Command A vs Llama 3.1 8B

At a Glance

Compare
Command ACohere
Pricing and Limits
Input priceFrom · USD / 1M tokens$2.50Cohere · Aug 29, 2026Not reported
Output priceFrom · USD / 1M tokens$10.00Cohere · Aug 29, 2026Not reported
Context windowMaximum documented tokens256K131K
Model facts checkedAug 29, 2026View model evidence →Aug 28, 2026View model evidence →

Token prices are the lowest available sourced USD rates; input and output may use different providers. Cost ranking estimates output spend on LiveBench, not a full request bill. Ranking methodology →

Available Benchmarks

All benchmark results →
No Protocol-Matched Benchmark Yet.Results appear here only when both models share the same benchmark version, metric, evaluation protocol, and evidence class.

Side-by-Side Facts

FieldCommand ALlama-3.1-8B
DeveloperCohereMeta
FamilyCommand ALlama 3 1 8b
ModelCommand ALlama-3.1-8B
VersionCommand ALlama-3.1-8B
Lifecycleactiveactive
ReleasedUnknown2024-07-23
Knowledge cutoff2024-06-01Unknown
Input modalitiesTextText
Output modalitiesTextText
Context window256K131K
Total parameters111B8B
Active parametersUnknownUnknown
LicenseUnknownllama3.1
Open weightsNoYes
API availableYesYes
Self-hostableNoYes
Provider accessCohere (Standard)Hugging Face (Standard)
Capabilitiesagents, chat, citations, multilingual, rag, structured_outputs, toolsgeneration

Command A Capabilities

agentschatcitationsmultilingualragstructured outputstools
Serving providers1
Canonical IDcoherelabs/command-a-03-2025

Llama 3.1 8B Capabilities

generation
Serving providers1
Canonical IDmeta-llama/Llama-3.1-8B

Primary Evidence

Sources and Freshness

Questions

Command A vs Llama 3.1 8B FAQs

Is Command A or Llama 3.1 8B better for coding?+

This comparison does not currently contain a protocol-matched coding benchmark for both Command A and Llama 3.1 8B, so Model Markets cannot name a coding leader from pricing, context size, or capability labels alone.

Which is cheaper, Command A or Llama 3.1 8B?+

Only Command A has a directly sourced input price: $2.50 per million tokens. Only Command A has a directly sourced output price: $10.00 per million tokens.

Which has a larger context window, Command A or Llama 3.1 8B?+

Command A has the larger sourced context window. Command A supports 256K and Llama 3.1 8B supports 131K.

Which performs better in benchmarks, Command A or Llama 3.1 8B?+

There is no overall benchmark winner: At least two independently verified, protocol-matched benchmarks are required for an overall winner.

Can Command A or Llama 3.1 8B be self-hosted?+

Llama 3.1 8B is the only model in this pair currently marked as self-hostable. Command A is not marked open weight; Llama 3.1 8B is open weight.

Can Command A and Llama 3.1 8B understand images?+

Command A is not documented with image input; Llama 3.1 8B is not documented with image input. This reflects supported input modalities, not vision quality.

Which can generate longer answers, Command A or Llama 3.1 8B?+

Neither has a larger sourced maximum output. Command A is 8K and Llama 3.1 8B is —.

Do Command A and Llama 3.1 8B support reasoning and tool use?+

Command A: tool calling. Llama 3.1 8B: none of these features are definitively sourced. Feature support does not establish relative quality.

Which is available from more inference providers, Command A or Llama 3.1 8B?+

Command A has 1 sourced provider route; Llama 3.1 8B has 1, a tie.

Which offers better value, Command A or Llama 3.1 8B?+

There is no universal value winner. Compare the input and output prices above with the matched benchmark result for your workload: cheaper tokens can be offset by different quality, token usage, latency, or provider availability.

Send Feedback