Claude Opus 5 vs Gemini Deep Research Max
At a Glance
| Compare | Claude Opus 5Anthropic | Gemini Deep Research MaxGoogle DeepMind |
|---|---|---|
| Intelligence, Cost, and Efficiency | ||
| IntelligenceHigher is better · MM Intelligence v2.5 | #3 of 4694.1 score · 3/3 sources · complete | UnrankedNot in the 46-model eligible cohort |
| CostLower is better · Published-token output estimate | #39 of 44$0.371 per LiveBench case | UnrankedNot in the 44-model eligible cohort |
| EfficiencyHigher is better · MM Efficiency v1.5 | #13 of 3857.6 score · 3/3 sources · complete | UnrankedNot in the 38-model eligible cohort |
| Pricing and Limits | ||
| Input priceFrom · USD / 1M tokens | $5.00Anthropic ↗ · Sep 3, 2026 | Not reported |
| Output priceFrom · USD / 1M tokens | $25.00Anthropic ↗ · Sep 3, 2026 | Not reported |
| Context windowMaximum documented tokens | 1,000K | 1,049K |
| Model facts checked | Aug 28, 2026View model evidence → | Aug 29, 2026View model evidence → |
Token prices are the lowest available sourced USD rates; input and output may use different providers. Cost ranking estimates output spend on LiveBench, not a full request bill. Ranking methodology →
Available Benchmarks
Side-by-Side Facts
| Field | Claude Opus 5 | Gemini Deep Research Max |
|---|---|---|
| Developer | Anthropic | Google DeepMind |
| Family | Claude 5 | Gemini Agents |
| Model | Claude Opus 5 | Gemini Deep Research Max |
| Version | Claude Opus 5 | Gemini Deep Research Max |
| Lifecycle | active | preview |
| Released | 2026-07-24 | Unknown |
| Knowledge cutoff | Unknown | Unknown |
| Input modalities | Text, Image | Text, Image, Video, Audio, Document |
| Output modalities | Text | Text, Image |
| Context window | 1,000K | 1,049K |
| Total parameters | Unknown | Unknown |
| Active parameters | Unknown | Unknown |
| License | Unknown | Unknown |
| Open weights | No | No |
| API available | Yes | Yes |
| Self-hostable | No | No |
| Provider access | Anthropic (Standard), Deepinfra (Standard), Openrouter (Standard) | Google AI (Standard), Google Gemini (Standard) |
| Capabilities | chat, generation, reasoning, tools | generation, reasoning, research, tools |
Claude Opus 5 Capabilities
Gemini Deep Research Max Capabilities
Primary Evidence
Sources and Freshness
Questions
Claude Opus 5 vs Gemini Deep Research Max FAQs
Is Claude Opus 5 or Gemini Deep Research Max better for coding?+
This comparison does not currently contain a protocol-matched coding benchmark for both Claude Opus 5 and Gemini Deep Research Max, so Model Markets cannot name a coding leader from pricing, context size, or capability labels alone.
Which is cheaper, Claude Opus 5 or Gemini Deep Research Max?+
Only Claude Opus 5 has a directly sourced input price: $5.00 per million tokens. Only Claude Opus 5 has a directly sourced output price: $25.00 per million tokens.
Which has a larger context window, Claude Opus 5 or Gemini Deep Research Max?+
Gemini Deep Research Max has the larger sourced context window. Claude Opus 5 supports 1,000K and Gemini Deep Research Max supports 1,049K.
Which performs better in benchmarks, Claude Opus 5 or Gemini Deep Research Max?+
There is no overall benchmark winner: At least two independently verified, protocol-matched benchmarks are required for an overall winner.
Can Claude Opus 5 or Gemini Deep Research Max be self-hosted?+
Both models have the same recorded self-hosting status: unsupported. Claude Opus 5 is not marked open weight; Gemini Deep Research Max is not marked open weight.
Can Claude Opus 5 and Gemini Deep Research Max understand images?+
Claude Opus 5 is documented with image input; Gemini Deep Research Max is documented with image input. This reflects supported input modalities, not vision quality.
Which can generate longer answers, Claude Opus 5 or Gemini Deep Research Max?+
Claude Opus 5 has the larger sourced maximum output: Claude Opus 5 supports 128K and Gemini Deep Research Max supports 66K output tokens.
Do Claude Opus 5 and Gemini Deep Research Max support reasoning and tool use?+
Claude Opus 5: reasoning, tool calling, and image input. Gemini Deep Research Max: reasoning, tool calling, and image input. Feature support does not establish relative quality.
Which is available from more inference providers, Claude Opus 5 or Gemini Deep Research Max?+
Claude Opus 5 has 3 sourced provider routes; Gemini Deep Research Max has 2, so Claude Opus 5 has broader tracked availability.
Which offers better value, Claude Opus 5 or Gemini Deep Research Max?+
There is no universal value winner. Compare the input and output prices above with the matched benchmark result for your workload: cheaper tokens can be offset by different quality, token usage, latency, or provider availability.