MolmoWeb 4B vs Llama 3.1 70B Instruct

At a Glance

Compare
Pricing and Limits
Input priceFrom · USD / 1M tokensNot reported$0.40Openrouter · Sep 23, 2026
Output priceFrom · USD / 1M tokensNot reported$0.40Openrouter · Sep 23, 2026
Context windowMaximum documented tokens10K131K
Model facts checkedSep 3, 2026View model evidence →Aug 28, 2026View model evidence →

Token prices are the lowest available sourced USD rates; input and output may use different providers. Cost ranking estimates output spend on LiveBench, not a full request bill. Ranking methodology →

Available Benchmarks

All benchmark results →
No Protocol-Matched Benchmark Yet.Results appear here only when both models share the same benchmark version, metric, evaluation protocol, and evidence class.

Side-by-Side Facts

FieldMolmoWeb 4BLlama-3.1-70B-Instruct
DeveloperAi2Meta
FamilyMolmowebLlama 3 1 70b Instruct
ModelMolmoWeb 4BLlama-3.1-70B-Instruct
VersionMolmoWeb 4BLlama-3.1-70B-Instruct
Lifecycleactiveactive
Released2026-03-202024-07-23
Knowledge cutoffUnknownUnknown
Input modalitiesText, ImageText
Output modalitiesTextText
Context window10K131K
Total parameters4.9B70.6B
Active parametersUnknownUnknown
Licenseapache-2.0llama3.1
Open weightsYesYes
API availableNoYes
Self-hostableYesYes
Provider accessUnknownOpenrouter (Standard)
Capabilitieschat, computer-use, generation, tools, visionchat, generation, tools

MolmoWeb 4B Capabilities

chatcomputer-usegenerationtoolsvision
Serving providers0
Canonical IDallenai/MolmoWeb-4B

Llama 3.1 70B Instruct Capabilities

chatgenerationtools
Serving providers1
Canonical IDmeta-llama/Llama-3.1-70B-Instruct

Primary Evidence

Sources and Freshness

Questions

MolmoWeb 4B vs Llama 3.1 70B Instruct FAQs

Is MolmoWeb 4B or Llama 3.1 70B Instruct better for coding?+

This comparison does not currently contain a protocol-matched coding benchmark for both MolmoWeb 4B and Llama 3.1 70B Instruct, so Model Markets cannot name a coding leader from pricing, context size, or capability labels alone.

Which is cheaper, MolmoWeb 4B or Llama 3.1 70B Instruct?+

Only Llama 3.1 70B Instruct has a directly sourced input price: $0.40 per million tokens. Only Llama 3.1 70B Instruct has a directly sourced output price: $0.40 per million tokens.

Which has a larger context window, MolmoWeb 4B or Llama 3.1 70B Instruct?+

Llama 3.1 70B Instruct has the larger sourced context window. MolmoWeb 4B supports 10K and Llama 3.1 70B Instruct supports 131K.

Which performs better in benchmarks, MolmoWeb 4B or Llama 3.1 70B Instruct?+

There is no overall benchmark winner: At least two independently verified, protocol-matched benchmarks are required for an overall winner.

Can MolmoWeb 4B or Llama 3.1 70B Instruct be self-hosted?+

Both models have the same recorded self-hosting status: supported. MolmoWeb 4B is open weight; Llama 3.1 70B Instruct is open weight.

Can MolmoWeb 4B and Llama 3.1 70B Instruct understand images?+

MolmoWeb 4B is documented with image input; Llama 3.1 70B Instruct is not documented with image input. This reflects supported input modalities, not vision quality.

Which can generate longer answers, MolmoWeb 4B or Llama 3.1 70B Instruct?+

Neither has a larger sourced maximum output. MolmoWeb 4B is — and Llama 3.1 70B Instruct is —.

Do MolmoWeb 4B and Llama 3.1 70B Instruct support reasoning and tool use?+

MolmoWeb 4B: tool calling and image input. Llama 3.1 70B Instruct: tool calling. Feature support does not establish relative quality.

Which is available from more inference providers, MolmoWeb 4B or Llama 3.1 70B Instruct?+

MolmoWeb 4B has 0 sourced provider routes; Llama 3.1 70B Instruct has 1, so Llama 3.1 70B Instruct has broader tracked availability.

Which offers better value, MolmoWeb 4B or Llama 3.1 70B Instruct?+

There is no universal value winner. Compare the input and output prices above with the matched benchmark result for your workload: cheaper tokens can be offset by different quality, token usage, latency, or provider availability.

Send Feedback