Seed 2.1 Turbo vs Kimi K2 Thinking
At a Glance
| Compare | Seed 2.1 TurboByteDance Seed | Kimi K2 ThinkingMoonshot AI |
|---|---|---|
| Pricing and Limits | ||
| Input priceFrom · USD / 1M tokens | Not reported | $0.60Openrouter ↗ · Sep 22, 2026 |
| Output priceFrom · USD / 1M tokens | Not reported | $2.50Openrouter ↗ · Sep 22, 2026 |
| Context windowMaximum documented tokens | Not reported | 262K |
| Model facts checked | Sep 3, 2026View model evidence → | Aug 28, 2026View model evidence → |
Token prices are the lowest available sourced USD rates; input and output may use different providers. Cost ranking estimates output spend on LiveBench, not a full request bill. Ranking methodology →
Available Benchmarks
Side-by-Side Facts
| Field | Seed 2.1 Turbo | Kimi-K2-Thinking |
|---|---|---|
| Developer | ByteDance Seed | Moonshot AI |
| Family | Seed 2 1 | Kimi K2 Thinking |
| Model | Seed 2.1 Turbo | Kimi-K2-Thinking |
| Version | Seed 2.1 Turbo | Kimi-K2-Thinking |
| Lifecycle | active | active |
| Released | 2026-06-23 | 2025-11-06 |
| Knowledge cutoff | Unknown | Unknown |
| Input modalities | Text, Image, Video | Text |
| Output modalities | Text | Text |
| Context window | Unknown | 262K |
| Total parameters | Unknown | 1T |
| Active parameters | Unknown | 32B |
| License | Unknown | other |
| Open weights | No | Yes |
| API available | Yes | Yes |
| Self-hostable | No | Yes |
| Provider access | Unknown | Hugging Face (Standard), Openrouter (Standard) |
| Capabilities | agents, chat, generation, reasoning, structured_outputs, tools | chat, generation, reasoning, tools |
Seed 2.1 Turbo Capabilities
Kimi K2 Thinking Capabilities
Primary Evidence
Sources and Freshness
Questions
Seed 2.1 Turbo vs Kimi K2 Thinking FAQs
Is Seed 2.1 Turbo or Kimi K2 Thinking better for coding?+
This comparison does not currently contain a protocol-matched coding benchmark for both Seed 2.1 Turbo and Kimi K2 Thinking, so Model Markets cannot name a coding leader from pricing, context size, or capability labels alone.
Which is cheaper, Seed 2.1 Turbo or Kimi K2 Thinking?+
Only Kimi K2 Thinking has a directly sourced input price: $0.60 per million tokens. Only Kimi K2 Thinking has a directly sourced output price: $2.50 per million tokens.
Which has a larger context window, Seed 2.1 Turbo or Kimi K2 Thinking?+
Neither model has a larger sourced context window in this comparison. Seed 2.1 Turbo is — and Kimi K2 Thinking is 262K.
Which performs better in benchmarks, Seed 2.1 Turbo or Kimi K2 Thinking?+
There is no overall benchmark winner: At least two independently verified, protocol-matched benchmarks are required for an overall winner.
Can Seed 2.1 Turbo or Kimi K2 Thinking be self-hosted?+
Kimi K2 Thinking is the only model in this pair currently marked as self-hostable. Seed 2.1 Turbo is not marked open weight; Kimi K2 Thinking is open weight.
Can Seed 2.1 Turbo and Kimi K2 Thinking understand images?+
Seed 2.1 Turbo is documented with image input; Kimi K2 Thinking is not documented with image input. This reflects supported input modalities, not vision quality.
Which can generate longer answers, Seed 2.1 Turbo or Kimi K2 Thinking?+
Neither has a larger sourced maximum output. Seed 2.1 Turbo is — and Kimi K2 Thinking is 131K.
Do Seed 2.1 Turbo and Kimi K2 Thinking support reasoning and tool use?+
Seed 2.1 Turbo: reasoning, tool calling, and image input. Kimi K2 Thinking: reasoning and tool calling. Feature support does not establish relative quality.
Which is available from more inference providers, Seed 2.1 Turbo or Kimi K2 Thinking?+
Seed 2.1 Turbo has 0 sourced provider routes; Kimi K2 Thinking has 2, so Kimi K2 Thinking has broader tracked availability.
Which offers better value, Seed 2.1 Turbo or Kimi K2 Thinking?+
There is no universal value winner. Compare the input and output prices above with the matched benchmark result for your workload: cheaper tokens can be offset by different quality, token usage, latency, or provider availability.