ERNIE 5.1 vs Inkling
At a Glance
| Compare | ERNIE 5.1Baidu | InklingThinking Machines Lab |
|---|---|---|
| Intelligence, Cost, and Efficiency | ||
| IntelligenceHigher is better · MM Intelligence v2.5 | UnrankedNot in the 46-model eligible cohort | #34 of 4645.4 score · 3/3 sources · complete |
| CostLower is better · Published-token output estimate | UnrankedNot in the 44-model eligible cohort | #18 of 44$0.090 per LiveBench case |
| EfficiencyHigher is better · MM Efficiency v1.5 | UnrankedNot in the 38-model eligible cohort | #28 of 3848.1 score · 3/3 sources · complete |
| Pricing and Limits | ||
| Input priceFrom · USD / 1M tokens | Not reported | $0.95Deepinfra ↗ · Sep 21, 2026 |
| Output priceFrom · USD / 1M tokens | Not reported | $4.05Deepinfra ↗ · Sep 21, 2026 |
| Context windowMaximum documented tokens | 131K | 1,049K |
| Model facts checked | Aug 29, 2026View model evidence → | Sep 3, 2026View model evidence → |
Token prices are the lowest available sourced USD rates; input and output may use different providers. Cost ranking estimates output spend on LiveBench, not a full request bill. Ranking methodology →
Available Benchmarks
| Benchmark | ERNIE 5.1 | Inkling |
|---|---|---|
| LMArena Text Arenatext-2026-09-13-d25aabda0010 · arena_rating · leader | 1,468.20100% of row best · rating · ernie-5.1; 95% CI [1463.57689002, 1472.81364850]; votes 37058; rank 28 | 1,439.6898% of row best · rating · inkling; 95% CI [1434.76600975, 1444.58550789]; votes 25922; rank 67 |
| Overall ResultCounted from the protocol-matched rows above | 1 benchmark winNo overall winner | 0 benchmark winsNo overall winner |
Third-party benchmark Only like-for-like primary-publisher results are shown; raw scores, relative scores, configuration, and token spend remain visible.
Side-by-Side Facts
| Field | ERNIE 5.1 | Inkling |
|---|---|---|
| Developer | Baidu | Thinking Machines Lab |
| Family | Ernie 5 | Inkling |
| Model | ERNIE 5.1 | Inkling |
| Version | ERNIE 5.1 | Inkling |
| Lifecycle | active | active |
| Released | Unknown | 2026-07-15 |
| Knowledge cutoff | Unknown | Unknown |
| Input modalities | Text | Text, Image, Video, Audio |
| Output modalities | Text | Text |
| Context window | 131K | 1,049K |
| Total parameters | Unknown | 975B |
| Active parameters | Unknown | 41B |
| License | Unknown | apache-2.0 |
| Open weights | No | Yes |
| API available | Yes | Yes |
| Self-hostable | No | Yes |
| Provider access | Baidu Qianfan (Standard) | Deepinfra (Standard), Fireworks Ai (Standard), Openrouter (Standard), Together Ai (Standard) |
| Capabilities | agents, chat, reasoning, search, tools | agents, chat, coding, generation, reasoning, tools, vision |
ERNIE 5.1 Capabilities
Inkling Capabilities
Primary Evidence
Sources and Freshness
Questions
ERNIE 5.1 vs Inkling FAQs
Is ERNIE 5.1 or Inkling better for coding?+
This comparison does not currently contain a protocol-matched coding benchmark for both ERNIE 5.1 and Inkling, so Model Markets cannot name a coding leader from pricing, context size, or capability labels alone.
Which is cheaper, ERNIE 5.1 or Inkling?+
ERNIE 5.1 is $4.00 and Inkling is $0.95 per million tokens, so Inkling is cheaper on this metric. ERNIE 5.1 is $18.00 and Inkling is $4.05 per million tokens, so Inkling is cheaper on this metric.
Which has a larger context window, ERNIE 5.1 or Inkling?+
Inkling has the larger sourced context window. ERNIE 5.1 supports 131K and Inkling supports 1,049K.
Which performs better in benchmarks, ERNIE 5.1 or Inkling?+
There is no overall benchmark winner: At least two independently verified, protocol-matched benchmarks are required for an overall winner.
Can ERNIE 5.1 or Inkling be self-hosted?+
Inkling is the only model in this pair currently marked as self-hostable. ERNIE 5.1 is not marked open weight; Inkling is open weight.
Can ERNIE 5.1 and Inkling understand images?+
ERNIE 5.1 is not documented with image input; Inkling is documented with image input. This reflects supported input modalities, not vision quality.
Which can generate longer answers, ERNIE 5.1 or Inkling?+
Neither has a larger sourced maximum output. ERNIE 5.1 is 66K and Inkling is —.
Do ERNIE 5.1 and Inkling support reasoning and tool use?+
ERNIE 5.1: reasoning and tool calling. Inkling: reasoning, tool calling, and image input. Feature support does not establish relative quality.
Which is available from more inference providers, ERNIE 5.1 or Inkling?+
ERNIE 5.1 has 1 sourced provider route; Inkling has 4, so Inkling has broader tracked availability.
Which offers better value, ERNIE 5.1 or Inkling?+
There is no universal value winner. Compare the input and output prices above with the matched benchmark result for your workload: cheaper tokens can be offset by different quality, token usage, latency, or provider availability.