible direction.
OptimusTesla source ↗
G1Unitree Robotics source ↗Technical Differences
Side-by-Side Specifications
| Field | Optimus | G1 |
|---|---|---|
| Manufacturer | Tesla | Unitree Robotics |
| Version | Unknown | G1 base |
| Form factor | Humanoid | Humanoid |
| Availability | Prototype | Commercially available |
| Primary use | General-purpose physical work | Humanoid research and development |
| Starting price | Unknown | 13500 |
| Price qualifier | Not commercially available | Base price; tax and shipping excluded |
| Height (m) | Unknown | 1.32 |
| Weight (kg) | Unknown | 35 |
| Payload (kg) | Unknown | 2 |
| Runtime (hours) | Unknown | 2 |
| Maximum speed (m/s) | Unknown | Unknown |
| Degrees of freedom | Unknown | 23 |
| Reach (m) | Unknown | Unknown |
| Battery | Not disclosed | 9,000 mAh quick-release lithium battery |
| Sensors | vision-based perception | depth camera, 3D LiDAR, four-microphone array |
| Onboard compute | Tesla AI inference hardware; specifications not disclosed | 8-core CPU; optional high-compute modules on EDU |
| Software | Tesla neural networks | OTA updates, EDU secondary-development interface |
| Safety | Unknown | manufacturer warns users to maintain a safe distance |
| Control modes | autonomous | manual controller, imitation learning, reinforcement learning |
| Target applications | general-purpose manipulation, repetitive physical work | research, education, embodied AI |
11 comparable fields · 10 material differences · Interactive comparison only; editorial indexing gate not met
Optimus Positioning
G1 Positioning
Primary Evidence
Manufacturer Sources and Freshness
Browse every robotics model, robot platform, and curated comparison →
Questions
Optimus vs G1 FAQs
Which is better, Optimus or G1?+
There is no defensible overall robot winner without a target task and environment. Compare form factor, availability, payload, runtime, speed, sensing, control, safety, and price; green highlights apply only to specifications with an explicit direction.
Which can carry more, Optimus or G1?+
A direct answer is unavailable because Optimus does not publish a normalized payload (kg) in the current source.
Which runs longer, Optimus or G1?+
A direct answer is unavailable because Optimus does not publish a normalized runtime (hours) in the current source.
Which is faster, Optimus or G1?+
A direct answer is unavailable because Optimus does not publish a normalized maximum speed (m/s) in the current source.
Which costs less, Optimus or G1?+
A normalized price comparison is unavailable. Optimus: Not commercially available. G1: Base price; tax and shipping excluded.
Can I buy Optimus or G1 today?+
Optimus is recorded as prototype (Tesla presents Optimus as an active robotics development program; no public purchase channel is cited.); G1 is commercially available (The manufacturer publishes a base price; secondary development is reserved for the EDU configuration.). Availability can be regional or customer-specific.
What are Optimus and G1 designed to do?+
Optimus: General-purpose physical work. G1: Humanoid research and development.
What sensors do Optimus and G1 use?+
Optimus: vision-based perception. G1: depth camera, 3D LiDAR, four-microphone array.
What software and control options do Optimus and G1 support?+
Optimus: Tesla neural networks. G1: OTA updates, EDU secondary-development interface. Optimus: autonomous. G1: manual controller, imitation learning, reinforcement learning.
Are Optimus and G1 the same type of robot?+
Yes. Both are categorized as humanoid platforms, though their intended use and specifications may differ.