Seed 2.0 Mini vs Llama 3.1 405B
At a Glance
| Compare | Seed 2.0 MiniByteDance Seed | Llama 3.1 405BMeta |
|---|---|---|
| Pricing and Limits | ||
| Input priceFrom · USD / 1M tokens | $0.10Openrouter ↗ · Sep 22, 2026 | Not reported |
| Output priceFrom · USD / 1M tokens | $0.40Openrouter ↗ · Sep 22, 2026 | Not reported |
| Context windowMaximum documented tokens | Not reported | 131K |
| Model facts checked | Sep 3, 2026View model evidence → | Aug 28, 2026View model evidence → |
Token prices are the lowest available sourced USD rates; input and output may use different providers. Cost ranking estimates output spend on LiveBench, not a full request bill. Ranking methodology →
Available Benchmarks
Side-by-Side Facts
| Field | Seed 2.0 Mini | Llama-3.1-405B |
|---|---|---|
| Developer | ByteDance Seed | Meta |
| Family | Seed 2 0 | Llama 3 1 405b |
| Model | Seed 2.0 Mini | Llama-3.1-405B |
| Version | Seed 2.0 Mini | Llama-3.1-405B |
| Lifecycle | active | active |
| Released | 2026-02-14 | 2024-07-23 |
| Knowledge cutoff | Unknown | Unknown |
| Input modalities | Text, Image, Video | Text |
| Output modalities | Text | Text |
| Context window | Unknown | 131K |
| Total parameters | Unknown | 405.9B |
| Active parameters | Unknown | Unknown |
| License | Unknown | llama3.1 |
| Open weights | No | Yes |
| API available | Yes | Yes |
| Self-hostable | No | Yes |
| Provider access | Openrouter (Standard) | Together Ai (Standard) |
| Capabilities | agents, chat, generation, reasoning, structured_outputs, tools | generation |
Seed 2.0 Mini Capabilities
Llama 3.1 405B Capabilities
Primary Evidence
Sources and Freshness
Questions
Seed 2.0 Mini vs Llama 3.1 405B FAQs
Is Seed 2.0 Mini or Llama 3.1 405B better for coding?+
This comparison does not currently contain a protocol-matched coding benchmark for both Seed 2.0 Mini and Llama 3.1 405B, so Model Markets cannot name a coding leader from pricing, context size, or capability labels alone.
Which is cheaper, Seed 2.0 Mini or Llama 3.1 405B?+
Only Seed 2.0 Mini has a directly sourced input price: $0.10 per million tokens. Only Seed 2.0 Mini has a directly sourced output price: $0.40 per million tokens.
Which has a larger context window, Seed 2.0 Mini or Llama 3.1 405B?+
Neither model has a larger sourced context window in this comparison. Seed 2.0 Mini is — and Llama 3.1 405B is 131K.
Which performs better in benchmarks, Seed 2.0 Mini or Llama 3.1 405B?+
There is no overall benchmark winner: At least two independently verified, protocol-matched benchmarks are required for an overall winner.
Can Seed 2.0 Mini or Llama 3.1 405B be self-hosted?+
Llama 3.1 405B is the only model in this pair currently marked as self-hostable. Seed 2.0 Mini is not marked open weight; Llama 3.1 405B is open weight.
Can Seed 2.0 Mini and Llama 3.1 405B understand images?+
Seed 2.0 Mini is documented with image input; Llama 3.1 405B is not documented with image input. This reflects supported input modalities, not vision quality.
Which can generate longer answers, Seed 2.0 Mini or Llama 3.1 405B?+
Neither has a larger sourced maximum output. Seed 2.0 Mini is — and Llama 3.1 405B is —.
Do Seed 2.0 Mini and Llama 3.1 405B support reasoning and tool use?+
Seed 2.0 Mini: reasoning, tool calling, and image input. Llama 3.1 405B: none of these features are definitively sourced. Feature support does not establish relative quality.
Which is available from more inference providers, Seed 2.0 Mini or Llama 3.1 405B?+
Seed 2.0 Mini has 1 sourced provider route; Llama 3.1 405B has 1, a tie.
Which offers better value, Seed 2.0 Mini or Llama 3.1 405B?+
There is no universal value winner. Compare the input and output prices above with the matched benchmark result for your workload: cheaper tokens can be offset by different quality, token usage, latency, or provider availability.