Pixtral Large vs Sonar Reasoning Pro
At a Glance
| Compare | Pixtral LargeMistral AI | Sonar Reasoning ProPerplexity |
|---|---|---|
| Pricing and Limits | ||
| Input priceFrom · USD / 1M tokens | Not reported | $2.00Openrouter ↗ · Sep 22, 2026 |
| Output priceFrom · USD / 1M tokens | Not reported | $8.00Openrouter ↗ · Sep 22, 2026 |
| Context windowMaximum documented tokens | 131K | 128K |
| Model facts checked | Aug 29, 2026View model evidence → | Aug 29, 2026View model evidence → |
Token prices are the lowest available sourced USD rates; input and output may use different providers. Cost ranking estimates output spend on LiveBench, not a full request bill. Ranking methodology →
Available Benchmarks
Side-by-Side Facts
| Field | Pixtral Large | Sonar Reasoning Pro |
|---|---|---|
| Developer | Mistral AI | Perplexity |
| Family | Pixtral Large | Sonar |
| Model | Pixtral Large | Sonar Reasoning Pro |
| Version | Pixtral Large | Sonar Reasoning Pro |
| Lifecycle | deprecated | active |
| Released | 2024-11-18 | Unknown |
| Knowledge cutoff | Unknown | Unknown |
| Input modalities | Text, Image, Document | Text |
| Output modalities | Text | Text |
| Context window | 131K | 128K |
| Total parameters | Unknown | Unknown |
| Active parameters | Unknown | Unknown |
| License | Unknown | Unknown |
| Open weights | No | No |
| API available | No | Yes |
| Self-hostable | No | No |
| Provider access | Unknown | Openrouter (Standard), Perplexity (Standard) |
| Capabilities | chat, generation, structured_outputs, tools, vision | chat, citations, reasoning, search |
Pixtral Large Capabilities
Sonar Reasoning Pro Capabilities
Primary Evidence
Sources and Freshness
Questions
Pixtral Large vs Sonar Reasoning Pro FAQs
Is Pixtral Large or Sonar Reasoning Pro better for coding?+
This comparison does not currently contain a protocol-matched coding benchmark for both Pixtral Large and Sonar Reasoning Pro, so Model Markets cannot name a coding leader from pricing, context size, or capability labels alone.
Which is cheaper, Pixtral Large or Sonar Reasoning Pro?+
Only Sonar Reasoning Pro has a directly sourced input price: $2.00 per million tokens. Only Sonar Reasoning Pro has a directly sourced output price: $8.00 per million tokens.
Which has a larger context window, Pixtral Large or Sonar Reasoning Pro?+
Pixtral Large has the larger sourced context window. Pixtral Large supports 131K and Sonar Reasoning Pro supports 128K.
Which performs better in benchmarks, Pixtral Large or Sonar Reasoning Pro?+
There is no overall benchmark winner: At least two independently verified, protocol-matched benchmarks are required for an overall winner.
Can Pixtral Large or Sonar Reasoning Pro be self-hosted?+
Both models have the same recorded self-hosting status: unsupported. Pixtral Large is not marked open weight; Sonar Reasoning Pro is not marked open weight.
Can Pixtral Large and Sonar Reasoning Pro understand images?+
Pixtral Large is documented with image input; Sonar Reasoning Pro is not documented with image input. This reflects supported input modalities, not vision quality.
Which can generate longer answers, Pixtral Large or Sonar Reasoning Pro?+
Neither has a larger sourced maximum output. Pixtral Large is — and Sonar Reasoning Pro is —.
Do Pixtral Large and Sonar Reasoning Pro support reasoning and tool use?+
Pixtral Large: tool calling and image input. Sonar Reasoning Pro: reasoning. Feature support does not establish relative quality.
Which is available from more inference providers, Pixtral Large or Sonar Reasoning Pro?+
Pixtral Large has 0 sourced provider routes; Sonar Reasoning Pro has 2, so Sonar Reasoning Pro has broader tracked availability.
Which offers better value, Pixtral Large or Sonar Reasoning Pro?+
There is no universal value winner. Compare the input and output prices above with the matched benchmark result for your workload: cheaper tokens can be offset by different quality, token usage, latency, or provider availability.