Seed 2.1 Pro vs Sonar Deep Research
At a Glance
| Compare | Seed 2.1 ProByteDance Seed | Sonar Deep ResearchPerplexity |
|---|---|---|
| Pricing and Limits | ||
| Input priceFrom · USD / 1M tokens | Not reported | $2.00Openrouter ↗ · Sep 22, 2026 |
| Output priceFrom · USD / 1M tokens | Not reported | $8.00Openrouter ↗ · Sep 22, 2026 |
| Context windowMaximum documented tokens | Not reported | 128K |
| Model facts checked | Sep 3, 2026View model evidence → | Aug 29, 2026View model evidence → |
Token prices are the lowest available sourced USD rates; input and output may use different providers. Cost ranking estimates output spend on LiveBench, not a full request bill. Ranking methodology →
Available Benchmarks
Side-by-Side Facts
| Field | Seed 2.1 Pro | Sonar Deep Research |
|---|---|---|
| Developer | ByteDance Seed | Perplexity |
| Family | Seed 2 1 | Sonar |
| Model | Seed 2.1 Pro | Sonar Deep Research |
| Version | Seed 2.1 Pro | Sonar Deep Research |
| Lifecycle | active | active |
| Released | 2026-06-23 | Unknown |
| Knowledge cutoff | Unknown | Unknown |
| Input modalities | Text, Image, Video | Text |
| Output modalities | Text | Text |
| Context window | Unknown | 128K |
| Total parameters | Unknown | Unknown |
| Active parameters | Unknown | Unknown |
| License | Unknown | Unknown |
| Open weights | No | No |
| API available | Yes | Yes |
| Self-hostable | No | No |
| Provider access | Unknown | Openrouter (Standard), Perplexity (Standard) |
| Capabilities | agents, chat, computer-use, generation, reasoning, structured_outputs, tools | chat, citations, reasoning, research, search |
Seed 2.1 Pro Capabilities
Sonar Deep Research Capabilities
Primary Evidence
Sources and Freshness
Questions
Seed 2.1 Pro vs Sonar Deep Research FAQs
Is Seed 2.1 Pro or Sonar Deep Research better for coding?+
This comparison does not currently contain a protocol-matched coding benchmark for both Seed 2.1 Pro and Sonar Deep Research, so Model Markets cannot name a coding leader from pricing, context size, or capability labels alone.
Which is cheaper, Seed 2.1 Pro or Sonar Deep Research?+
Only Sonar Deep Research has a directly sourced input price: $2.00 per million tokens. Only Sonar Deep Research has a directly sourced output price: $8.00 per million tokens.
Which has a larger context window, Seed 2.1 Pro or Sonar Deep Research?+
Neither model has a larger sourced context window in this comparison. Seed 2.1 Pro is — and Sonar Deep Research is 128K.
Which performs better in benchmarks, Seed 2.1 Pro or Sonar Deep Research?+
There is no overall benchmark winner: At least two independently verified, protocol-matched benchmarks are required for an overall winner.
Can Seed 2.1 Pro or Sonar Deep Research be self-hosted?+
Both models have the same recorded self-hosting status: unsupported. Seed 2.1 Pro is not marked open weight; Sonar Deep Research is not marked open weight.
Can Seed 2.1 Pro and Sonar Deep Research understand images?+
Seed 2.1 Pro is documented with image input; Sonar Deep Research is not documented with image input. This reflects supported input modalities, not vision quality.
Which can generate longer answers, Seed 2.1 Pro or Sonar Deep Research?+
Neither has a larger sourced maximum output. Seed 2.1 Pro is — and Sonar Deep Research is —.
Do Seed 2.1 Pro and Sonar Deep Research support reasoning and tool use?+
Seed 2.1 Pro: reasoning, tool calling, and image input. Sonar Deep Research: reasoning. Feature support does not establish relative quality.
Which is available from more inference providers, Seed 2.1 Pro or Sonar Deep Research?+
Seed 2.1 Pro has 0 sourced provider routes; Sonar Deep Research has 2, so Sonar Deep Research has broader tracked availability.
Which offers better value, Seed 2.1 Pro or Sonar Deep Research?+
There is no universal value winner. Compare the input and output prices above with the matched benchmark result for your workload: cheaper tokens can be offset by different quality, token usage, latency, or provider availability.