Claude Sonnet 4.6 vs Stable Diffusion 3.5 Large
At a Glance
| Compare | Claude Sonnet 4.6Anthropic | Stable Diffusion 3.5 LargeStability AI |
|---|---|---|
| Intelligence, Cost, and Efficiency | ||
| IntelligenceHigher is better · MM Intelligence v2.5 | #24 of 4660.3 score · 3/3 sources · complete | UnrankedNot in the 46-model eligible cohort |
| CostLower is better · Published-token output estimate | #31 of 44$0.198 per LiveBench case | UnrankedNot in the 44-model eligible cohort |
| EfficiencyHigher is better · MM Efficiency v1.5 | #31 of 3847.3 score · 3/3 sources · complete | UnrankedNot in the 38-model eligible cohort |
| Pricing and Limits | ||
| Input priceFrom · USD / 1M tokens | $3.00Anthropic ↗ · Sep 3, 2026 | Not reported |
| Output priceFrom · USD / 1M tokens | $15.00Anthropic ↗ · Sep 3, 2026 | Not reported |
| Context windowMaximum documented tokens | 1,000K | 0K |
| Model facts checked | Sep 3, 2026View model evidence → | Aug 28, 2026View model evidence → |
Token prices are the lowest available sourced USD rates; input and output may use different providers. Cost ranking estimates output spend on LiveBench, not a full request bill. Ranking methodology →
Available Benchmarks
Side-by-Side Facts
| Field | Claude Sonnet 4.6 | stable-diffusion-3.5-large |
|---|---|---|
| Developer | Anthropic | Stability AI |
| Family | Claude 4 | Stable Diffusion 3 5 Large |
| Model | Claude Sonnet 4.6 | stable-diffusion-3.5-large |
| Version | Claude Sonnet 4.6 | stable-diffusion-3.5-large |
| Lifecycle | active | active |
| Released | 2026-02-17 | 2024-10-22 |
| Knowledge cutoff | 2025-08-01 | Unknown |
| Input modalities | Text, Image | Text |
| Output modalities | Text | Image |
| Context window | 1,000K | 0K |
| Total parameters | Unknown | 8.1B |
| Active parameters | Unknown | Unknown |
| License | Unknown | other |
| Open weights | No | Yes |
| API available | Yes | Yes |
| Self-hostable | No | Yes |
| Provider access | Anthropic (Standard), Deepinfra (Standard) | Hugging Face (Standard), Stability AI (Pay as you go) |
| Capabilities | chat, generation, reasoning, structured_outputs, tools | generation |
Claude Sonnet 4.6 Capabilities
Stable Diffusion 3.5 Large Capabilities
Primary Evidence
Sources and Freshness
Questions
Claude Sonnet 4.6 vs Stable Diffusion 3.5 Large FAQs
Is Claude Sonnet 4.6 or Stable Diffusion 3.5 Large better for coding?+
This comparison does not currently contain a protocol-matched coding benchmark for both Claude Sonnet 4.6 and Stable Diffusion 3.5 Large, so Model Markets cannot name a coding leader from pricing, context size, or capability labels alone.
Which is cheaper, Claude Sonnet 4.6 or Stable Diffusion 3.5 Large?+
Only Claude Sonnet 4.6 has a directly sourced input price: $3.00 per million tokens. Only Claude Sonnet 4.6 has a directly sourced output price: $15.00 per million tokens.
Which has a larger context window, Claude Sonnet 4.6 or Stable Diffusion 3.5 Large?+
Claude Sonnet 4.6 has the larger sourced context window. Claude Sonnet 4.6 supports 1,000K and Stable Diffusion 3.5 Large supports 0K.
Which performs better in benchmarks, Claude Sonnet 4.6 or Stable Diffusion 3.5 Large?+
There is no overall benchmark winner: At least two independently verified, protocol-matched benchmarks are required for an overall winner.
Can Claude Sonnet 4.6 or Stable Diffusion 3.5 Large be self-hosted?+
Stable Diffusion 3.5 Large is the only model in this pair currently marked as self-hostable. Claude Sonnet 4.6 is not marked open weight; Stable Diffusion 3.5 Large is open weight.
Can Claude Sonnet 4.6 and Stable Diffusion 3.5 Large understand images?+
Claude Sonnet 4.6 is documented with image input; Stable Diffusion 3.5 Large is not documented with image input. This reflects supported input modalities, not vision quality.
Which can generate longer answers, Claude Sonnet 4.6 or Stable Diffusion 3.5 Large?+
Neither has a larger sourced maximum output. Claude Sonnet 4.6 is 128K and Stable Diffusion 3.5 Large is —.
Do Claude Sonnet 4.6 and Stable Diffusion 3.5 Large support reasoning and tool use?+
Claude Sonnet 4.6: reasoning, tool calling, and image input. Stable Diffusion 3.5 Large: none of these features are definitively sourced. Feature support does not establish relative quality.
Which is available from more inference providers, Claude Sonnet 4.6 or Stable Diffusion 3.5 Large?+
Claude Sonnet 4.6 has 2 sourced provider routes; Stable Diffusion 3.5 Large has 2, a tie.
Which offers better value, Claude Sonnet 4.6 or Stable Diffusion 3.5 Large?+
There is no universal value winner. Compare the input and output prices above with the matched benchmark result for your workload: cheaper tokens can be offset by different quality, token usage, latency, or provider availability.