GPT-4.1 Mini vs Bonsai 8B

At a Glance

Compare
Bonsai 8BPrismML
Pricing and Limits
Input priceFrom · USD / 1M tokens$0.20Openrouter · Sep 3, 2026Not reported
Output priceFrom · USD / 1M tokens$0.80Openrouter · Sep 3, 2026Not reported
Context windowMaximum documented tokens1,048K66K
Model facts checkedAug 29, 2026View model evidence →Sep 18, 2026View model evidence →

Token prices are the lowest available sourced USD rates; input and output may use different providers. Cost ranking estimates output spend on LiveBench, not a full request bill. Ranking methodology →

Available Benchmarks

All benchmark results →
No Protocol-Matched Benchmark Yet.Results appear here only when both models share the same benchmark version, metric, evaluation protocol, and evidence class.

Side-by-Side Facts

FieldGPT-4.1 MiniBonsai 8B
DeveloperOpenAIPrismML
FamilyGpt 4 1Bonsai 8b
ModelGPT-4.1 MiniBonsai 8B
VersionGPT-4.1 MiniBonsai 8B
Lifecycleactiveactive
ReleasedUnknown2026-03-18
Knowledge cutoff2024-06-01Unknown
Input modalitiesText, ImageText
Output modalitiesTextText
Context window1,048K66K
Total parametersUnknown8.2B
Active parametersUnknownUnknown
LicenseUnknownapache-2.0
Open weightsNoYes
API availableYesNo
Self-hostableNoYes
Provider accessOpenai (Standard), Openrouter (Standard)Unknown
Capabilitieschat, generation, toolschat, generation
Effective bit widthUnknown1 bit per weight
Weight sizeUnknown1.16 GB
Weight formatUnknownBinary Q1_0

GPT-4.1 Mini Capabilities

chatgenerationtools
Serving providers2
Canonical IDopenai/gpt-4.1-mini

Bonsai 8B Capabilities

chatgeneration
Serving providers0
Canonical IDprism-ml/Bonsai-8B

Primary Evidence

Sources and Freshness

Questions

GPT-4.1 Mini vs Bonsai 8B FAQs

Is GPT-4.1 Mini or Bonsai 8B better for coding?+

This comparison does not currently contain a protocol-matched coding benchmark for both GPT-4.1 Mini and Bonsai 8B, so Model Markets cannot name a coding leader from pricing, context size, or capability labels alone.

Which is cheaper, GPT-4.1 Mini or Bonsai 8B?+

Only GPT-4.1 Mini has a directly sourced input price: $0.20 per million tokens. Only GPT-4.1 Mini has a directly sourced output price: $0.80 per million tokens.

Which has a larger context window, GPT-4.1 Mini or Bonsai 8B?+

GPT-4.1 Mini has the larger sourced context window. GPT-4.1 Mini supports 1,048K and Bonsai 8B supports 66K.

Which performs better in benchmarks, GPT-4.1 Mini or Bonsai 8B?+

There is no overall benchmark winner: At least two independently verified, protocol-matched benchmarks are required for an overall winner.

Can GPT-4.1 Mini or Bonsai 8B be self-hosted?+

Bonsai 8B is the only model in this pair currently marked as self-hostable. GPT-4.1 Mini is not marked open weight; Bonsai 8B is open weight.

Can GPT-4.1 Mini and Bonsai 8B understand images?+

GPT-4.1 Mini is documented with image input; Bonsai 8B is not documented with image input. This reflects supported input modalities, not vision quality.

Which can generate longer answers, GPT-4.1 Mini or Bonsai 8B?+

Neither has a larger sourced maximum output. GPT-4.1 Mini is 33K and Bonsai 8B is —.

Do GPT-4.1 Mini and Bonsai 8B support reasoning and tool use?+

GPT-4.1 Mini: tool calling and image input. Bonsai 8B: none of these features are definitively sourced. Feature support does not establish relative quality.

Which is available from more inference providers, GPT-4.1 Mini or Bonsai 8B?+

GPT-4.1 Mini has 2 sourced provider routes; Bonsai 8B has 0, so GPT-4.1 Mini has broader tracked availability.

Which offers better value, GPT-4.1 Mini or Bonsai 8B?+

There is no universal value winner. Compare the input and output prices above with the matched benchmark result for your workload: cheaper tokens can be offset by different quality, token usage, latency, or provider availability.

Send Feedback