Llama 3.1 8B vs gpt-oss-120b
At a Glance
| Compare | Llama 3.1 8BMeta | gpt-oss-120bOpenAI |
|---|---|---|
| Pricing and Limits | ||
| Input priceFrom · USD / 1M tokens | Not reported | $0.037Deepinfra ↗ · Sep 21, 2026 |
| Output priceFrom · USD / 1M tokens | Not reported | $0.17Deepinfra ↗ · Sep 21, 2026 |
| Context windowMaximum documented tokens | 131K | 131K |
| Model facts checked | Aug 28, 2026View model evidence → | Aug 28, 2026View model evidence → |
Token prices are the lowest available sourced USD rates; input and output may use different providers. Cost ranking estimates output spend on LiveBench, not a full request bill. Ranking methodology →
Available Benchmarks
Side-by-Side Facts
| Field | Llama-3.1-8B | gpt-oss-120b |
|---|---|---|
| Developer | Meta | OpenAI |
| Family | Llama 3 1 8b | Gpt Oss 120b |
| Model | Llama-3.1-8B | gpt-oss-120b |
| Version | Llama-3.1-8B | gpt-oss-120b |
| Lifecycle | active | active |
| Released | 2024-07-23 | Unknown |
| Knowledge cutoff | Unknown | Unknown |
| Input modalities | Text | Text |
| Output modalities | Text | Text |
| Context window | 131K | 131K |
| Total parameters | 8B | 116.8B |
| Active parameters | Unknown | 5.1B |
| License | llama3.1 | apache-2.0 |
| Open weights | Yes | Yes |
| API available | Yes | Yes |
| Self-hostable | Yes | Yes |
| Provider access | Hugging Face (Standard) | Cerebras (Standard), Deepinfra (Standard), Fireworks Ai (Serverless, Standard), Groq (Standard), Hugging Face (Standard), Openrouter (Standard), Together Ai (Serverless, Standard) |
| Capabilities | generation | chat, generation, reasoning, tools |
Llama 3.1 8B Capabilities
gpt-oss-120b Capabilities
Primary Evidence
Sources and Freshness
Questions
Llama 3.1 8B vs gpt-oss-120b FAQs
Is Llama 3.1 8B or gpt-oss-120b better for coding?+
This comparison does not currently contain a protocol-matched coding benchmark for both Llama 3.1 8B and gpt-oss-120b, so Model Markets cannot name a coding leader from pricing, context size, or capability labels alone.
Which is cheaper, Llama 3.1 8B or gpt-oss-120b?+
Only gpt-oss-120b has a directly sourced input price: $0.037 per million tokens. Only gpt-oss-120b has a directly sourced output price: $0.17 per million tokens.
Which has a larger context window, Llama 3.1 8B or gpt-oss-120b?+
Neither model has a larger sourced context window in this comparison. Llama 3.1 8B is 131K and gpt-oss-120b is 131K.
Which performs better in benchmarks, Llama 3.1 8B or gpt-oss-120b?+
There is no overall benchmark winner: At least two independently verified, protocol-matched benchmarks are required for an overall winner.
Can Llama 3.1 8B or gpt-oss-120b be self-hosted?+
Both models have the same recorded self-hosting status: supported. Llama 3.1 8B is open weight; gpt-oss-120b is open weight.
Can Llama 3.1 8B and gpt-oss-120b understand images?+
Llama 3.1 8B is not documented with image input; gpt-oss-120b is not documented with image input. This reflects supported input modalities, not vision quality.
Which can generate longer answers, Llama 3.1 8B or gpt-oss-120b?+
Neither has a larger sourced maximum output. Llama 3.1 8B is — and gpt-oss-120b is —.
Do Llama 3.1 8B and gpt-oss-120b support reasoning and tool use?+
Llama 3.1 8B: none of these features are definitively sourced. gpt-oss-120b: reasoning and tool calling. Feature support does not establish relative quality.
Which is available from more inference providers, Llama 3.1 8B or gpt-oss-120b?+
Llama 3.1 8B has 1 sourced provider route; gpt-oss-120b has 7, so gpt-oss-120b has broader tracked availability.
Which offers better value, Llama 3.1 8B or gpt-oss-120b?+
There is no universal value winner. Compare the input and output prices above with the matched benchmark result for your workload: cheaper tokens can be offset by different quality, token usage, latency, or provider availability.