Llama 3.1 405B vs GLM 5.3 Flash

At a Glance

Compare
Intelligence, Cost, and Efficiency
IntelligenceHigher is better · MM Intelligence v2.5UnrankedNot in the 46-model eligible cohort#29 of 4654.6 score · 2/3 sources · provisional · missing ARC-AGI-2 · full-core range 36.4–69.8
CostLower is better · Published-token output estimateUnrankedNot in the 44-model eligible cohort#2 of 44$0.0087 per LiveBench case
EfficiencyHigher is better · MM Efficiency v1.5UnrankedNot in the 38-model eligible cohort#1 of 3877.3 score · 2/3 sources · provisional · missing ARC-AGI-2 · full-core range 68.2–84.9
Pricing and Limits
Input priceFrom · USD / 1M tokensNot reported$0.075Z.ai · Aug 29, 2026
Output priceFrom · USD / 1M tokensNot reported$0.25Z.ai · Aug 29, 2026
Context windowMaximum documented tokens131K1,000K
Model facts checkedAug 28, 2026View model evidence →Sep 2, 2026View model evidence →

Token prices are the lowest available sourced USD rates; input and output may use different providers. Cost ranking estimates output spend on LiveBench, not a full request bill. Ranking methodology →

Available Benchmarks

All benchmark results →
No Protocol-Matched Benchmark Yet.Results appear here only when both models share the same benchmark version, metric, evaluation protocol, and evidence class.

Side-by-Side Facts

FieldLlama-3.1-405BGLM-5.3-Flash
DeveloperMetaZ.ai
FamilyLlama 3 1 405bGlm 5 3 Flash
ModelLlama-3.1-405BGLM-5.3-Flash
VersionLlama-3.1-405BGLM-5.3-Flash
Lifecycleactiveactive
Released2024-07-232026-09-02
Knowledge cutoffUnknownUnknown
Input modalitiesTextText, Image, Video, Document
Output modalitiesTextText
Context window131K1,000K
Total parameters405.9B320B
Active parametersUnknown18B
Licensellama3.1MIT
Open weightsYesYes
API availableYesYes
Self-hostableYesYes
Provider accessTogether Ai (Standard)Deepinfra (Standard), Fireworks Ai (Standard), Together Ai (Standard), Z.ai (Standard)
Capabilitiesgenerationagents, chat, computer-use, reasoning, structured_outputs, tools, vision

Llama 3.1 405B Capabilities

generation
Serving providers1
Canonical IDmeta-llama/Llama-3.1-405B

GLM 5.3 Flash Capabilities

agentschatcomputer-usereasoningstructured outputstoolsvision
Serving providers4
Canonical IDzai-org/glm-5.3-flash

Primary Evidence

Sources and Freshness

Questions

Llama 3.1 405B vs GLM 5.3 Flash FAQs

Is Llama 3.1 405B or GLM 5.3 Flash better for coding?+

This comparison does not currently contain a protocol-matched coding benchmark for both Llama 3.1 405B and GLM 5.3 Flash, so Model Markets cannot name a coding leader from pricing, context size, or capability labels alone.

Which is cheaper, Llama 3.1 405B or GLM 5.3 Flash?+

Only GLM 5.3 Flash has a directly sourced input price: $0.075 per million tokens. Only GLM 5.3 Flash has a directly sourced output price: $0.25 per million tokens.

Which has a larger context window, Llama 3.1 405B or GLM 5.3 Flash?+

GLM 5.3 Flash has the larger sourced context window. Llama 3.1 405B supports 131K and GLM 5.3 Flash supports 1,000K.

Which performs better in benchmarks, Llama 3.1 405B or GLM 5.3 Flash?+

There is no overall benchmark winner: At least two independently verified, protocol-matched benchmarks are required for an overall winner.

Can Llama 3.1 405B or GLM 5.3 Flash be self-hosted?+

Both models have the same recorded self-hosting status: supported. Llama 3.1 405B is open weight; GLM 5.3 Flash is open weight.

Can Llama 3.1 405B and GLM 5.3 Flash understand images?+

Llama 3.1 405B is not documented with image input; GLM 5.3 Flash is documented with image input. This reflects supported input modalities, not vision quality.

Which can generate longer answers, Llama 3.1 405B or GLM 5.3 Flash?+

Neither has a larger sourced maximum output. Llama 3.1 405B is — and GLM 5.3 Flash is 131K.

Do Llama 3.1 405B and GLM 5.3 Flash support reasoning and tool use?+

Llama 3.1 405B: none of these features are definitively sourced. GLM 5.3 Flash: reasoning, tool calling, and image input. Feature support does not establish relative quality.

Which is available from more inference providers, Llama 3.1 405B or GLM 5.3 Flash?+

Llama 3.1 405B has 1 sourced provider route; GLM 5.3 Flash has 4, so GLM 5.3 Flash has broader tracked availability.

Which offers better value, Llama 3.1 405B or GLM 5.3 Flash?+

There is no universal value winner. Compare the input and output prices above with the matched benchmark result for your workload: cheaper tokens can be offset by different quality, token usage, latency, or provider availability.

Send Feedback