Llama 3.1 405B vs GPT-4.1 Nano
At a Glance
| Compare | Llama 3.1 405BMeta | GPT-4.1 NanoOpenAI |
|---|---|---|
| Pricing and Limits | ||
| Input priceFrom · USD / 1M tokens | Not reported | $0.050Openrouter ↗ · Sep 3, 2026 |
| Output priceFrom · USD / 1M tokens | Not reported | $0.20Openrouter ↗ · Sep 3, 2026 |
| Context windowMaximum documented tokens | 131K | 1,048K |
| Model facts checked | Aug 28, 2026View model evidence → | Aug 29, 2026View model evidence → |
Token prices are the lowest available sourced USD rates; input and output may use different providers. Cost ranking estimates output spend on LiveBench, not a full request bill. Ranking methodology →
Available Benchmarks
Side-by-Side Facts
| Field | Llama-3.1-405B | GPT-4.1 Nano |
|---|---|---|
| Developer | Meta | OpenAI |
| Family | Llama 3 1 405b | Gpt 4 1 |
| Model | Llama-3.1-405B | GPT-4.1 Nano |
| Version | Llama-3.1-405B | GPT-4.1 Nano |
| Lifecycle | active | active |
| Released | 2024-07-23 | Unknown |
| Knowledge cutoff | Unknown | 2024-06-01 |
| Input modalities | Text | Text, Image |
| Output modalities | Text | Text |
| Context window | 131K | 1,048K |
| Total parameters | 405.9B | Unknown |
| Active parameters | Unknown | Unknown |
| License | llama3.1 | Unknown |
| Open weights | Yes | No |
| API available | Yes | Yes |
| Self-hostable | Yes | No |
| Provider access | Together Ai (Standard) | Openai (Standard), Openrouter (Standard) |
| Capabilities | generation | chat, generation, tools |
Llama 3.1 405B Capabilities
GPT-4.1 Nano Capabilities
Primary Evidence
Sources and Freshness
Questions
Llama 3.1 405B vs GPT-4.1 Nano FAQs
Is Llama 3.1 405B or GPT-4.1 Nano better for coding?+
This comparison does not currently contain a protocol-matched coding benchmark for both Llama 3.1 405B and GPT-4.1 Nano, so Model Markets cannot name a coding leader from pricing, context size, or capability labels alone.
Which is cheaper, Llama 3.1 405B or GPT-4.1 Nano?+
Only GPT-4.1 Nano has a directly sourced input price: $0.050 per million tokens. Only GPT-4.1 Nano has a directly sourced output price: $0.20 per million tokens.
Which has a larger context window, Llama 3.1 405B or GPT-4.1 Nano?+
GPT-4.1 Nano has the larger sourced context window. Llama 3.1 405B supports 131K and GPT-4.1 Nano supports 1,048K.
Which performs better in benchmarks, Llama 3.1 405B or GPT-4.1 Nano?+
There is no overall benchmark winner: At least two independently verified, protocol-matched benchmarks are required for an overall winner.
Can Llama 3.1 405B or GPT-4.1 Nano be self-hosted?+
Llama 3.1 405B is the only model in this pair currently marked as self-hostable. Llama 3.1 405B is open weight; GPT-4.1 Nano is not marked open weight.
Can Llama 3.1 405B and GPT-4.1 Nano understand images?+
Llama 3.1 405B is not documented with image input; GPT-4.1 Nano is documented with image input. This reflects supported input modalities, not vision quality.
Which can generate longer answers, Llama 3.1 405B or GPT-4.1 Nano?+
Neither has a larger sourced maximum output. Llama 3.1 405B is — and GPT-4.1 Nano is 33K.
Do Llama 3.1 405B and GPT-4.1 Nano support reasoning and tool use?+
Llama 3.1 405B: none of these features are definitively sourced. GPT-4.1 Nano: tool calling and image input. Feature support does not establish relative quality.
Which is available from more inference providers, Llama 3.1 405B or GPT-4.1 Nano?+
Llama 3.1 405B has 1 sourced provider route; GPT-4.1 Nano has 2, so GPT-4.1 Nano has broader tracked availability.
Which offers better value, Llama 3.1 405B or GPT-4.1 Nano?+
There is no universal value winner. Compare the input and output prices above with the matched benchmark result for your workload: cheaper tokens can be offset by different quality, token usage, latency, or provider availability.