Robot Comparison · Interactive
SO-101 vs Optimus
A symmetrical comparison using normalized manufacturer-reported specifications. Green highlights mark the stronger value only where the specification has a defensible direction.
OptimusTesla source ↗Technical Differences
Side-by-Side Specifications
| Field | SO-101 | Optimus |
|---|---|---|
| Manufacturer | Hugging Face LeRobot | Tesla |
| Version | SO-101 | Unknown |
| Form factor | Fixed manipulator | Humanoid |
| Availability | Open build | Prototype |
| Primary use | Robotics research, data collection, and policy evaluation | General-purpose physical work |
| Starting price | Unknown | Unknown |
| Price qualifier | Bill-of-materials cost varies | Not commercially available |
| Height (m) | Unknown | Unknown |
| Weight (kg) | Unknown | Unknown |
| Payload (kg) | Unknown | Unknown |
| Runtime (hours) | Unknown | Unknown |
| Maximum speed (m/s) | Unknown | Unknown |
| Degrees of freedom | 6 | Unknown |
| Reach (m) | Unknown | Unknown |
| Battery | External power; configuration depends on sourced motors | Not disclosed |
| Sensors | user-configured cameras, joint position feedback | vision-based perception |
| Onboard compute | Host computer supplied by the builder | Tesla AI inference hardware; specifications not disclosed |
| Software | Hugging Face LeRobot, Feetech SDK | Tesla neural networks |
| Safety | configurable maximum relative joint target | Unknown |
| Control modes | leader-arm teleoperation, learned policy | autonomous |
| Target applications | imitation learning, VLA evaluation, robotics education | general-purpose manipulation, repetitive physical work |
11 comparable fields · 11 material differences · Interactive comparison only; editorial indexing gate not met
SO-101 Positioning
Optimus Positioning
Primary Evidence
Manufacturer Sources and Freshness
Browse every robotics model, robot platform, and curated comparison →
Questions
SO-101 vs Optimus FAQs
Which is better, SO-101 or Optimus?+
There is no defensible overall robot winner without a target task and environment. Compare form factor, availability, payload, runtime, speed, sensing, control, safety, and price; green highlights apply only to specifications with an explicit direction.
Which can carry more, SO-101 or Optimus?+
A direct answer is unavailable because SO-101 does not publish a normalized payload (kg) in the current source.
Which runs longer, SO-101 or Optimus?+
A direct answer is unavailable because SO-101 does not publish a normalized runtime (hours) in the current source.
Which is faster, SO-101 or Optimus?+
A direct answer is unavailable because SO-101 does not publish a normalized maximum speed (m/s) in the current source.
Which costs less, SO-101 or Optimus?+
A normalized price comparison is unavailable. SO-101: Bill-of-materials cost varies. Optimus: Not commercially available.
Can I buy SO-101 or Optimus today?+
SO-101 is recorded as open build (LeRobot publishes assembly and sourcing instructions rather than selling a single finished configuration.); Optimus is prototype (Tesla presents Optimus as an active robotics development program; no public purchase channel is cited.). Availability can be regional or customer-specific.
What are SO-101 and Optimus designed to do?+
SO-101: Robotics research, data collection, and policy evaluation. Optimus: General-purpose physical work.
What sensors do SO-101 and Optimus use?+
SO-101: user-configured cameras, joint position feedback. Optimus: vision-based perception.
What software and control options do SO-101 and Optimus support?+
SO-101: Hugging Face LeRobot, Feetech SDK. Optimus: Tesla neural networks. SO-101: leader-arm teleoperation, learned policy. Optimus: autonomous.
Are SO-101 and Optimus the same type of robot?+
No. SO-101 is a fixed manipulator platform; Optimus is a humanoid platform. Direct specification comparisons may therefore reflect different jobs.