Llama 4 Scout 17B 16E vs o3-pro

At a Glance

Compare
o3-proOpenAI
Pricing and Limits
Input priceFrom · USD / 1M tokensNot reported$20.00Openai · Sep 3, 2026
Output priceFrom · USD / 1M tokensNot reported$80.00Openai · Sep 3, 2026
Context windowMaximum documented tokens10,000K200K
Model facts checkedAug 28, 2026View model evidence →Sep 3, 2026View model evidence →

Token prices are the lowest available sourced USD rates; input and output may use different providers. Cost ranking estimates output spend on LiveBench, not a full request bill. Ranking methodology →

Available Benchmarks

All benchmark results →
No Protocol-Matched Benchmark Yet.Results appear here only when both models share the same benchmark version, metric, evaluation protocol, and evidence class.

Side-by-Side Facts

FieldLlama-4-Scout-17B-16Eo3-pro
DeveloperMetaOpenAI
FamilyLlama 4 Scout 17b 16eO3
ModelLlama-4-Scout-17B-16Eo3-pro
VersionLlama-4-Scout-17B-16Eo3-pro
Lifecycleactiveactive
Released2025-04-052025-06-10
Knowledge cutoffUnknown2024-06-01
Input modalitiesText, ImageText, Image
Output modalitiesTextText
Context window10,000K200K
Total parameters108.6BUnknown
Active parameters17BUnknown
LicenseotherUnknown
Open weightsYesNo
API availableYesYes
Self-hostableYesNo
Provider accessTogether Ai (Standard)Openai (Standard), Openrouter (Standard)
Capabilitieschat, generation, toolschat, generation, reasoning, structured_outputs, tools

Llama 4 Scout 17B 16E Capabilities

chatgenerationtools
Serving providers1
Canonical IDmeta-llama/Llama-4-Scout-17B-16E

o3-pro Capabilities

chatgenerationreasoningstructured outputstools
Serving providers2
Canonical IDopenai/o3-pro

Primary Evidence

Sources and Freshness

Questions

Llama 4 Scout 17B 16E vs o3-pro FAQs

Is Llama 4 Scout 17B 16E or o3-pro better for coding?+

This comparison does not currently contain a protocol-matched coding benchmark for both Llama 4 Scout 17B 16E and o3-pro, so Model Markets cannot name a coding leader from pricing, context size, or capability labels alone.

Which is cheaper, Llama 4 Scout 17B 16E or o3-pro?+

Only o3-pro has a directly sourced input price: $20.00 per million tokens. Only o3-pro has a directly sourced output price: $80.00 per million tokens.

Which has a larger context window, Llama 4 Scout 17B 16E or o3-pro?+

Llama 4 Scout 17B 16E has the larger sourced context window. Llama 4 Scout 17B 16E supports 10,000K and o3-pro supports 200K.

Which performs better in benchmarks, Llama 4 Scout 17B 16E or o3-pro?+

There is no overall benchmark winner: At least two independently verified, protocol-matched benchmarks are required for an overall winner.

Can Llama 4 Scout 17B 16E or o3-pro be self-hosted?+

Llama 4 Scout 17B 16E is the only model in this pair currently marked as self-hostable. Llama 4 Scout 17B 16E is open weight; o3-pro is not marked open weight.

Can Llama 4 Scout 17B 16E and o3-pro understand images?+

Llama 4 Scout 17B 16E is documented with image input; o3-pro is documented with image input. This reflects supported input modalities, not vision quality.

Which can generate longer answers, Llama 4 Scout 17B 16E or o3-pro?+

Neither has a larger sourced maximum output. Llama 4 Scout 17B 16E is — and o3-pro is 100K.

Do Llama 4 Scout 17B 16E and o3-pro support reasoning and tool use?+

Llama 4 Scout 17B 16E: tool calling and image input. o3-pro: reasoning, tool calling, and image input. Feature support does not establish relative quality.

Which is available from more inference providers, Llama 4 Scout 17B 16E or o3-pro?+

Llama 4 Scout 17B 16E has 1 sourced provider route; o3-pro has 2, so o3-pro has broader tracked availability.

Which offers better value, Llama 4 Scout 17B 16E or o3-pro?+

There is no universal value winner. Compare the input and output prices above with the matched benchmark result for your workload: cheaper tokens can be offset by different quality, token usage, latency, or provider availability.

Send Feedback