Command A vs Phi-4 Mini Reasoning
At a Glance
| Compare | Command ACohere | Phi-4 Mini ReasoningMicrosoft |
|---|---|---|
| Pricing and Limits | ||
| Input priceFrom · USD / 1M tokens | $2.50Cohere ↗ · Aug 29, 2026 | Not reported |
| Output priceFrom · USD / 1M tokens | $10.00Cohere ↗ · Aug 29, 2026 | Not reported |
| Context windowMaximum documented tokens | 256K | 131K |
| Model facts checked | Aug 29, 2026View model evidence → | Aug 28, 2026View model evidence → |
Token prices are the lowest available sourced USD rates; input and output may use different providers. Cost ranking estimates output spend on LiveBench, not a full request bill. Ranking methodology →
Available Benchmarks
Side-by-Side Facts
| Field | Command A | Phi-4-mini-reasoning |
|---|---|---|
| Developer | Cohere | Microsoft |
| Family | Command A | Phi 4 Mini Reasoning |
| Model | Command A | Phi-4-mini-reasoning |
| Version | Command A | Phi-4-mini-reasoning |
| Lifecycle | active | active |
| Released | Unknown | 2025-04-30 |
| Knowledge cutoff | 2024-06-01 | Unknown |
| Input modalities | Text | Text |
| Output modalities | Text | Text |
| Context window | 256K | 131K |
| Total parameters | 111B | 3.8B |
| Active parameters | Unknown | Unknown |
| License | Unknown | mit |
| Open weights | No | Yes |
| API available | Yes | Unknown |
| Self-hostable | No | Yes |
| Provider access | Cohere (Standard) | Unknown |
| Capabilities | agents, chat, citations, multilingual, rag, structured_outputs, tools | chat, generation, reasoning |
Command A Capabilities
Phi-4 Mini Reasoning Capabilities
Primary Evidence
Sources and Freshness
Questions
Command A vs Phi-4 Mini Reasoning FAQs
Is Command A or Phi-4 Mini Reasoning better for coding?+
This comparison does not currently contain a protocol-matched coding benchmark for both Command A and Phi-4 Mini Reasoning, so Model Markets cannot name a coding leader from pricing, context size, or capability labels alone.
Which is cheaper, Command A or Phi-4 Mini Reasoning?+
Only Command A has a directly sourced input price: $2.50 per million tokens. Only Command A has a directly sourced output price: $10.00 per million tokens.
Which has a larger context window, Command A or Phi-4 Mini Reasoning?+
Command A has the larger sourced context window. Command A supports 256K and Phi-4 Mini Reasoning supports 131K.
Which performs better in benchmarks, Command A or Phi-4 Mini Reasoning?+
There is no overall benchmark winner: At least two independently verified, protocol-matched benchmarks are required for an overall winner.
Can Command A or Phi-4 Mini Reasoning be self-hosted?+
Phi-4 Mini Reasoning is the only model in this pair currently marked as self-hostable. Command A is not marked open weight; Phi-4 Mini Reasoning is open weight.
Can Command A and Phi-4 Mini Reasoning understand images?+
Command A is not documented with image input; Phi-4 Mini Reasoning is not documented with image input. This reflects supported input modalities, not vision quality.
Which can generate longer answers, Command A or Phi-4 Mini Reasoning?+
Neither has a larger sourced maximum output. Command A is 8K and Phi-4 Mini Reasoning is —.
Do Command A and Phi-4 Mini Reasoning support reasoning and tool use?+
Command A: tool calling. Phi-4 Mini Reasoning: reasoning. Feature support does not establish relative quality.
Which is available from more inference providers, Command A or Phi-4 Mini Reasoning?+
Command A has 1 sourced provider route; Phi-4 Mini Reasoning has 0, so Command A has broader tracked availability.
Which offers better value, Command A or Phi-4 Mini Reasoning?+
There is no universal value winner. Compare the input and output prices above with the matched benchmark result for your workload: cheaper tokens can be offset by different quality, token usage, latency, or provider availability.