Granite Vision 4.1 4B vs gpt-oss-20b

At a Glance

Compare
Pricing and Limits
Input priceFrom · USD / 1M tokensNot reported$0.030Deepinfra · Sep 21, 2026
Output priceFrom · USD / 1M tokensNot reported$0.13Openrouter · Sep 22, 2026
Context windowMaximum documented tokens131K131K
Model facts checkedAug 28, 2026View model evidence →Aug 28, 2026View model evidence →

Token prices are the lowest available sourced USD rates; input and output may use different providers. Cost ranking estimates output spend on LiveBench, not a full request bill. Ranking methodology →

Available Benchmarks

All benchmark results →
No Protocol-Matched Benchmark Yet.Results appear here only when both models share the same benchmark version, metric, evaluation protocol, and evidence class.

Side-by-Side Facts

Fieldgranite-vision-4.1-4bgpt-oss-20b
DeveloperIBMOpenAI
FamilyGranite Vision 4 1 4bGpt Oss
Modelgranite-vision-4.1-4bgpt-oss-20b
Versiongranite-vision-4.1-4bgpt-oss-20b
Lifecycleactiveactive
Released2026-04-29Unknown
Knowledge cutoffUnknownUnknown
Input modalitiesText, ImageText
Output modalitiesTextText
Context window131K131K
Total parameters4B20.9B
Active parametersUnknown3.6B
Licenseapache-2.0apache-2.0
Open weightsYesYes
API availableUnknownYes
Self-hostableYesYes
Provider accessUnknownDeepinfra (Standard), Groq (Standard), Hugging Face (Standard), Openrouter (Standard), Together Ai (Serverless, Standard)
Capabilitieschat, generation, toolschat, generation, reasoning, tools

Granite Vision 4.1 4B Capabilities

chatgenerationtools
Serving providers0
Canonical IDibm-granite/granite-vision-4.1-4b

gpt-oss-20b Capabilities

chatgenerationreasoningtools
Serving providers5
Canonical IDopenai/gpt-oss-20b

Primary Evidence

Sources and Freshness

Questions

Granite Vision 4.1 4B vs gpt-oss-20b FAQs

Is Granite Vision 4.1 4B or gpt-oss-20b better for coding?+

This comparison does not currently contain a protocol-matched coding benchmark for both Granite Vision 4.1 4B and gpt-oss-20b, so Model Markets cannot name a coding leader from pricing, context size, or capability labels alone.

Which is cheaper, Granite Vision 4.1 4B or gpt-oss-20b?+

Only gpt-oss-20b has a directly sourced input price: $0.030 per million tokens. Only gpt-oss-20b has a directly sourced output price: $0.13 per million tokens.

Which has a larger context window, Granite Vision 4.1 4B or gpt-oss-20b?+

Neither model has a larger sourced context window in this comparison. Granite Vision 4.1 4B is 131K and gpt-oss-20b is 131K.

Which performs better in benchmarks, Granite Vision 4.1 4B or gpt-oss-20b?+

There is no overall benchmark winner: At least two independently verified, protocol-matched benchmarks are required for an overall winner.

Can Granite Vision 4.1 4B or gpt-oss-20b be self-hosted?+

Both models have the same recorded self-hosting status: supported. Granite Vision 4.1 4B is open weight; gpt-oss-20b is open weight.

Can Granite Vision 4.1 4B and gpt-oss-20b understand images?+

Granite Vision 4.1 4B is documented with image input; gpt-oss-20b is not documented with image input. This reflects supported input modalities, not vision quality.

Which can generate longer answers, Granite Vision 4.1 4B or gpt-oss-20b?+

Neither has a larger sourced maximum output. Granite Vision 4.1 4B is — and gpt-oss-20b is —.

Do Granite Vision 4.1 4B and gpt-oss-20b support reasoning and tool use?+

Granite Vision 4.1 4B: tool calling and image input. gpt-oss-20b: reasoning and tool calling. Feature support does not establish relative quality.

Which is available from more inference providers, Granite Vision 4.1 4B or gpt-oss-20b?+

Granite Vision 4.1 4B has 0 sourced provider routes; gpt-oss-20b has 5, so gpt-oss-20b has broader tracked availability.

Which offers better value, Granite Vision 4.1 4B or gpt-oss-20b?+

There is no universal value winner. Compare the input and output prices above with the matched benchmark result for your workload: cheaper tokens can be offset by different quality, token usage, latency, or provider availability.

Send Feedback