Llama 4 Scout 17B 16E vs Mistral Large 3
At a Glance
| Compare | Mistral Large 3Mistral AI | |
|---|---|---|
| Pricing and Limits | ||
| Input priceFrom · USD / 1M tokens | Not reported | $0.25Openrouter ↗ · Sep 22, 2026 |
| Output priceFrom · USD / 1M tokens | Not reported | $0.75Openrouter ↗ · Sep 22, 2026 |
| Context windowMaximum documented tokens | 10,000K | 262K |
| Model facts checked | Aug 28, 2026View model evidence → | Aug 29, 2026View model evidence → |
Token prices are the lowest available sourced USD rates; input and output may use different providers. Cost ranking estimates output spend on LiveBench, not a full request bill. Ranking methodology →
Available Benchmarks
Side-by-Side Facts
| Field | Llama-4-Scout-17B-16E | Mistral Large 3 |
|---|---|---|
| Developer | Meta | Mistral AI |
| Family | Llama 4 Scout 17b 16e | Mistral Large 3 |
| Model | Llama-4-Scout-17B-16E | Mistral Large 3 |
| Version | Llama-4-Scout-17B-16E | Mistral Large 3 |
| Lifecycle | active | active |
| Released | 2025-04-05 | 2025-12-02 |
| Knowledge cutoff | Unknown | Unknown |
| Input modalities | Text, Image | Text, Image, Document |
| Output modalities | Text | Text |
| Context window | 10,000K | 262K |
| Total parameters | 108.6B | 675B |
| Active parameters | 17B | 41B |
| License | other | Apache-2.0 |
| Open weights | Yes | Yes |
| API available | Yes | Yes |
| Self-hostable | Yes | Yes |
| Provider access | Together Ai (Standard) | Mistral AI (Standard), Openrouter (Standard) |
| Capabilities | chat, generation, tools | agents, chat, generation, structured_outputs, tools, vision |
Llama 4 Scout 17B 16E Capabilities
Mistral Large 3 Capabilities
Primary Evidence
Sources and Freshness
Questions
Llama 4 Scout 17B 16E vs Mistral Large 3 FAQs
Is Llama 4 Scout 17B 16E or Mistral Large 3 better for coding?+
This comparison does not currently contain a protocol-matched coding benchmark for both Llama 4 Scout 17B 16E and Mistral Large 3, so Model Markets cannot name a coding leader from pricing, context size, or capability labels alone.
Which is cheaper, Llama 4 Scout 17B 16E or Mistral Large 3?+
Only Mistral Large 3 has a directly sourced input price: $0.25 per million tokens. Only Mistral Large 3 has a directly sourced output price: $0.75 per million tokens.
Which has a larger context window, Llama 4 Scout 17B 16E or Mistral Large 3?+
Llama 4 Scout 17B 16E has the larger sourced context window. Llama 4 Scout 17B 16E supports 10,000K and Mistral Large 3 supports 262K.
Which performs better in benchmarks, Llama 4 Scout 17B 16E or Mistral Large 3?+
There is no overall benchmark winner: At least two independently verified, protocol-matched benchmarks are required for an overall winner.
Can Llama 4 Scout 17B 16E or Mistral Large 3 be self-hosted?+
Both models have the same recorded self-hosting status: supported. Llama 4 Scout 17B 16E is open weight; Mistral Large 3 is open weight.
Can Llama 4 Scout 17B 16E and Mistral Large 3 understand images?+
Llama 4 Scout 17B 16E is documented with image input; Mistral Large 3 is documented with image input. This reflects supported input modalities, not vision quality.
Which can generate longer answers, Llama 4 Scout 17B 16E or Mistral Large 3?+
Neither has a larger sourced maximum output. Llama 4 Scout 17B 16E is — and Mistral Large 3 is —.
Do Llama 4 Scout 17B 16E and Mistral Large 3 support reasoning and tool use?+
Llama 4 Scout 17B 16E: tool calling and image input. Mistral Large 3: tool calling and image input. Feature support does not establish relative quality.
Which is available from more inference providers, Llama 4 Scout 17B 16E or Mistral Large 3?+
Llama 4 Scout 17B 16E has 1 sourced provider route; Mistral Large 3 has 2, so Mistral Large 3 has broader tracked availability.
Which offers better value, Llama 4 Scout 17B 16E or Mistral Large 3?+
There is no universal value winner. Compare the input and output prices above with the matched benchmark result for your workload: cheaper tokens can be offset by different quality, token usage, latency, or provider availability.