o3-pro vs Bonsai 4B
At a Glance
| Compare | o3-proOpenAI | Bonsai 4BPrismML |
|---|---|---|
| Pricing and Limits | ||
| Input priceFrom · USD / 1M tokens | $20.00Openai ↗ · Sep 3, 2026 | Not reported |
| Output priceFrom · USD / 1M tokens | $80.00Openai ↗ · Sep 3, 2026 | Not reported |
| Context windowMaximum documented tokens | 200K | 33K |
| Model facts checked | Sep 3, 2026View model evidence → | Sep 18, 2026View model evidence → |
Token prices are the lowest available sourced USD rates; input and output may use different providers. Cost ranking estimates output spend on LiveBench, not a full request bill. Ranking methodology →
Available Benchmarks
Side-by-Side Facts
| Field | o3-pro | Bonsai 4B |
|---|---|---|
| Developer | OpenAI | PrismML |
| Family | O3 | Bonsai 4b |
| Model | o3-pro | Bonsai 4B |
| Version | o3-pro | Bonsai 4B |
| Lifecycle | active | active |
| Released | 2025-06-10 | 2026-03-29 |
| Knowledge cutoff | 2024-06-01 | Unknown |
| Input modalities | Text, Image | Text |
| Output modalities | Text | Text |
| Context window | 200K | 33K |
| Total parameters | Unknown | 4B |
| Active parameters | Unknown | Unknown |
| License | Unknown | apache-2.0 |
| Open weights | No | Yes |
| API available | Yes | No |
| Self-hostable | No | Yes |
| Provider access | Openai (Standard), Openrouter (Standard) | Unknown |
| Capabilities | chat, generation, reasoning, structured_outputs, tools | chat, generation |
| Effective bit width | Unknown | 1 bit per weight |
| Weight size | Unknown | 0.57 GB |
| Weight format | Unknown | Binary Q1_0 |
o3-pro Capabilities
Bonsai 4B Capabilities
Primary Evidence
Sources and Freshness
Questions
o3-pro vs Bonsai 4B FAQs
Is o3-pro or Bonsai 4B better for coding?+
This comparison does not currently contain a protocol-matched coding benchmark for both o3-pro and Bonsai 4B, so Model Markets cannot name a coding leader from pricing, context size, or capability labels alone.
Which is cheaper, o3-pro or Bonsai 4B?+
Only o3-pro has a directly sourced input price: $20.00 per million tokens. Only o3-pro has a directly sourced output price: $80.00 per million tokens.
Which has a larger context window, o3-pro or Bonsai 4B?+
o3-pro has the larger sourced context window. o3-pro supports 200K and Bonsai 4B supports 33K.
Which performs better in benchmarks, o3-pro or Bonsai 4B?+
There is no overall benchmark winner: At least two independently verified, protocol-matched benchmarks are required for an overall winner.
Can o3-pro or Bonsai 4B be self-hosted?+
Bonsai 4B is the only model in this pair currently marked as self-hostable. o3-pro is not marked open weight; Bonsai 4B is open weight.
Can o3-pro and Bonsai 4B understand images?+
o3-pro is documented with image input; Bonsai 4B is not documented with image input. This reflects supported input modalities, not vision quality.
Which can generate longer answers, o3-pro or Bonsai 4B?+
Neither has a larger sourced maximum output. o3-pro is 100K and Bonsai 4B is —.
Do o3-pro and Bonsai 4B support reasoning and tool use?+
o3-pro: reasoning, tool calling, and image input. Bonsai 4B: none of these features are definitively sourced. Feature support does not establish relative quality.
Which is available from more inference providers, o3-pro or Bonsai 4B?+
o3-pro has 2 sourced provider routes; Bonsai 4B has 0, so o3-pro has broader tracked availability.
Which offers better value, o3-pro or Bonsai 4B?+
There is no universal value winner. Compare the input and output prices above with the matched benchmark result for your workload: cheaper tokens can be offset by different quality, token usage, latency, or provider availability.