TeslaOptimus
Tesla's in-development general-purpose autonomous bipedal robot.
- Availability
- Prototype
- Form factor
- Humanoid
- Starting price
- Not commercially available
- Announced
- Not reported
Publisher Media
Optimus in Action
Normalized Manufacturer Data
Specifications
| Height | Unknown |
| Weight | Unknown |
| Payload | Unknown |
| Runtime | Unknown |
| Version | Unknown |
| Primary use | General-purpose physical work |
| Availability detail | Tesla presents Optimus as an active robotics development program; no public purchase channel is cited. |
| Starting price | Not commercially available |
| Degrees of freedom | Unknown |
| Maximum speed | Unknown |
| Reach | Unknown |
| Battery | Not disclosed |
| Onboard compute | Tesla AI inference hardware; specifications not disclosed |
| Sensors | vision-based perception |
| Software | Tesla neural networks |
| Safety | Not reported |
| Control modes | autonomous |
Payload note: Not disclosed on the cited Tesla page.
Embodied Intelligence
Linked Robotics Models
Evidence Policy
Specifications are manufacturer-reported unless a field explicitly records a derivation. Missing values stay unknown; they are not estimated from secondary sources.
Observed Aug 29, 2026 · updated Oct 15, 2026
Questions
Tesla Optimus FAQs
What is the Tesla Optimus?+
Tesla's in-development general-purpose autonomous bipedal robot. It is classified as a humanoid platform whose reported primary use is General-purpose physical work.
Can I buy the Optimus today?+
Tesla Optimus is recorded as prototype: Tesla presents Optimus as an active robotics development program; no public purchase channel is cited.. Availability can be regional, limited to selected customers, or different from the announcement status.
How much does the Optimus cost?+
The normalized starting-price record is Not commercially available. This is the manufacturer's cited price or qualifier, not a delivered-cost estimate, and may exclude options, support, shipping, or regional terms.
What are the Optimus's key physical specifications?+
The current source reports height not reported, weight not reported, payload not reported, runtime not reported, and maximum speed not reported. Unknown values remain unestimated.
What sensors and software does the Optimus use?+
Reported sensors are vision-based perception. Reported software is Tesla neural networks, and control modes are autonomous.
Which AI models work with the Optimus?+
No specific robotics foundation model is tied to Tesla Optimus in the current primary-source baseline. A general capability claim is not treated as a verified platform integration.
How current are the Optimus specifications?+
The platform record was last verified Aug 29, 2026 from Tesla's source, “Tesla AI and Robotics.” Manufacturer-reported values remain separate from any future independent measurements.
How can I compare the Optimus with other robots?+
Use the robot comparisons to inspect form factor, availability, payload, runtime, speed, sensing, control, safety, and price side by side. A comparison does not declare an overall winner without a target task and environment. Browse robot comparisons →
