Llama 3.1 8B vs Qwen3.8 Max

At a Glance

Compare
Intelligence, Cost, and Efficiency
IntelligenceHigher is better · MM Intelligence v2.5UnrankedNot in the 46-model eligible cohort#10 of 4679.2 score · 2/3 sources · provisional · missing ARC-AGI-2 · full-core range 52.8–86.1
CostLower is better · Published-token output estimateUnrankedNot in the 44-model eligible cohort#23 of 44$0.107 per LiveBench case
EfficiencyHigher is better · MM Efficiency v1.5UnrankedNot in the 38-model eligible cohort#6 of 3863.2 score · 2/3 sources · provisional · missing ARC-AGI-2 · full-core range 50.0–66.7
Pricing and Limits
Input priceFrom · USD / 1M tokensNot reported$1.65Deepinfra · Sep 21, 2026
Output priceFrom · USD / 1M tokensNot reported$4.951Deepinfra · Sep 21, 2026
Context windowMaximum documented tokens131K1,000K
Model facts checkedAug 28, 2026View model evidence →Aug 29, 2026View model evidence →

Token prices are the lowest available sourced USD rates; input and output may use different providers. Cost ranking estimates output spend on LiveBench, not a full request bill. Ranking methodology →

Available Benchmarks

All benchmark results →
No Protocol-Matched Benchmark Yet.Results appear here only when both models share the same benchmark version, metric, evaluation protocol, and evidence class.

Side-by-Side Facts

FieldLlama-3.1-8BQwen3.8-Max
DeveloperMetaQwen
FamilyLlama 3 1 8bQwen3 8 Max
ModelLlama-3.1-8BQwen3.8-Max
VersionLlama-3.1-8BQwen3.8-Max
Lifecycleactiveactive
Released2024-07-23Unknown
Knowledge cutoffUnknownUnknown
Input modalitiesTextText, Image, Video
Output modalitiesTextText
Context window131K1,000K
Total parameters8B2.4T
Active parametersUnknownUnknown
Licensellama3.1Unknown
Open weightsYesNo
API availableYesYes
Self-hostableYesNo
Provider accessHugging Face (Standard)Alibaba Cloud Model Studio (Standard), Deepinfra (Standard), Fireworks Ai (Standard), Openrouter (Standard)
Capabilitiesgenerationagents, chat, reasoning, structured_outputs, tools, vision

Llama 3.1 8B Capabilities

generation
Serving providers1
Canonical IDmeta-llama/Llama-3.1-8B

Qwen3.8 Max Capabilities

agentschatreasoningstructured outputstoolsvision
Serving providers4
Canonical IDqwen/qwen3.8-max

Primary Evidence

Sources and Freshness

Questions

Llama 3.1 8B vs Qwen3.8 Max FAQs

Is Llama 3.1 8B or Qwen3.8 Max better for coding?+

This comparison does not currently contain a protocol-matched coding benchmark for both Llama 3.1 8B and Qwen3.8 Max, so Model Markets cannot name a coding leader from pricing, context size, or capability labels alone.

Which is cheaper, Llama 3.1 8B or Qwen3.8 Max?+

Only Qwen3.8 Max has a directly sourced input price: $1.65 per million tokens. Only Qwen3.8 Max has a directly sourced output price: $4.951 per million tokens.

Which has a larger context window, Llama 3.1 8B or Qwen3.8 Max?+

Qwen3.8 Max has the larger sourced context window. Llama 3.1 8B supports 131K and Qwen3.8 Max supports 1,000K.

Which performs better in benchmarks, Llama 3.1 8B or Qwen3.8 Max?+

There is no overall benchmark winner: At least two independently verified, protocol-matched benchmarks are required for an overall winner.

Can Llama 3.1 8B or Qwen3.8 Max be self-hosted?+

Llama 3.1 8B is the only model in this pair currently marked as self-hostable. Llama 3.1 8B is open weight; Qwen3.8 Max is not marked open weight.

Can Llama 3.1 8B and Qwen3.8 Max understand images?+

Llama 3.1 8B is not documented with image input; Qwen3.8 Max is documented with image input. This reflects supported input modalities, not vision quality.

Which can generate longer answers, Llama 3.1 8B or Qwen3.8 Max?+

Neither has a larger sourced maximum output. Llama 3.1 8B is — and Qwen3.8 Max is 131K.

Do Llama 3.1 8B and Qwen3.8 Max support reasoning and tool use?+

Llama 3.1 8B: none of these features are definitively sourced. Qwen3.8 Max: reasoning, tool calling, and image input. Feature support does not establish relative quality.

Which is available from more inference providers, Llama 3.1 8B or Qwen3.8 Max?+

Llama 3.1 8B has 1 sourced provider route; Qwen3.8 Max has 4, so Qwen3.8 Max has broader tracked availability.

Which offers better value, Llama 3.1 8B or Qwen3.8 Max?+

There is no universal value winner. Compare the input and output prices above with the matched benchmark result for your workload: cheaper tokens can be offset by different quality, token usage, latency, or provider availability.

Send Feedback