Granite 4.1 8B vs Pixtral Large
At a Glance
| Compare | Pixtral LargeMistral AI | |
|---|---|---|
| Pricing and Limits | ||
| Input priceFrom · USD / 1M tokens | $0.050Openrouter ↗ · Sep 4, 2026 | Not reported |
| Output priceFrom · USD / 1M tokens | $0.10Openrouter ↗ · Sep 4, 2026 | Not reported |
| Context windowMaximum documented tokens | 131K | 131K |
| Model facts checked | Aug 28, 2026View model evidence → | Aug 29, 2026View model evidence → |
Token prices are the lowest available sourced USD rates; input and output may use different providers. Cost ranking estimates output spend on LiveBench, not a full request bill. Ranking methodology →
Available Benchmarks
Side-by-Side Facts
| Field | granite-4.1-8b | Pixtral Large |
|---|---|---|
| Developer | IBM | Mistral AI |
| Family | Granite 4 1 8b | Pixtral Large |
| Model | granite-4.1-8b | Pixtral Large |
| Version | granite-4.1-8b | Pixtral Large |
| Lifecycle | active | deprecated |
| Released | 2026-04-29 | 2024-11-18 |
| Knowledge cutoff | Unknown | Unknown |
| Input modalities | Text | Text, Image, Document |
| Output modalities | Text | Text |
| Context window | 131K | 131K |
| Total parameters | 8.8B | Unknown |
| Active parameters | Unknown | Unknown |
| License | apache-2.0 | Unknown |
| Open weights | Yes | No |
| API available | Yes | No |
| Self-hostable | Yes | No |
| Provider access | Openrouter (Standard) | Unknown |
| Capabilities | chat, generation, tools | chat, generation, structured_outputs, tools, vision |
Granite 4.1 8B Capabilities
Pixtral Large Capabilities
Primary Evidence
Sources and Freshness
Questions
Granite 4.1 8B vs Pixtral Large FAQs
Is Granite 4.1 8B or Pixtral Large better for coding?+
This comparison does not currently contain a protocol-matched coding benchmark for both Granite 4.1 8B and Pixtral Large, so Model Markets cannot name a coding leader from pricing, context size, or capability labels alone.
Which is cheaper, Granite 4.1 8B or Pixtral Large?+
Only Granite 4.1 8B has a directly sourced input price: $0.050 per million tokens. Only Granite 4.1 8B has a directly sourced output price: $0.10 per million tokens.
Which has a larger context window, Granite 4.1 8B or Pixtral Large?+
Neither model has a larger sourced context window in this comparison. Granite 4.1 8B is 131K and Pixtral Large is 131K.
Which performs better in benchmarks, Granite 4.1 8B or Pixtral Large?+
There is no overall benchmark winner: At least two independently verified, protocol-matched benchmarks are required for an overall winner.
Can Granite 4.1 8B or Pixtral Large be self-hosted?+
Granite 4.1 8B is the only model in this pair currently marked as self-hostable. Granite 4.1 8B is open weight; Pixtral Large is not marked open weight.
Can Granite 4.1 8B and Pixtral Large understand images?+
Granite 4.1 8B is not documented with image input; Pixtral Large is documented with image input. This reflects supported input modalities, not vision quality.
Which can generate longer answers, Granite 4.1 8B or Pixtral Large?+
Neither has a larger sourced maximum output. Granite 4.1 8B is — and Pixtral Large is —.
Do Granite 4.1 8B and Pixtral Large support reasoning and tool use?+
Granite 4.1 8B: tool calling. Pixtral Large: tool calling and image input. Feature support does not establish relative quality.
Which is available from more inference providers, Granite 4.1 8B or Pixtral Large?+
Granite 4.1 8B has 1 sourced provider route; Pixtral Large has 0, so Granite 4.1 8B has broader tracked availability.
Which offers better value, Granite 4.1 8B or Pixtral Large?+
There is no universal value winner. Compare the input and output prices above with the matched benchmark result for your workload: cheaper tokens can be offset by different quality, token usage, latency, or provider availability.