Seed 2.0 Lite vs Llama 3.1 8B
At a Glance
| Compare | Seed 2.0 LiteByteDance Seed | Llama 3.1 8BMeta |
|---|---|---|
| Pricing and Limits | ||
| Input priceFrom · USD / 1M tokens | $0.25Openrouter ↗ · Sep 22, 2026 | Not reported |
| Output priceFrom · USD / 1M tokens | $2.00Openrouter ↗ · Sep 22, 2026 | Not reported |
| Context windowMaximum documented tokens | Not reported | 131K |
| Model facts checked | Sep 3, 2026View model evidence → | Aug 28, 2026View model evidence → |
Token prices are the lowest available sourced USD rates; input and output may use different providers. Cost ranking estimates output spend on LiveBench, not a full request bill. Ranking methodology →
Available Benchmarks
Side-by-Side Facts
| Field | Seed 2.0 Lite | Llama-3.1-8B |
|---|---|---|
| Developer | ByteDance Seed | Meta |
| Family | Seed 2 0 | Llama 3 1 8b |
| Model | Seed 2.0 Lite | Llama-3.1-8B |
| Version | Seed 2.0 Lite | Llama-3.1-8B |
| Lifecycle | active | active |
| Released | 2026-02-14 | 2024-07-23 |
| Knowledge cutoff | Unknown | Unknown |
| Input modalities | Text, Image, Video, Audio | Text |
| Output modalities | Text | Text |
| Context window | Unknown | 131K |
| Total parameters | Unknown | 8B |
| Active parameters | Unknown | Unknown |
| License | Unknown | llama3.1 |
| Open weights | No | Yes |
| API available | Yes | Yes |
| Self-hostable | No | Yes |
| Provider access | Openrouter (Standard) | Hugging Face (Standard) |
| Capabilities | agents, chat, generation, reasoning, structured_outputs, tools | generation |
Seed 2.0 Lite Capabilities
Llama 3.1 8B Capabilities
Primary Evidence
Sources and Freshness
Questions
Seed 2.0 Lite vs Llama 3.1 8B FAQs
Is Seed 2.0 Lite or Llama 3.1 8B better for coding?+
This comparison does not currently contain a protocol-matched coding benchmark for both Seed 2.0 Lite and Llama 3.1 8B, so Model Markets cannot name a coding leader from pricing, context size, or capability labels alone.
Which is cheaper, Seed 2.0 Lite or Llama 3.1 8B?+
Only Seed 2.0 Lite has a directly sourced input price: $0.25 per million tokens. Only Seed 2.0 Lite has a directly sourced output price: $2.00 per million tokens.
Which has a larger context window, Seed 2.0 Lite or Llama 3.1 8B?+
Neither model has a larger sourced context window in this comparison. Seed 2.0 Lite is — and Llama 3.1 8B is 131K.
Which performs better in benchmarks, Seed 2.0 Lite or Llama 3.1 8B?+
There is no overall benchmark winner: At least two independently verified, protocol-matched benchmarks are required for an overall winner.
Can Seed 2.0 Lite or Llama 3.1 8B be self-hosted?+
Llama 3.1 8B is the only model in this pair currently marked as self-hostable. Seed 2.0 Lite is not marked open weight; Llama 3.1 8B is open weight.
Can Seed 2.0 Lite and Llama 3.1 8B understand images?+
Seed 2.0 Lite is documented with image input; Llama 3.1 8B is not documented with image input. This reflects supported input modalities, not vision quality.
Which can generate longer answers, Seed 2.0 Lite or Llama 3.1 8B?+
Neither has a larger sourced maximum output. Seed 2.0 Lite is — and Llama 3.1 8B is —.
Do Seed 2.0 Lite and Llama 3.1 8B support reasoning and tool use?+
Seed 2.0 Lite: reasoning, tool calling, and image input. Llama 3.1 8B: none of these features are definitively sourced. Feature support does not establish relative quality.
Which is available from more inference providers, Seed 2.0 Lite or Llama 3.1 8B?+
Seed 2.0 Lite has 1 sourced provider route; Llama 3.1 8B has 1, a tie.
Which offers better value, Seed 2.0 Lite or Llama 3.1 8B?+
There is no universal value winner. Compare the input and output prices above with the matched benchmark result for your workload: cheaper tokens can be offset by different quality, token usage, latency, or provider availability.