Claude Opus 4.6 vs DeepSeek V4 Flash Base
At a Glance
| Compare | Claude Opus 4.6Anthropic | DeepSeek V4 Flash BaseDeepSeek |
|---|---|---|
| Intelligence, Cost, and Efficiency | ||
| IntelligenceHigher is better · MM Intelligence v2.5 | #12 of 4676.2 score · 3/3 sources · complete | UnrankedNot in the 46-model eligible cohort |
| CostLower is better · Published-token output estimate | #33 of 44$0.241 per LiveBench case | UnrankedNot in the 44-model eligible cohort |
| EfficiencyHigher is better · MM Efficiency v1.5 | #19 of 3853.2 score · 3/3 sources · complete | UnrankedNot in the 38-model eligible cohort |
| Pricing and Limits | ||
| Input priceFrom · USD / 1M tokens | $5.00Anthropic ↗ · Sep 3, 2026 | Not reported |
| Output priceFrom · USD / 1M tokens | $25.00Anthropic ↗ · Sep 3, 2026 | Not reported |
| Context windowMaximum documented tokens | 1,000K | 1,049K |
| Model facts checked | Sep 3, 2026View model evidence → | Aug 28, 2026View model evidence → |
Token prices are the lowest available sourced USD rates; input and output may use different providers. Cost ranking estimates output spend on LiveBench, not a full request bill. Ranking methodology →
Available Benchmarks
Side-by-Side Facts
| Field | Claude Opus 4.6 | DeepSeek-V4-Flash-Base |
|---|---|---|
| Developer | Anthropic | DeepSeek |
| Family | Claude 4 | Deepseek V4 Flash Base |
| Model | Claude Opus 4.6 | DeepSeek-V4-Flash-Base |
| Version | Claude Opus 4.6 | DeepSeek-V4-Flash-Base |
| Lifecycle | active | active |
| Released | 2026-02-05 | 2026-04-24 |
| Knowledge cutoff | 2025-05-01 | Unknown |
| Input modalities | Text, Image | Text |
| Output modalities | Text | Text |
| Context window | 1,000K | 1,049K |
| Total parameters | Unknown | 292B |
| Active parameters | Unknown | Unknown |
| License | Unknown | Unknown |
| Open weights | No | Yes |
| API available | Yes | Unknown |
| Self-hostable | No | Yes |
| Provider access | Anthropic (Standard) | Unknown |
| Capabilities | chat, generation, reasoning, structured_outputs, tools | generation |
Claude Opus 4.6 Capabilities
DeepSeek V4 Flash Base Capabilities
Primary Evidence
Sources and Freshness
Questions
Claude Opus 4.6 vs DeepSeek V4 Flash Base FAQs
Is Claude Opus 4.6 or DeepSeek V4 Flash Base better for coding?+
This comparison does not currently contain a protocol-matched coding benchmark for both Claude Opus 4.6 and DeepSeek V4 Flash Base, so Model Markets cannot name a coding leader from pricing, context size, or capability labels alone.
Which is cheaper, Claude Opus 4.6 or DeepSeek V4 Flash Base?+
Only Claude Opus 4.6 has a directly sourced input price: $5.00 per million tokens. Only Claude Opus 4.6 has a directly sourced output price: $25.00 per million tokens.
Which has a larger context window, Claude Opus 4.6 or DeepSeek V4 Flash Base?+
DeepSeek V4 Flash Base has the larger sourced context window. Claude Opus 4.6 supports 1,000K and DeepSeek V4 Flash Base supports 1,049K.
Which performs better in benchmarks, Claude Opus 4.6 or DeepSeek V4 Flash Base?+
There is no overall benchmark winner: At least two independently verified, protocol-matched benchmarks are required for an overall winner.
Can Claude Opus 4.6 or DeepSeek V4 Flash Base be self-hosted?+
DeepSeek V4 Flash Base is the only model in this pair currently marked as self-hostable. Claude Opus 4.6 is not marked open weight; DeepSeek V4 Flash Base is open weight.
Can Claude Opus 4.6 and DeepSeek V4 Flash Base understand images?+
Claude Opus 4.6 is documented with image input; DeepSeek V4 Flash Base is not documented with image input. This reflects supported input modalities, not vision quality.
Which can generate longer answers, Claude Opus 4.6 or DeepSeek V4 Flash Base?+
Neither has a larger sourced maximum output. Claude Opus 4.6 is 128K and DeepSeek V4 Flash Base is —.
Do Claude Opus 4.6 and DeepSeek V4 Flash Base support reasoning and tool use?+
Claude Opus 4.6: reasoning, tool calling, and image input. DeepSeek V4 Flash Base: none of these features are definitively sourced. Feature support does not establish relative quality.
Which is available from more inference providers, Claude Opus 4.6 or DeepSeek V4 Flash Base?+
Claude Opus 4.6 has 1 sourced provider route; DeepSeek V4 Flash Base has 0, so Claude Opus 4.6 has broader tracked availability.
Which offers better value, Claude Opus 4.6 or DeepSeek V4 Flash Base?+
There is no universal value winner. Compare the input and output prices above with the matched benchmark result for your workload: cheaper tokens can be offset by different quality, token usage, latency, or provider availability.