MolmoAct2 Think vs Sonar Reasoning Pro

At a Glance

Compare
Pricing and Limits
Input priceFrom · USD / 1M tokensNot reported$2.00Openrouter · Sep 22, 2026
Output priceFrom · USD / 1M tokensNot reported$8.00Openrouter · Sep 22, 2026
Context windowMaximum documented tokens16K128K
Model facts checkedAug 28, 2026View model evidence →Aug 29, 2026View model evidence →

Token prices are the lowest available sourced USD rates; input and output may use different providers. Cost ranking estimates output spend on LiveBench, not a full request bill. Ranking methodology →

Available Benchmarks

All benchmark results →
No Protocol-Matched Benchmark Yet.Results appear here only when both models share the same benchmark version, metric, evaluation protocol, and evidence class.

Side-by-Side Facts

FieldMolmoAct2-ThinkSonar Reasoning Pro
DeveloperAi2Perplexity
FamilyMolmoact2 ThinkSonar
ModelMolmoAct2-ThinkSonar Reasoning Pro
VersionMolmoAct2-ThinkSonar Reasoning Pro
Lifecycleactiveactive
ReleasedUnknownUnknown
Knowledge cutoffUnknownUnknown
Input modalitiesModel-specific inputText
Output modalitiesModel-specific inputText
Context window16K128K
Total parameters5.4BUnknown
Active parametersUnknownUnknown
LicenseUnknownUnknown
Open weightsYesNo
API availableUnknownYes
Self-hostableYesNo
Provider accessUnknownOpenrouter (Standard), Perplexity (Standard)
Capabilitiesreasoning, robot_action_generationchat, citations, reasoning, search

MolmoAct2 Think Capabilities

reasoningrobot action generation
Serving providers0
Canonical IDallenai/MolmoAct2-Think

Sonar Reasoning Pro Capabilities

chatcitationsreasoningsearch
Serving providers2
Canonical IDperplexity/sonar-reasoning-pro

Primary Evidence

Sources and Freshness

Questions

MolmoAct2 Think vs Sonar Reasoning Pro FAQs

Is MolmoAct2 Think or Sonar Reasoning Pro better for coding?+

This comparison does not currently contain a protocol-matched coding benchmark for both MolmoAct2 Think and Sonar Reasoning Pro, so Model Markets cannot name a coding leader from pricing, context size, or capability labels alone.

Which is cheaper, MolmoAct2 Think or Sonar Reasoning Pro?+

Only Sonar Reasoning Pro has a directly sourced input price: $2.00 per million tokens. Only Sonar Reasoning Pro has a directly sourced output price: $8.00 per million tokens.

Which has a larger context window, MolmoAct2 Think or Sonar Reasoning Pro?+

Sonar Reasoning Pro has the larger sourced context window. MolmoAct2 Think supports 16K and Sonar Reasoning Pro supports 128K.

Which performs better in benchmarks, MolmoAct2 Think or Sonar Reasoning Pro?+

There is no overall benchmark winner: At least two independently verified, protocol-matched benchmarks are required for an overall winner.

Can MolmoAct2 Think or Sonar Reasoning Pro be self-hosted?+

MolmoAct2 Think is the only model in this pair currently marked as self-hostable. MolmoAct2 Think is open weight; Sonar Reasoning Pro is not marked open weight.

Can MolmoAct2 Think and Sonar Reasoning Pro understand images?+

MolmoAct2 Think is not documented with image input; Sonar Reasoning Pro is not documented with image input. This reflects supported input modalities, not vision quality.

Which can generate longer answers, MolmoAct2 Think or Sonar Reasoning Pro?+

Neither has a larger sourced maximum output. MolmoAct2 Think is — and Sonar Reasoning Pro is —.

Do MolmoAct2 Think and Sonar Reasoning Pro support reasoning and tool use?+

MolmoAct2 Think: reasoning. Sonar Reasoning Pro: reasoning. Feature support does not establish relative quality.

Which is available from more inference providers, MolmoAct2 Think or Sonar Reasoning Pro?+

MolmoAct2 Think has 0 sourced provider routes; Sonar Reasoning Pro has 2, so Sonar Reasoning Pro has broader tracked availability.

Which offers better value, MolmoAct2 Think or Sonar Reasoning Pro?+

There is no universal value winner. Compare the input and output prices above with the matched benchmark result for your workload: cheaper tokens can be offset by different quality, token usage, latency, or provider availability.

Send Feedback