Phi-4 Multimodal Instruct vs Grok 4.20 Multi Agent
At a Glance
| Compare | Phi-4 Multimodal InstructMicrosoft | |
|---|---|---|
| Intelligence, Cost, and Efficiency | ||
| IntelligenceHigher is better · MM Intelligence v2.5 | UnrankedNot in the 46-model eligible cohort | #22 of 4663.4 score · 2/3 sources · provisional · missing LiveBench · full-core range 42.3–75.6 |
| Pricing and Limits | ||
| Input priceFrom · USD / 1M tokens | Not reported | $1.25Xai ↗ · Sep 3, 2026 |
| Output priceFrom · USD / 1M tokens | Not reported | $2.50Xai ↗ · Sep 3, 2026 |
| Context windowMaximum documented tokens | 131K | 1,000K |
| Model facts checked | Aug 28, 2026View model evidence → | Aug 29, 2026View model evidence → |
Token prices are the lowest available sourced USD rates; input and output may use different providers. Cost ranking estimates output spend on LiveBench, not a full request bill. Ranking methodology →
Available Benchmarks
Side-by-Side Facts
| Field | Phi-4-multimodal-instruct | Grok 4.20 Multi-Agent |
|---|---|---|
| Developer | Microsoft | xAI |
| Family | Phi 4 Multimodal Instruct | Grok 4 20 |
| Model | Phi-4-multimodal-instruct | Grok 4.20 Multi-Agent |
| Version | Phi-4-multimodal-instruct | Grok 4.20 Multi-Agent |
| Lifecycle | active | preview |
| Released | 2025-02-26 | Unknown |
| Knowledge cutoff | Unknown | Unknown |
| Input modalities | Text, Image, Audio | Text, Image |
| Output modalities | Text | Text |
| Context window | 131K | 1,000K |
| Total parameters | 5.6B | Unknown |
| Active parameters | Unknown | Unknown |
| License | mit | Unknown |
| Open weights | Yes | No |
| API available | Unknown | Yes |
| Self-hostable | Yes | No |
| Provider access | Unknown | Xai (Standard) |
| Capabilities | chat, generation | generation, reasoning, research, tools |
Phi-4 Multimodal Instruct Capabilities
Grok 4.20 Multi Agent Capabilities
Primary Evidence
Sources and Freshness
Questions
Phi-4 Multimodal Instruct vs Grok 4.20 Multi Agent FAQs
Is Phi-4 Multimodal Instruct or Grok 4.20 Multi Agent better for coding?+
This comparison does not currently contain a protocol-matched coding benchmark for both Phi-4 Multimodal Instruct and Grok 4.20 Multi Agent, so Model Markets cannot name a coding leader from pricing, context size, or capability labels alone.
Which is cheaper, Phi-4 Multimodal Instruct or Grok 4.20 Multi Agent?+
Only Grok 4.20 Multi Agent has a directly sourced input price: $1.25 per million tokens. Only Grok 4.20 Multi Agent has a directly sourced output price: $2.50 per million tokens.
Which has a larger context window, Phi-4 Multimodal Instruct or Grok 4.20 Multi Agent?+
Grok 4.20 Multi Agent has the larger sourced context window. Phi-4 Multimodal Instruct supports 131K and Grok 4.20 Multi Agent supports 1,000K.
Which performs better in benchmarks, Phi-4 Multimodal Instruct or Grok 4.20 Multi Agent?+
There is no overall benchmark winner: At least two independently verified, protocol-matched benchmarks are required for an overall winner.
Can Phi-4 Multimodal Instruct or Grok 4.20 Multi Agent be self-hosted?+
Phi-4 Multimodal Instruct is the only model in this pair currently marked as self-hostable. Phi-4 Multimodal Instruct is open weight; Grok 4.20 Multi Agent is not marked open weight.
Can Phi-4 Multimodal Instruct and Grok 4.20 Multi Agent understand images?+
Phi-4 Multimodal Instruct is documented with image input; Grok 4.20 Multi Agent is documented with image input. This reflects supported input modalities, not vision quality.
Which can generate longer answers, Phi-4 Multimodal Instruct or Grok 4.20 Multi Agent?+
Neither has a larger sourced maximum output. Phi-4 Multimodal Instruct is — and Grok 4.20 Multi Agent is —.
Do Phi-4 Multimodal Instruct and Grok 4.20 Multi Agent support reasoning and tool use?+
Phi-4 Multimodal Instruct: image input. Grok 4.20 Multi Agent: reasoning, tool calling, and image input. Feature support does not establish relative quality.
Which is available from more inference providers, Phi-4 Multimodal Instruct or Grok 4.20 Multi Agent?+
Phi-4 Multimodal Instruct has 0 sourced provider routes; Grok 4.20 Multi Agent has 1, so Grok 4.20 Multi Agent has broader tracked availability.
Which offers better value, Phi-4 Multimodal Instruct or Grok 4.20 Multi Agent?+
There is no universal value winner. Compare the input and output prices above with the matched benchmark result for your workload: cheaper tokens can be offset by different quality, token usage, latency, or provider availability.